Tra-di-tion!!

Friday evening was one of my favourite annual outings of the entire year. Mom, Dad and I drove to the nearby town of New Hamburg. Every year on the last weekend in May, New Hamburg plays host to the MCC Relief Sale. Every year, we go on the Friday evening to the “Preview” events.

The weather this year: it was freaking cold! Seriously, I was thisclose to wearing my mitts. I DID wear fleece and my winter-weight jacket.

this is NOT really may 27th, is it?!!

Brrrr…at least we didn’t have rain, but dark clouds were looming!

In the 2010 report, I talk about five of our traditions for this evening event – let’s compare last year to this year…

Tradition #1 – Dad’s Parking Spot

Every year, Erv magically finds a parking spot insanely close to the entrance, given the throngs of people and hordes of vehicles cramming the surrounding fields and grounds.

three feet from the entrance - nice work, dad!

The tradition continues…Dad even had a lot of space with which to work this year! Although Mom did have step out into a mud puddle…

Tradition #2 – Meat ‘n’ Pie

the food lineups were gi-normous this year...

The tradition continues…This year, Dad got his sausage meat and his pie (cherry with ice cream) but no fries…too many people lined up!

Tradition #3 – Mom Buys Apple Butter and Jams

the mennonite jam lady + mom with her bread and butter pickles

The tradition continues…Mom walked away with FIVE jars this year, which may very well be a new record. With this selection…

mom debates her choices...

…can you really blame her?!

Tradition #4 – The Viewing of the Quilts

one of my favourites this year

The tradition continues…wow. The quilts up for auction were once again incredible.

look at the cross stitch and needlepoint - now imagine this multiplied over the size of a bedspread

They had a “Viewer’s Choice” award this year – everyone received one ballot with which to vote. I picked the quilt, above, because I can only imagine the acres of time required to hand stitch each and every flower on that quilt. Remarkable.

one of the more traditional designs...

Many of the quilts would appeal to the little folk. I would bid on…

ballerinas for little e...

...and kittie cats for baby c!

And, as always, Mom and I hit the wall before we finished our quilt tour. At a certain point, we can’t absorb and appreciate any more creativity and beauty. So much awesomeness.

Tradition # 5 – Catching Up

The tradition continues…but I have no photographic proof. [I’m not yet at the point, as a blogger, where I feel comfortable asking acquaintances for a photo so I can put them on my blog]. This year, I met:

  • a girl I taught when she was in high school…and she was at the Preview Evening with her 4.5 month old daughter!
  • a girl I went to high school with. I didn’t actually talk to her…but I heard her very loud voice from across the room
  • my parents’ neighbour
  • a favourite couple who are customers from the store
  • and a few more!

As with every other year, this year was a really fun outing. I always walk away feeling so creatively inspired by the quilts. At this time, I’m not sure if my 2011 Goal of starting a knitted contribution for next year will happen or not. Too bad I don’t get inspired by the baked goods to learn how to make pies – haha!

On my Life Bucket List is to purchase one of these amazing quilts, and hang it as wall art in the Condo Casa. I have no idea how I will make this happen, as I don’t anticipate ever going to the Saturday morning Quilt Auction myself [the crowds are enormous and the auction lasts hours, neither of which entice me at all]; maybe I can send Gina some year, in my place?? Pay her in apple fritters (or pay her plane flight, haha!)? Let me know, G!

Are there any fairs/festivals/auctions that you attend annually? The MCC Relief Sale enjoys a huge following, and draws enormous numbers of visitors every year. The best part? All money raised goes to support MCC‘s work around the world.

Happy Sunday and Happy Birthday, Mom! ❀

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On May 31, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Would love to have gotten in on the jams. I adore homemade jams and preserves. The quilts are gorgeous. I would’ve wanted the one you said was your favorite. I like the colors and patterns in it. The colors in my bedroom are mostly blues but for that quilt I could’ve changed things up a bit. My Aunt was heavy into quilting before she developed macular degeneration. (She’s 96)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 31, 2011 at 4:15 pm

      quilting really is an art form, esp when it’s done 100% by hand. i’ve said, too, that for the right quilt, i would be willing to redecorate around its colourways!

  • Gina Unger  On May 30, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Yes! Send me! Apple fritter and “pork on a bun” payment would suffice!!! πŸ™‚ I was thinking of the MCC Relief Sale this past weekend and wishing so much I could be there for it. I have such great memories and the two MCC Relief Sales here in MB just don’t compare to the New Hamburg one. The quilts are always so gorgeous – my fav of your pix is the yellow/blue one. (And I’m going to have to find out who you saw from our high school days!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 30, 2011 at 2:35 pm

      i think the new hamburg sale really is in a class by itself, for whatever reason. if you were here, i MAY be able to be convinced to go on the saturday…but ONLY with you, my friend! πŸ™‚ good to know you’re “for hire,” though! πŸ™‚

  • Lisa  On May 29, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    Looks like a great tradition! Sounds like some things we do around here—there are a ton of summer festivals…and often I can’t decide if I want to go to ones where I’ll know people or where I can be anonymous!

    The Park Ave Fest is a good one here and so is the Corn Hill Festival…we used to have the Buckwheat Festival, but they stopped doing it a decade ago for financial reasons. It’s a shame—that was a good one! In 1989 (I think) they held the world record for largest buckwheat pancake…they poured the batter with a cement truck. Gross! But, definitely a claim to fame for the town, as the griddle is still on display on the side of the buckwheat mill πŸ™‚

    Hope you have a wonderful day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 29, 2011 at 1:51 pm

      I love that pancake story, lisa! What a hoot!
      Summer is great here, too, for festivals – hope you can get out to some this year, too!
      Welcome back from florida!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On May 29, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Looks like a fun time! I like going to craft fairs and fundraisers — even if I don’t get anything it is fun to see what people make!

    Those quilts are gorgeous — the ballerinas are too cute!

Leave a Reply

