One June Goal Has Been Given the Boot!

On Thursday, I posted my four goals for the month of June.

One is bygones already.

Can you believe it?

I am not one to cave easily. But, I just had to say to heck with it. B has this tshirt (from a Toronto music shop) that reads “Life is too short to listen to sh!tty music;” well, quitting this goal is my own Life is too short… moment.

Care to guess which goal is history? (Quick guide: we had biking, knitting, reading, going out in the evenings on the list).

(insert thinking pause here)

(source)

I’m giving up on this:

the book i started reading on june 1st

Disappointed!

As I explained on Thursday, I was really looking forward to reading this novel. But you know, in less than ten pages, I just wasn’t feeling the love and knew it wasn’t meant to be. At first, I thought I’d just persevere – it was a June goal! I must, I must read this book!

After another night of uninspired reading, I thought, I’ll just give it the 50 page test – if by page 50, I’m still lacklustre in my feelings, I’ll call it quits.

Well, when I got to this page…

not even close to 50...

…I decided to throw in the towel, June goal be darned.

Here are the problems:

1) I just finished “The Help” which was insanely enthralling and completely engaging. [Sidetrack: you know what’s funny? I miss the characters in “The Help.” I find my mind drifting back to the book, reflecting on the characters during lulls in my day. That’s the sign of an impactful piece of writing]. So, really, what I should have done is cleared my brain with a chic/beach-type read – the latest Emily Giffin, say – and THEN gone back to Book Club-type fiction. It’s like going to a really wow four-star dinner – you need a palate cleanse before resuming normal eats.

2) The level of writing in “Hotel…” is elementary and pedestrian in terms of language used and sentence/paragraph construction. Nothing personal against the author, it’s just not high-level literature.

3) I wasn’t in the mood for the subject matter of “Hotel.” To jump into yet another book about race relations, class divisions, heartache, was a mistake on my part.

So, “Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” is going back to Mom (Cousin Kate, do you want to inherit it?!) and I am moving on to:

a popular title on best-selling fiction lists, of late

This is another novel that Mom graciously passed along to me, after reading it for her Book Club. Here is a plot synopsis, if you’re interested.

The revised June Reading Goal: finish this novel by the end of the month! I now have five less days at my disposal – hippity-hop!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

On Wednesday, I mentioned this article from the K-W Record: “Mennonite Women Turn Fast Growing Blog Into Successful Cookbook.”

Guess what the current window display at Wordsworth Books is all about?

not sure if you can see with that glare: title on the window: "mennonite girls can cook;" love the cloth aprons as backdrop!

Here’s the book:

hardcover

Neat, eh?!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

I have a fun, fun coffee outing later this aft! A favourite friend is in town! If I’m not back with a blog post tomorrow morning, you know that we got carried away with our chatting. I honestly wouldn’t put it past us

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

How would you complete the phrase “Life is too short …” ?

In addition to “Life is too short to read a book that doesn’t jive with your spirit,” I would also say that Life is too short

~ to hold a grudge

~ to work at a job for years and years that you really dislike

~ to waste time sleeping in 🙂

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On June 6, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    I’ll play…

    Life is too short to stay indoors watching TV when it’s still light outside.

  • Johanna B  On June 6, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    As much as I treasure reading and books I never waste my time reading a book that doesn’t catch my interest. There are too many out there that do. I have a poster on my wall that says “So many books, so little time.” So, so true. You made a good decision.

  • Dorry  On June 5, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    I love this! Life is too short to skip dessert. Life is too short for egos and bad attitudes. And I agree that life is too short to sleep in…now if we could just get Billy on board with that! 🙂

  • Lisa  On June 5, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    I’m glad you ditched the icky book! Sometimes you just know right away, and in my rule book…you gave it more than enough of a chance 🙂

    Life is too short to waste time reading bad books!

    I guess I’ll have to think about this one ….

    🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 5, 2011 at 9:08 pm

      how about “life is too short to eat bad avacados?!” hope you had a great weekend, lisa! i know you had some fun things planned!

  • Zo  On June 5, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I have that Major Pettigrew book in my pile too! I think you gave the other one more than a fair shot…

    Life is too short to spend time doing things you know you won’t enjoy (why I’ve never gone camping)!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 5, 2011 at 2:13 pm

      this is great! i am NOT a camper, either! i gave it the old college try a few years back…and no, thank you very much! let’s discuss major pettigrew when you’ve read it – i’m only on chapter two, but i’m feeling good about it so far!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On June 5, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    Cathy I would have done the same thing — you should enjoy reading and if you don’t like the book, then don’t read it! I hope you like that other book better!

    Life is too short to spend time with people who don’t make you feel good.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 5, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      that is a very, very good “life is too short…” comment, holly. i agree fully. enjoy your sunday!

Leave a Reply

