Welcome to the “June-gle”

I know, I know…the puns this week are getting worser and worser…the current heatwave is obviously affecting my brain making me giddy.

June is the best month of the year because the days are the longest. [I know July is considered the height of summer, but since the days are already getting shorter, it’s not quite as exhilarating a month as June]. As a daylight lover, I am going to savour and appreciate each and every June day. I love how the sky is already getting light these days by 5:15 a.m.; at 9:30 p.m. it’s just getting dark. Love, luv, L.O.V.E.!!!

Yesterday, we reviewed the May goals, and today it’s time to plan for June. I have four goals for this month:

First Goal: I’ll ride my bike at least twice.

the bike is still untouched since i moved it into the garage last month...

I’d like to take one trip to the health food store or Bulk Barn, ie. complete some type of errand, and let’s say, one slow tour through the park or along the Iron Horse Trail…not a fitness ride, just a little fresh air break by bike.

Second Goal: This month’s knitting goal will be composed of two parts:

a) finish this baby blanket:

started in july 2010

If I can finish it this month, then I can say I completed the knitting in less than twelve months. This goal is slightly optimistic, to say the least. But then, I surprised myself last month, so you never know.

b) Finish the “Marnie” sweater for Mom. I’m going to be a boastful braggart and confidently proclaim that this will happen, no problem. [That’s the sure way of shooting myself in the foot]. I’m so uber-certain of myself because I already have the back and most of the left front completed:

this pattern really is a fun one to knit!

Great! A 100% wool sweater will be delivered to Mom just in time for…July! 🙂

Third Goal: I’ll include a reading goal again this month because this is a funny story:

Jenna recently provided a Summer Reading List with ten titles on it. I jotted down ONE novel from her list that caught my eye: “Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.” I thought I could put it on my Christmas List (oh yes, it’s not too early to be thinking about Christmas, my dears!). When out for coffee with Mom on the weekend, she mentioned a recent Book Club book that she really did not enjoy -“Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.” Too funny! So Mom passed along her copy of the book right away, and I now don’t have to wait til after Xmas 2011 to read it!

what a coincidence!

I will finish this novel by June 30th, 2011. [How’s that for an emphatic proclamation].

Fourth Goal: I’ll take advantage of the longest evenings of the year and get out and about. This is the time of year to see movies at the Princess, attend Book Readings, meander through Uptown, meet friends, go to Festivals, stroll through Waterloo Park…how many evenings can I spend out of the Condo Casa? This lifestyle is reminiscent of when in Aruba: evenings there, we spend out-of-doors. You don’t always need a plan, even – just walk out the door and see where your feet lead you.

What are your June goals, or what are you looking forward to this month? I need to set up dates for Outings of the Month with Mom, Dad, and The Brother/SIL Ana. Better get at that!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

[A Way Back Playback Moment: Today’s blog post is in memory of the summer that Gina and I lived together in an apartment. On our telephone answering machine – this was the ’90s – we had the Guns N’ Roses song, “Welcome to the Jungle” as our recording. We thought we were terribly funny, and I remember we laughed like crazy when we were trying to set up the message. To this day, I think of that song as our Roomies’ Theme Song!].

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On June 3, 2011 at 12:02 am

    Glad bike riding is one of your goals! I’m such a bike-riding nerd. 🙂 I wish I could go out and about with you to take advantage of the longer days. My goals are yoga-oriented and striving for work/life/personal balance everyday. That will always be a goal, I suppose. 🙂

  • Lisa  On June 2, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Great June goals! I don’t have any yet. One of mine is definitely going to involved riding my bike…I could easily ride more often, but I just don’t. I think I’m also going to try and do yoga 4 times a week, even when I’m on my trips. That will be an interesting one!

    I love the book coincidence! It’s great when things like that happen. I always take it as a hint from the universe that I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be in that moment! Might not be really a hint, but I still like to take it that way 🙂

    Happy Almost Friday!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 3, 2011 at 5:19 am

      i like that yoga goal! it’s fun to try yoga at new studios. my motto is, “coincidence, i think not.” little or big, the universe does arrange things for us!

  • Johanna B  On June 2, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Imagine my surprise when I opened Yahoo a little while ago and out from the screen staring at me was a photo of Applebee’s Chili Cheese Nachos under a headline that read World’ Worst Appetizers. I love those nachos. The stats suck but they taste so good. My goal for June is to forget I saw that photo and stay away from Applebee’s. Do you have that chain in Canada?

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 2, 2011 at 6:30 pm

      yes, we do have applebees in canada, but i have never been. i hope you will still treat yourself from time to time! maybe not every week (?!) but on special occasion?!

  • Gina Unger  On June 2, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Oh, too funny (phone song) – what good memories I have of sharing that apt with you that summer! 🙂
    Way to go with your goals! You’ll meet ’em for sure.

  • Holly  On June 2, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Jason likes to joke that they played that song at our wedding — that it describes our life when I first moved in with him. I don’t agree at all (surprise, surprise)

    I love your goals and how hilarious that your mom will have a new wool sweater for summer.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 2, 2011 at 9:18 am

      sounds like a good story, holly, on when you and jason got together – i imagine you each would tell it differently!?! i’m flying on the sweater – bet mom can wear it for father’s day! 🙂

  • Angela @ Eat Spin Run Repeat  On June 2, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Great job on your May goals Cathy, and I love all of your June ones! I think I could certainly do with playing the grocery game soon because I too often find myself spending wayyy too much on food! Like you, I also can’t wait to take advantage of the longer evenings and gorgeous weather, and get out to some festivals and events in the Loo. PS – let me know if you’re going to the event at Thrive on Saturday, because I’m pretty sure I’ll be there! 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 2, 2011 at 8:41 am

      thanks, angela! man, why can’t organic blueberries or GF oats be the same price as the happy meal at McDo, eh?! not fair! i’m working saturday but for sure i’ll let you know if i’m heading to thrive!…

Leave a Reply

