Survey Sez!

It’s FRI-day!! And no one wants to think on a Friday.

[Tangent: best game show ever was Family Feud – yup, even better than The Price Is Right. I even had a play-at-home cardboard and paper version of FF when I was little!]

So let’s do a survey. It’s been a whole one week + since the last one, so let’s hop to it.

This ABC-style questionnaire is a popular one of late in the blog world. I found it first on Janetha‘s website, but Angela and Gabriela (among others) also have shared their answers.

A is for Apple. What’s your favourite variety? I ā™„ apples a lot! I like any and all crisp, crunchy, hard apples. At the top of my list: Honeycrisp, Pink Lady, Fuji, Gala, Granny Smith; Red Delicious if they’re crisp and sweet (they can be mealy and mushy). In my fridge right now…

royal gala (L), fuji (R)

B is for Bread. Regardless of nutrition, calories, or whole grains, what is your favourite type of which to have a big slice? Preferring GF carb choices, I didn’t like rice bread all that much. But I do love the rice bagels (hey, also a B-word!) from Healthy Foods and More. Here are two more breads that stand out in my mind: my Auntie Anne’s homemade bread that she always served with dinner when we were over, and Beer Bread – this one was an oft-made recipe when we were teens. It went exceptionally well with BBQ’d steak and caesar salad. [I thought I had the recipe, but I can’t find it – it’s so good, I would have posted the how-to’s right here, right now. You’ll just have to trust me on this!].

C is for Cereal. What is your favourite kind currently? (just one!).

No fair! With a cupboard like this…

cereal space is full to capacity, right now!

…and, clearly, a refined cereal palate, this is a near-impossible question to answer. But I’ll go with Barbara’s Peanut Butter Puffins.

D is for Donuts. What kind do you fancy? Hmmm…another toughie. In general terms, anything with chocolate; specifically, chocolate glazed from Tim Horton’s.

E is for Eggs. How would you like yours prepared? Poached if I don’t have to do it; microwaved-scrambled if I do have to make them.

F is for Fat-Free. What is your favourite fat-free product? This salad dressing:

i never vary my choice

The Brother and I simply call it “Red.”

G is for Groceries. Where do you purchase yours? I live right across the street from Valumart, so 80-90% of my food purchases are made there. However, I also frequent health food stores and the market, when I can. Rarely do I drive anywhere to get groceries, which is kinda cool.

H is for Hot Beverages. What is your favourite hot drink? Haha! Had you asked me in early January, I would have replied, “I do not like hot beverages.” But since then…the previously dormant inner coffee giant has roared to life. Coffee it is! [Specifically, Starbucks Via individual packs].

I is for Ice Cream. Pick a favourite flavour and add a fun topping. Since childhood, I have loved chocolate chip ice cream. The best, to this day, remains Baskin Robbins. (BR even beats my Marble Slab cone). Let’s sprinkle on rainbow sprinkles for some fun.

J is for Jams or Jellies. Do you eat them, and if so, what flavour and kind? I don’t favour jams nor jellies. How can I be my mother’s daughter?!

K is for Kashi. Name your favourite Kashi Product. Kashi Go Lean Crunch [A cereal question? If there was a buzzer involved in this quiz, I’da been Quick Lightening in my response!]

L is for Lunch. What is yours today? Well, it’s < 7 a.m., so yesterday’s lunch (at the store): cottage cheese; rice bagel; apple with peanut butter; nuts and chocolate chips.

M is for Microwave. What is your favourite microwave meal or snack? Breakfast!! Oatmeal cooked in the microwave with peanut butter then spooned on top.

N is for Nutrients. Do you like carbs, proteins or fats best? Carbs! Specifically veggies, fruit and cereal.

O is for Oil. What kind do you like to use? Canola. Healthy and mild in flavour.

P is for Protein. How do you get yours? Here’s my five most frequent sources: tofu, seafood, cottage cheese, peanut butter, eggs.

Q is for Quaker. How do you like your oats? I like GF oats microwaved with peanut butter. [Dad would have a much more in-depth answer to this question. He is Hot Cereal King].

R is for Roasting. What is your favourite thing to roast? Can I say my skin? As in being outside in the sun?! Joke! I love portabella mushrooms, roasted.

S is for Sandwich. What is your favourite kind? DEFINITELY the ‘wich I had at thrive juice bar when I went there with Angela and Odette. It was a grilled portabello, tempeh and spinach sandwich on a GF bun. Note to self: go back there asap.

T is for Travel. How do you handle eating while travelling? On a plane, small snacks frequently as I can get a nauseous stomach easily.

U is for Unique. What is one of your weirdest food combos? Oh, this one is easy: a can of tuna mixed in a flavoured yogurt cup (like Danon or Silhouette). I used to eat this at the store all the time and everyone sneered at it – til they tried it, then they’d report back that it was delicious. AND I got the idea from the Food Network!

V is for Vitamins. What do you take? I take Vitamin C (chewable), Calcium (chewable) – – > because they taste good. Also glucosamine – taken that for years.

W is for Wasabi – yea or nay? Never had it, so I guess that’s a nay!

X is for X-Ray. If we x-rayed your belly right now, what food would we see? Since it’s < 7 a.m., you’d find leftovers from last night’s dinner!

Y is for Youth. What food reminds you of your childhood? Boy, have you got 30 minutes? The stories and items I could recount…! Here are five: homemade hamburgers; homemade macaroni and cheese; homemade cookies; homemade blueberry pie; homemade iced tea.

Z is for zucchini. How do you prepare it? Rinse it under cold water, cut into rings, eat raw (dipped in “Red!”)

Wow – that ended up being longer than I anticipated! It’s actually almost breakfast time!…

Take the first two letters of your first name, and answer those questions! I’d be CEREAL and APPLES for Cathy!

Best game show ever?? Can you believe I’ve never watched Wheel of Fortune!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • janetha @ meals & moves  On June 3, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    best game show=old school family feud with richard dawson.

  • Johanna B  On June 3, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I’ll start off with apples – Golden Delicious, bread – New Orleans french bread fresh out of the oven, cereal – Udi’s gluten-free granola, doughnuts – should be listed under b’s because I love beignets from the Cafe du Monde in the Vieux Carre, and I’ll end with eggs – yuck!!!

    Favorite game show – jeopardy.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 3, 2011 at 3:40 pm

      A GF granola??? Awesome! Would love to try! And your “egg” answer makes me laugh!
      My mom is a huge jeopardy fan, too! I, on the other hand, am lost after the $100 questions…

  • Tiff  On June 3, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Yay for surveys! Girl, we’ve gotta get you some wasabi ASAP! Wasabi peas are pretty darn amazing.

  • Holly  On June 3, 2011 at 10:59 am

    I am so jealous of your cereal cupboard!

    H – hot beverage choice: apple cider, coffee, hot cocoa or tea. I can’t pick a favorite!

    O – I use mostly canola oil because olive oil seems to not sit well in my stomach.

  • thehealthyapron  On June 3, 2011 at 10:39 am

    E:eggplant…love it grilled with a little cheese
    R: running…love to run/walk outside now that the weather is nice!

  • Zo  On June 3, 2011 at 8:36 am

    Z–I like to saute zucchini..which brings me to
    O–olive oil…great for sauteing, roasting, dressing salads.
    I’m with you on the apples, I like crispy sweet/tart combos!

    We get sucked into FF on the game show network more than I care to admit here!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 3, 2011 at 8:47 am

      game show network?? oh man…good thing i don’t have access to that. i’m bad enough with the real housewives! do you (um, like me) shout answers at the tv screen, too?! šŸ™‚

  • Lisa  On June 3, 2011 at 7:38 am

    This was fun to read! I live in apple country…so I’d have to say the empires and macintoshes are my faves…but from the grocery store, def fuji and gala!

    I just got super duper envious of your cereal cupboard! I think I could easily be diagnosed with a cereal addiction…so I have to keep close tabs on it šŸ™‚

    I loved that FF board game! I didn’t have it, but my friend did. I have to say….although I’m not a price is right fan, I did go to a live taping when I was 18 and visiting LA. The girl next to me in the audience got called up to play and she won a car! I still have the tape of it šŸ™‚

    Have a wonderful friday—I hope your heat wave stayed longer than ours did!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 3, 2011 at 8:35 am

      oh man – that is a great price is right story. too, too fun!!! yup, i’d hold onto that tape, too! we still have sunshine but the heat has said good-bye for now – i hope it returns! have a great friday, lisa!

Leave a Reply

