Turn That Frown Upside Down

When I was mentally composing today’s blog post in my head (bloggies, please tell my you pre-think your entries, too, before you start tip-tap-typing), my working title was PITA.

No, not this carb delight…

(source)

I mean PAIN IN THE A$$.

I was feeling like a pretty big grumposaurus because I had a few things on my mind that had my knickers in a knot.

Rather than just whine, I’m still going to complain, but then find a silver lining and switch the gripes to grins. Le’sss go!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

The new laundry time SUCKS!

I throw in the load at 7:02 p.m., (start of “green time”), it’s done at about 7:45 p.m., then the dryer portion finishes at about 8:30 p.m. at which time I can fold and put away the clothes. I’m just not into household chores at night. Plus, I can’t do laundry and go out on the same night (unless I reconfigure my brain – that is a possibility).

😀 – – >

Weekends are “green zones” day and night, saturday and sunday. I CAN do all the laundry I want on TWO days of the week! If I wash one load of clothes, and freshen the sheets and towels, I can finish those chores any time on the weekend. Maybe I can train myself to do just ONE laundry load Monday- Friday so that only ONE weekday eve is devoted to the washing machine.

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

No Movie For You!

I tried to go see the new Woody Allen movie, Midnight in Paris, on Friday night and it was sold out! Who woulda thunk that Woody Allen would sell out on “Opening Night?” I was bummed that my plans fell through. I ended up doing a x-word puzzle instead – how lame is that!

😀 – ->

I went back on Sunday eve (Father’s Day) and got in, no problem. The movie is good. It wasn’t my favourite Woody Allen movie (Vicki Christina Barcelona is the best of the last few years) but I did laugh, and the storyline is creative. I’m not so much into time-travel/switching eras stuff, so I liked the real-time portions of the film the best. It was a fun evening out on a gorgeous summer night!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

The Shale Baby Blanket is no more.

RRRiiipppp! I got six rows of pattern done and had to give up. If you don’t knit, skip this next paragraph. If you do, share my pain…

The silk yarn I wanted to use is super fine – I’m using 3 mm needles with it. The pattern called for ssssk and k4 together. Trying to work FOUR stitches together with this slippery yarn on such small needles was impossible! I was literally digging my needles together and each ssssk (think ssk but with four stitches, not two) was taking 30-60 seconds (multiple THAT over 300+ stitches…) – yea. I could not see continuing in that manner.

😀 – – >

I’m trying an aran pattern now! I got out one of my Sirdar pattern books and found an aran blanket I’ve always wanted to try:

the pattern in the book; love aran patterns as they are classic and never out-of-style

I even did the math so that I could make my version bigger than the in the pattern book. Pat on the back for figuring how many stitches I needed to increase to, after the moss stitch border. It’s gonna work!

so far so good!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Finally, the weather this past weekend was spectacular. Take a look:

Waterloo Park was crammed with people of all shapes and sizes and ages and personalities enjoying the sunshine. I June! I that I live across from a huge park! I when I can scoot of the house in tshirt and shorts!

Woody Allen movies: Yea or nay? You either “get” Woody Allen’s style or you don’t. I’m a fan.

What’s one negative thing, big or small, that’s happened to you lately, and how did you turn it into a positive? I ran out of Puffins (bad); I found them at Beechwood Zehrs for $4.19 a box (regular price) which is $0.80 cheaper PER BOX than at the health food store!

😀

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On June 21, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    I didn’t really like Midnight in Paris. I was annoyed about how awful the Inez character was (the women were either amazing goddesses or awful…that bugged me). It also drove me nuts that people in the theater felt the need to tell whoever they were sitting with when they recognized one of the historical figures (like “look how smart I am! I know who that is…woooo”).
    Hmmm…guess trying to channel my crabbiness into an amusing comment could be a positive out of a negative (maybe?) .

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 21, 2011 at 9:06 pm

      i LOVE your movie review comments, zo! you’re making ME laugh, so that’s a positive! would love to have a more in-depth “midnight in paris” discussion with you!

  • Dorry  On June 21, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I love it when I find a good deal on cereal! Some of my favorites are really pricey and I can go through a box pretty quickly. 🙂 Hmmm – I try to turn most of the negatives into positives. Billy probably gets sick of hearing me talk about it. Hahaha. “Well, it’s actually a GOOD thing that happened because….”

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 21, 2011 at 9:08 pm

      dorry, that is wonderful that you find the silver lining in situations. usually if we look hard enough, there is SOMETHING positive (or at least a lesson to take forward) to take away!

  • Johanna B  On June 21, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    I thought I was the only one who used PITA in that way. Glad to see I’m not alone.

    I don’t enjoy the comedy of Woody Allen – never have.

    Last night I got ticked off at the local weather guys (like that does a lot of good) when they interupted one of my favorite TV shows with a weather alert. The good thing – I turned off the TV and read. The book was better than the show.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 21, 2011 at 3:25 pm

      haha, that is a PERFECT example of a PITA – thanks for sharing, johanna! i can’t think of another director that is more divisive than woody allen – he is certainly unique in style.

  • Lisa  On June 21, 2011 at 9:49 am

    I have no idea what Green time is!? You have to do laundry at certain times? Or it’s better to do it then for some reason? Hmmm…

    I haven’t had a PITA day in the past week or so…but they can easily put a damper on the good attitude 🙂

    The weather is awesome! I love it—I am thrilled that it’s summer, and definitely like living here at this time of year (if only I could move to florida every winter…)

    Hope you have a super awesome day 🙂

Leave a Reply

