Help Me Spend My $40!

I’m rich! I’m rich!

(source)

Well, not really, but it was fun to say that.

However, I did receive a lovely….*performance bonus,* shall we call it, from the store last week. I won’t go into full details; suffice to say that I now have an AmEx card with $40 on it in my hot little hands. [I really have been trying very hard to find proper terminology to describe how I received my $40 Gift card…”Thank You card?” not accurate; “Lottery Winnings?” nope – it wasn’t solely luck-of-the-draw; “Gift for Services Rendered?” Eesh – my name isn’t Lula!].

Anyway…so, now I am trying to decide how best to spend my $40 gift. And I’m eager to collect your opinion! Below, you will find the options that I’ve brainstormed. Either let me know what you would do, or submit your own proposal. I’m all ears!

I could be practical:

My poor knapsack is on its last legs:

the zipper on the front pouch is completely pooched; not good - that is where i keep my keys, blackberry and wallet...they need a safe home!

Very sad. This knapsack and I have been through thick and thin together:

file photo: ROM, march 2010 with SIL ana, little e, baby c

 file photo: marco island, florida, july 2010

I never carry a purse – a knapsack goes with me everywhere during the day.

There’s an option at the store that is in the running as a replacement:

i love all the little outside pockets of various shapes and sizes; just not sure the main pouch is big enough??

I’d only have to add in <$10 of my own money.

I could be a diva:

I feel like my skin is taking a beating in the summer heat and sun. My make-do strategy is feeling insufficient. I could put the $40 towards:

(source)

and just kiss those wrinkles laugh lines good-bye. [Except I need about 4-6 x $40 for a full kit…].

I could stash:

that could be 7 x puffins (need to include tax, remember)

…but I’d have nothing tangible to show in <10 days when they’re eaten…

I could be frivolous:

I have never had a pedicure.

pour, unpampered *souls!*...and i happen to have all 10 toenails right now...

The place where I got my nails has a mani/pedi combo pac – and look at the price!…

see the very last item on that list...

I did have so much fun with the nails

I could be charitable:

A philanthropic donation would make someone’s day. I bet my ♥ would grow. $10 x four organizations? $20 x two organizations? Tough decisions. [I do enjoy philanthropy and have an annual Christmas-time giving ritual].

I could be boring responsible:

If I socked my money away in the bank (do a swap and take $40 cash to the bank, and then spend the AmEx card on x) I could earn 1% interest, and in 400 years, I’d have…Dad? How much would I have? Ug…Uggs!!…Now we’re talking!…

So, I’ll think, you’ll think, and we’ll come up with a plan!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

I bought another Groupon! Now, I’m not going to share right away what it’s for because it is going to be a New Experience. The Groupon expires in December, so some rainy day, it’s going to provide me with a couple hours of entertainment. It only cost me $10, and it’s a score of a deal. It’s also going to help me with my 2011 goals. That’s enough hints, for now.

You’ll remember that when I purchased my first Groupon, my sole complaint was that my purchase confirmation was not received instantaneously. Well, this time it was – I got my Groupon email less than five minutes after I bought it. That thrills Type A Kiki! [I’m guessing this quick turn-around occurred because my new Groupon is for a smaller venue? Old Navy would draw a lot more buyers, I bet].

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Nicole  On June 16, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Hmmm…. I think you need a new backpack. I think you should find a cheaper one and then treat yourself to a coffee at Starbucks– or to some of those instant coffee packets that you like so much.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 16, 2011 at 8:30 pm

      i like the way you think, nicole! great ideas! the knapsack before this one was a “roots” one that i picked up at crappy tire…it, too, was very durable – i will go back there and check prices – thanks for the reminder! hope you’re counting down the days til the end of school! 🙂

  • Dorry  On June 16, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    SO many options! Hmmmm – I suggest you pamper yourself or buy the new backpack from the store. I love pedicures but rarely treat myself to one…I want one now just thinking about it! 🙂

  • Johanna B  On June 16, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    I vote for the pampering of a spa pedicure. I would have to buy a new cookbook I found featuring New Orleans recipes. I’d be buying it as much for the photos around town as for the recipes. After all, I grew up on New Orleans food.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 16, 2011 at 1:25 pm

      wow, the pedicure is racking up the votes today! new orleans cuisine…many unique dishes, from what i have read/heard. that would be an excellent and meaningful – not to mention mouth-watering – purchase, johanna!

  • Tiff  On June 16, 2011 at 9:52 am

    Spa pedicure and save the rest? Just what I would do. I love a goooood pedicure!

  • Gina Unger  On June 16, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Very fun! I’m not thinking outside the box right now so I would probably spend the money on clothes/shoes or a pedicure or both, depending on the prices of things! Go for the pedi! I am in dire need of one myself and just haven’t gotten around to booking an appt. yet, but I LOVE THEM! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 16, 2011 at 9:32 am

      thanks for the vote for the pedi! glad to hear you’re a fan, and i hope you get to work on in to your schedule asap!

  • Zo  On June 16, 2011 at 8:01 am

    I hate making decisions (but what an awesome reason for having to make one)! Hmm..maybe a split (20 on new backpack and 20 on one of the other things?)
    Good luck! Let us know what you decide!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 16, 2011 at 8:54 am

      i will update you for sure! will decide this weekend how to spend the $. thanks for the splitting up idea (the pedi only was less than $30!…)

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On June 16, 2011 at 7:37 am

    I’d probably go buy something — like a new backpack. I really like your checkered one so I’d get another fun one like that.

    I don’t usually spend money on myself — like mani/pedi unless it is a super special occasion (I got them for my wedding, my sister’s wedding and then this last wedding I was in and that is it!)

    Congrats on getting the card!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 16, 2011 at 8:56 am

      i love the checks, too – so sad it is broken! i checked where i bought it and they no longer have that pattern. 😦 i like saving manis/pedis for special occasions, too. hey – you should treat yourself to a pedi after your marathon, holly! 🙂

Leave a Reply

