Cookies or Country?

As you read yesterday, Dad loves cookies!

I had decided that I wanted to make Dad a batch of cookies as part of his Father’s Day gift (he also received a gift card to Wordsworth Books). The timing would work out perfectly for me to bake the cookies on Saturday eve, then give them to Dad on Sunday. They’d be fresh for golfing today (Dad always takes cookies along for his Monday golf date with his buddies).

Saturday, while working at the store, I discovered that Uptown Country was going on at the square (yes, the same spot as the non-existant Thursday market). In fact, we could hear the twangs guitar reverberations  in the store!

Talk about perfect weather: Saturday was an absolutely gorgeous day here: sunny, hot – just the kind of day you want to be outside.

So, I had a choice to make: bake cookies, as planned, or head over to Uptown Country on the beautiful Saturday eve. The no-brainer choice would seem to be the music fest, right? As a bonus, I thought that I could take my knitting as Saturday was also Worldwide Knit in Public Day (I missed the gathering at Shall We Knit due to my work shift).

I knew Dad would totally understand if I gave him an IOU for the cookies, and made them tonight, or sometime this week. But I just wasn’t 110% gung-ho on going to Uptown Country. While I have nothing against country music (in fact, I bet if I exposed myself to it more often, I could become a fan) it’s really not my thing. Plus, I know from the past that there is long gaps of time between acts/musicians, and since the venue is out-of-doors, lots of cigarette smoking (blech).

Plus, it’s been a while since I made cookies (Thurs May 19th, to be exact). The year is speeding by, and the Unofficial 1970 Kiki Project is only at ten recipes completed!

So, what recipe to choose…one thing for sure: no way I could whip up vegan, gluten-free, carob-chip morsels of delight for Dear Dad. No way, Jose. I wanted an online recipe so that I wouldn’t have to type it out for you to try something new…and knew it had to come from someone who loves butter and family-style cooking. Ina Garten? Bobby Flay? I went with Paula Deen, a mostly unfamiliar-to-me celebrity chef (I’ve seen her show a couple times on Foodnetwork). Best of all – she’s from Dad’s generation, haha!

(source)

Here’s the recipe I chose from Paula Deen’s website: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies by Gladys Carter. Scanning the list of ingredients, they seemed right up Dad’s alley (nothing funky or foreign).

The changes I made:

  • I used one stick butter and one stick Crisco shortening
  • I used 1 cup milk chocolate chips and 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Everything else is the same as in the recipe link.

My impressions:

  • Paula says the prep time is 15 minutes. Oh, Paula, you do make me laugh. My prep time was almost 45 minutes. Good thing I never reference prep times til I’ve shut the oven door, and my work is completed.
  • The batter, pre-baking, was fabulously delightful in consistency: creamy, smooth, easy to shape into cookies.

"sun setting over cookie dough" - how pictoresque!

  • I got 48 cookies instead of 50. I purposely didn’t make mine all that big as Dad does not like mega-giant size sweet treats (unless it’s a wedge of pie!). They’re still pretty big, though.

i'm no photo aficionado, but lovin' that evening light glow on the cookies!

  • I had to bake my cookies 10-12 minutes, not 7 – I’m guessing that’s because of the size of my cookies (?) or the weather (?) or the altitude in Waterloo (?).
  • The cookies went a little splatty during baking – maybe due to the Crisco?
  • Lucy’s Chocolate Chip Cookies is still the best recipe in my repertoire.

All boxed up and ready to go:

i think i'll ask for that gift box back!

Which Foodnetwork star do you look to for a fail-proof recipe? I had good luck with Anna Olson’s chocolate chip cookies. Plus, her TV presence is so calm and reassuring, that I have confidence in her recipes, as funny as that sounds!

Pie or cookies? Cookies all the way, man…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Nikki C  On June 8, 2012 at 10:18 am

    I ABSOLUTELY love Alton Brown! I never ever miss his show Good Eats. Those of you that haven’t seen it be sure to do so he’s a hoot!

  • Andrea Budding  On June 20, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Hmm those cookies have made me hungry…I think it’s time for breakfast!
    Tough question…I don’t think I’ve ever actually thought about COOKING from cooking show personalities; I just like watching them cook!
    My favourites to watch though:
    1. crew from Top Chef (especially Tom)
    2. Alton Brown (I see I’m not alone with this one!)
    3. Michael Smith – that pantry gets me every time
    🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 20, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      oh, someone please tell me that i am not the only one on this blog who is clueless about alton brown! i am feeling very out of it! 🙂 andrea, you’ll need to join our family top chef challenge: guess the winner. maybe we can set up a tourney for top chef: just desserts?! and yes! how can watching people cook be so entertaining?!

  • Johanna B  On June 20, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Food Network Star: Alton Brown without a doubt. You must check him out. He’s goofy but endearing and very informational.

    Cookies for sure. I have to be VERY careful around cookies cuz they tend to disappear too quickly.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 20, 2011 at 2:15 pm

      ok, now i’m REALLY curious to check out alton brown! i like goofy so this could be a good find!

  • Dorry  On June 20, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Such a good daughter to stay home and bake cookies! I’m not a big country music fan either, but every now and then I like it. And I’m also totally with you about the outdoor concerts and cigarette smoke. It’s pretty much my biggest pet peeve. Hmmm – as far as Food Network stars go, I really am clueless. I let Billy do all the recipe searching…I stick to reading blogs. 😉

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 20, 2011 at 11:38 am

      Dorry!! Living in texas and you’re not a country music fan? Say it ain’t so! 🙂
      My favourite foodnetwork shows are still the top chef series: great entertainment, little instructional value!

  • Zo  On June 20, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Yeah…I’m probably more about the cookies too…plus they’re smaller than pie so you can have more. I don’t actually follow any food network stars recipes…but I do love Alton Brown and have one of his “Good Eats” books.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 20, 2011 at 8:57 am

      haha, i like your cookie vs pie philosophy, zo! funny that both you and lisa mention alton brown – i’ll have to catch his show!

  • Lisa  On June 20, 2011 at 7:41 am

    I got my dad a gift card to a bookstore too! I didn’t, however, make him cookies…I should have!
    I haven’t made any food network cookie recipes…but I used to always try stuff from alton brown. I loved his show because it was so educational, and I just trusted him that things would come out right!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 20, 2011 at 8:57 am

      alton brown – that’s a new name for me. educational would be VERY good for me! 🙂 love that you got a GC for your dad, too!

Leave a Reply

