The Major Gets the Boot

This time I made it to page 48:

the novel that was my 2nd attempt at finding a june read

You’ll remember I ditchedHotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” at page 38.

I want to be clear that there is nothing inherently wrong with The Major. Up to as far as I read, it’s a very sweet book. There’s just too much description so far, and I am not in a British frame of mind.

You know how I know I need to call it quits? Because of the Reading Excitment Index. When I have a really good book on the go, I’m like,

woo hoo! It’s bedtime!

and I practically scamper up the stairs, excited to tuckle in under the covers and read (even if it’s usually <10 pages til my eyelids drop).

If the Reading Excitement Index is low, my initial thoughts when contemplating bedtime are more like,

Oh. Soon it’s bedtime. Whoop-dee-doo.

And then I procrastinate a bit before bed.

I knew exactly what I needed to do; my inner reading vibe was getting really quite fed up with me.

I put Major Pettigrew on my kitchen counter, to give back to Mom next time I see her.

Inner Vibe told me to wipe the slate clean, completely, in the Reading Department.

So, I also gathered up this book:

alice has been gathering dust on my bedside table since some time last fall, at least...

She will go back to Mom, too, for the time being.

I tucked this novel…

i'm part-way in, and DO want to read the whole thing, just not now...The Vibe is telling me "November."

…into my bedside table. So now the space next to the bed looks like this…

no book clutter!!!

And off I went over to the library.

There’s a reason why you want to bring along

fluff

when you go on vacation.

Hot weather begs for brain energy conservation.

And, given our hot hot heat this past week, I feel like I’m in a vacation climate.

Three mindless reads to the rescue:

something that will be a real page-turner, for sure...

harmless fun...

[I’ve read several books in this Stephanie Plum series, but I forget where I left off…so I’ll just jump to “16!”]

the most *highbrow* of the lot...

David Gilmour’s “A Perfect Night to Go to China” was impactful literature (although it received some negative reviews); given the title of this novel, I don’t think it’ll be on par!

I am going to throw myself into light and mindless yet completely enjoyable reads for the next two + months, and get my reading brain as clear as my bedside table.

So the NEW(EST) JUNE READING GOAL – – > finish at least one Library book by the end of June! Third time’s the charm, right??!

What are you reading right now? How would you rate it on a scale of four stars? The Help was **** for sure. But books don’t have to be high literature to get four stars. I would give some Joy Fielding novels (ex: See Jane Run) that level of praise – many of her books are captivating page-turners!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On June 11, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    I hear you — when I’m reading a book I can’t wait to go to bed because that means I have 1/2 hour or so to read before falling asleep. If I don’t have a good book, I’m watching tv instead!

    The book I am reading now is Pretties and the series so far (first book is Uglies) is really good. It isn’t total fluff, but close to it, which is good, because I like to read to kind of unwind and get away — I don’t really want to think too much 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 12, 2011 at 5:03 am

      books that make you think a lot are only good for one thing: making you fall asleep faster! i remember you mentioning uglies on your blog – bet our library has it!!

  • Zo  On June 11, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    Too funny. I just finished a book today (called Dead Witch Walking…wasn’t too into it at first but it got better). We just got back from a library book sale, so I got about 10 new books for 10 bucks (but I should still read one of the 50 books that have been waiting patiently before I read those).
    Uh oh on major pettigrew…I’ll still give it a shot.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 11, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      yes – i’d love to hear your opinion when you finish your own copy of “major”…10 for $10?! score! gotta love library book sales!

  • Gina Unger  On June 11, 2011 at 8:10 am

    loved “see Jane run” & mom reads joy fielding all the time, but i am waiting for the newest sophie kinsella novel to come into my hands… i’m position number 15 on the library waiting list now (after starting at 267!) so will get to read it this summer for sure! Hurray! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 11, 2011 at 9:16 am

      that is too funny: #267 on the wait list!!! hopefully the book will be a 4 start read (sophie kinsella – perfect for summer) – let me know what you think when you’re done! (i’ve only read one of hers).

  • Lisa  On June 11, 2011 at 8:07 am

    I like the index you use for deciding…sometimes you just have to let a book go! I really am not reading anything for enjoyment right now…but I should find something. Life is not all just about text books (but I have gotten a few new texts on my To Read list this week)!

    I LOVE the heat wave. Apparently at home it’s cooler, but in DC it’s still going to hit the 90s today…unfortunately, I’m stuck inside all day…but at 6pm I’ll be outside sweating with the rest of them! Enjoy the heat…close your eyes and pretend you’re on Marco Island ….that’s what I’m gonna do 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 11, 2011 at 9:18 am

      enjoy DC when you can get out, later today, lisa! hope you’ve had some time to explore a little during the ‘down times’ of the conference…ah, marco island…oh, to be back! 🙂 beach chairs + heat + beach reads…wouldn’t that be awesome!!

Leave a Reply

