Self-Googling

The other day, I heard on the radio that Katy Perry‘s been getting flack because she admitted that she googles herself every day. (I missed exactly who is dissing her – fans? the media? Not that it really matters).

(source)

To be honest, I can’t say I fault her. When you’re an international celebrity, it’s your job to get your name out there and stay in the limelight. Extend those 15 minutes of fame you’ve been allotted!

If I was a celebrity (writing a blog does not make one famous, *le sigh*) I really do think I’d google myself, too. I’d want to know what popular opinion holds about me, and what is being said. Plus, don’t you think that celebrities must be narcissists, on one level or another? How can you avoid being high on yourself when you are constantly being talked about? (I was going to say praised and adored, but that’s not always the case).

Now: full confession time – – > have you ever googled yourself?

I have. But not for a couple of years – that’s the truth (like, it’s been at least before I started blogging). If memory serves, I was surprised by what I found on Google; the top link was not what I expected.

Details are hazy, but the first news bit was related to a quilt I knit and donated to the MCC Relief Sale (story of our visit this year, here). The second link was to the K-W Record because I wrote six columns one year as a member of the Community Editorial Board. Then, I found my name in some running race results…and that’s all I remember.

In the interests of this blog post, I am now going to once again google myself (sorry, I have to both laugh and cringe – just typing that sentence sounds soooo self-centred!!).

Predictions: I am betting that this blog will not appear, because as far as I know, my last name is not linked to my blog. Here goes nothing…

Interesting! The top spot is for Twitter. I do have a Twitter account but I rarely twitter, follow <20 people, and check it for 25 seconds, once per day. Six of the top ten links are for running results. I also pop up as a “Success Story” for our local sports medicine clinic (yes, I remember giving them a photo and a write-up for that). Then, my name appears as a family member in an obituary.

Nothing to really knock your socks off! And that’s cool. That was a mindless, semi-interesting waste of a few minutes experiment. Katy can keep up with the daily googling; I’d rather blog-write!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

From the sublime to the ridiculous (better stated as the ridiculous to the sublime, in this case…)

One evening this week, I was over at Mom and Dad’s when they totally surprised me by handing me this bag:

it was definitely book shaped, but i didn't know what...

Inside, I found this!…

to replace my dinosaur edition bible!!

A few times now, I’ve mentioned my slog through the book of Proverbs. I did finish it (New Experience #17), but it was an underwhelming experience, to say the least. Back in April, both Dorry and Gina recommended I try “The Message.” Mom read your comments, girls, and took matters into her own hands (I was going to put The Message on my Christmas List; I’m thankful to not have a six month wait, now).

I am excited to read another book of the Bible, start to finish! Again, I am going to follow your suggestions, and take on a New Testament book. Since I’m still clearing my head, and really into fluff reading right now, I’ll wait ’til July to begin my “meaningful reading.”

This was such a sweet and welcome surprise. Thanks again, Mom and Dad!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Let’s talk about Googling yourself. Share anything you wish! I have no inclination to Google myself regularly; I’m sure waiting another few years will be more than ample!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • yorichent@yahoo.com  On June 16, 2011 at 8:32 am

    I’ve googled myself several times over the past couple of years. It’s interesting to see what the other people around the world with my name are doing. There’s several of “me”. What I wonder is if anyone else I’ve known in my life has googled me. That would be interesting to know.

  • Lisa  On June 13, 2011 at 8:14 am

    So funny! I haven’t googled myself in a long time, but I just did so I could report what came up. The first thing was my google profile, and the 6th thing was my twitter account…everything else was about people who share my name…including that one casting director in hollywood that I occasionally get emails about. Actors send their resumes to me and ask for an audition—I think because my personal email domain is my full name. It’s kinda funny though!

    I probably won’t google myself again anytime soon, but it was good for a chuckle!
    I don’t know what happened to our hot weather while I was gone….but it was still 90 degrees when I left DC yesterday and now I’m freezing!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 13, 2011 at 8:48 am

      i made the mistake of wearing shorts + a shirt yesterday a.m….brr!!! just about froze! glad DC was “glorious,” though! haha – glad you self-googled just to share the results! that is too funny about receiving the resumes…you could really have some fun with that! have a great monday/start to your week, lisa!

  • Dorry  On June 12, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    p.s. I have The Message! It’s a great translation…

  • Dorry  On June 12, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Hahaha – so funny about “I’m going to google myself…” but seriously, it’s very interesting to find out what’s out there on the internet. Since I changed my name last fall when Billy and I got married, I bet the results are all different now. I’ll have to go google myself. 😉

  • Gina Unger  On June 12, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    First, that’s awesome about rec’g The Message from Mom ‘n’ Pops! Enjoy! Jeff and I read it along with a few other versions… usually when the other versions sound too archaic and we need to know what’s really going on in the text!
    As for googling oneself… I don’t think it’s too narcissistic if you’re just trying to find some info on yourself (i.e. race results, etc.) Whatever the reason, it’s just plain fun to do once in awhile! 🙂

  • Zo  On June 12, 2011 at 11:40 am

    I google myself every couple of months. Most of what comes up is related to my work (I have yet to join facebook/twitter). I also see one related to donating some money to an animal charity in my late kitty’s name (I always find that a bit odd). I find the “Looking for?” ones that give my name, age, and last known address a little sinister!

  • Johanna  On June 12, 2011 at 9:50 am

    I’m with Holly – Facebook and Twitter comes up for me but that’s it other than some other random people with my name (or various versions of my name). I think I’ve only done it twice and one of the times was after I read this blog entry. 🙂 Mum and dad, however, are all over the place. They’re fun to google.

    That’s great that your mom and dad gave you The Message – I’ve been eyeing it for a long time. Let me know what you think of it.

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On June 12, 2011 at 8:38 am

    I have entered my name into google only a few times — Facebook and LinkedIn pop up, same with some race results, and that is about it! Plus some random Holly’s with different last names show up too. Nothing exciting and nothing that I didn’t think was already there!

Leave a Reply

