Movie at an Unusual Time

I have very specific movie preferences:

  • I do not like going to late shows. A late show is anything that starts after 7:30 p.m.
  • I do not like matinées. Watching a movie at mid-day when it’s light out is just wrong.
  • I do not eat or drink during a film. This is a kickback to how we were movie-raised as kids. Our family just never did the popcorn + pop or candy thing. I can’t imagine trying to listen over the crunch-crunch-slurp distraction in my head.
  • I do not go to movies that are longer than 120 minutes (2 hours) unless they are Oscar-nominated masterpieces. A director needs to be able to relate his/her story in a reasonable amount of time – for my bottom and attention span, that is less than two hours.
  • I ♥ love ♥ documentaries. As long as they are about people, in some way. Animals….not so much (I did see March of the Penguins).

Yesterday at the Princess, they were showing Bill Cunningham New York at 4:45 pm. If you didn’t just click the link < – -, I’ll generously provide you with the synopsis, as given on the Princess website:

Bill Cunningham New York

USA-France 2010, 84 minutes. Directed by Richard Press.

Bill Cunningham is a fashion photographer, but unlike most in his profession, he rarely spends a day in a photo studio. Cunningham’s work has been a long-time fixture in The New York Times; in his “Evening Hours” column, he presents pictures he’s snapped of the wealthy and influential and what they’re wearing to social events, while “On the Street” documents bold and individual looks worn by everyday people on the sidewalks of New York City. Cunningham captures the glamorous lives of others and has been hailed as one of the most important men in New York fashion, yet he prefers to live a simple life — he rides a bicycle around town, makes his home in a modest apartment, has his film processed at a corner store, and keeps his personal life to himself. Filmmaker Richard Press offers a look into the life and art of this influential and enigmatic figure in the documentary Bill Cunningham New York, which follows him as he works and tries to reveal what makes this unique artist tick. Bill Cunningham New York was an official selection at the 2010 Silverdocs Documentary Film Festival.

I seriously wanted to see this movie…was it playing at any other time, on another day? Eesh – only late showings later this week…

Hmmmm…never been to a late afternoon movie showing…how do I feel about this? This could work! I can finish my store shift, accomplish To Do’s, enjoy the film, and have a bit of an evening left…let’s do it!

(source)

As you know from my “40 Reads” project of last year, The Globe and Mail is my favourite daily newspaper. But The New York Times…ah, The New York Times is in a class by itself when it comes to its Sunday edition. And of all the 400 sections, the ultimate in indulgent reading is the Style section.

It’s all about people, culture, fashion, quirky trends, and I revel in it. Pure bliss on newsprint.

Anyhoo, back to the movie…

the sun came out! just in time to go sit in the dark theatre!

This film is delightful. It’s an intimate portrayal of an eccentric yet sweet personality.

(source)

If you have an interest in:

  • photography
  • fashion
  • New York City
  • people
  • bicycles

then this movie is for you. What a wonderful late afternoon outing. I could get used to this!

Any “movie watching rules” that you have concocted for yourself? I’ll add that I also sit in the middle of the theatre, not the front, not at the back (exception made for New Experience #4!).

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Happy Firecracker Day, dear Canucks!

(source)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On May 23, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    I want to see this movie now because I have an interest in all of the things you listed! I have to be earlier enough to the movie to ensure a good seat and to see all of the previews. Billy only sits on the right side (if you’re facing the screen) so that’s crucial for him. I have to admit – I like a snack to nibble on during movies, but only comedies or romantic comedies. Action/fast-paced movies don’t lend themselves to snacking. And I try not to drink anything or I’ll have to use the bathroom. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 24, 2011 at 5:21 am

      oh, this is a good list, too, dorry! you would esp appreciate bill’s love of his bike. he’s on his 29th bicycle because they keep getting stolen!…and i hear you on the no drinks!! also why 2+ hours of a movie is not enjoyable!!

  • Lisa  On May 23, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Thanks for the review!

    So funny—-we never bought any food in a movie theater as kids either. It just wasn’t something we did.

    I used to work in a movie theater when I was in college, and I ate plenty of popcorn (with junior mints in it) during breaks! I also was projectionist, and put the movies together (spliced the film from the small reels onto one big reel)…so I had to do that when the theater wasn’t open, which means the middle of the night. I also had to preview them to make sure I didn’t put a reel on backward or something! That could be fun—midnight private showings, and I could invite friends. But it wasn’t so much fun with the bad movies…..

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      oh wow!! what a neat job!! that is so cool…thanks for the “behind the scenes” details – i feel like i’m getting an inside scoop! “the princess” is pretty old-school so i bet they still employ a projectionist and change movie reels!

  • Zo  On May 23, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I don’t think of them as rules…I will groan at the prospect of a movie more than 2 hours long, too…and I find I usually start getting anxious about whether there are too many people, how close they’re sitting (unless the theatre is packed, leave space!), and I *hate* people who chat, especially when they’re “explaining” the movie (are your friends that dumb? or do you just think you’re that smart?).
    Yep..not so much movie rules as movie pet peeves!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      oh, your list of pet peeves is great, zo! don’t we both sound like a couple of uptight movie watchers! but hey – you want – and expect – a pleasant experience, right?! people chatting – yup, not appreciated. 90 minutes is pretty much the perfect length, in my books…

  • Johanna B  On May 23, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    These days I average about one in the theater movie per year. My daughter and I go on Christmas eve. There is never anyone there but us. It’s been a tradition since she was a tiny girl. I tend to sit in the middle. I do not eat in the theater. I don’t like late showings but I do love matinees. The first movie I saw by myself was Gone With the Wind and it cost 50 cents. I check out a lot of movies from the library. can’t wait to see the King’s Speech.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2011 at 3:43 pm

      Oh, that’s a neat xmas tradition with your daughter; maybe there will be three of you this year – thinking of the new baby!
      Love how you remember your first movie – mine was “mary poppins!”
      Librairies are great for free movies; you must see the king’s speech asap!

  • Holly  On May 23, 2011 at 9:16 am

    Sounds like an interesting movie!

    I don’t really have any rules — I try to not go to the theater unless I really want to see something. I feel like I’ve been disappointed in so many movies over the past few years that I hate to waste my money on them!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2011 at 9:36 am

      i agree – nothing worse than $12 down the drain for a so-so movie. luckily, the princess has a membership option: you pay $12 for a year’s membership, but then each movie is only $7 after that. I really like this theatre because they show a lot of indy movies; they also show the regular hollywood-type, eventually. i don’t mind waiting – then you can read the buzz and find out if a movie is worth seeing or not!

  • Tiff  On May 23, 2011 at 8:47 am

    I’m glad you enjoyed the flick! I don’t have as many rules, but I don’t go to matinees either. Actually, I don’t go to many movies. It seems I always get stuck to a fidgety kid or a loud chewer (excessive loud chewing = major pet peeve).

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 23, 2011 at 9:13 am

      i hear you on the pet peeves…on friday eve when i was out with michelle, she had a seat-kicker behind her and i had a woman who kept burping beside me…something to be said for DVD watching in the comfort of your own home!

Leave a Reply

