A Failing Report Card in June!

Well, it’s the end of June, and school’s out!

(source)

And that means it’s Report Card time.

On June the 1st, I shared four June goals with you. Let’s see how we fared, and in honour of the end of the school year, we’ll assign a grade to each goal.

Goal #1: Ride my bike at least twice.

Grade:

F!

Explanation: You wanna know the total whole truth and nothing but the truth? I am scared of The Green Monster. More than a few times, the thought crossed my mind to take the bike out for a spin. Then I’d make a face like this

wahhhh!!!

…and go do something else. Or drive or walk my errand. I have nothing further to add about this goal.

Goal #2: a) Finish the lacy baby blanket and b) finish the “Marnie” cardigan for Mom

Grade:

F/A+!

Explanation: I knew from the outset that completing the baby blanket was a long shot. I made great progress, but it’s not done.

still growing...

I’d say I have enough yarn left to do 2-4 more repeats of the pattern, then I’ll do the garter stitch border, and wrap ‘er up.

Mom’s sweater – now that was a success! Mom was able to wear her sweater on the hottest day of the year by the middle of the month:

i loved making this pattern

Goal #3: The reading goal got tweaked *just* a few times: here and here, to be exact.

Grade:

C+!

Explanation: I did finish one book: Sizzling Sixteen by Janet Evanovich (one of the Stephanie Plum series). After that, I started dabbling in a couple of other library choices…still taking a thinking-break, and there’s nothing really worth mentioning at this time.

Goal #4: Get Out and About and enjoy the summer evenings.

Grade:

C-!

Explanation: Coulda done better, coulda done worse. I got out to a movie…and did a few random errands a couple of evenings. I am not an evening person. On a positive note, I did a lot of socializing between the hours of 5-7 p.m., and during the afternoons I was off work.

Happily, the Outings of the Month ended up working out. Better modified than never.

How’d y’all fare with your own June plans? Seeing as how I was a more-or-less straight A student all through school, I am a little chagrined at this progress report!

Tomorrow: what’s the plan for July? You may be surprised…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On June 30, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    haha – you crack me up! If we lived in the same city, I’d make you come ride your bike with me. 🙂 June was a REALLY busy month. It’s hard to believe it’s come and gone. I accomplished a lot in June, but I need to get my goals in order and prioritize. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 1, 2011 at 5:40 am

      now THAT is a divine idea, dorry! i would feel much better if we could bike together!

  • Lisa  On June 30, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Sometimes it takes me several months of making the same goal before I even come close to accomplishing it! I didn’t set any in June, so I really don’t know how productive I was. Actually, I really can’t believe June is over!

    I’m a softy when it comes to goals—so even though you did not reach all of yours, it’s still impressive that you did some of it! Getting a C is way better than an F 🙂

    …and if you’re not feelin’ the bike riding…well, that doesn’t seem so awful either 🙂

    Enjoy the weekend!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 30, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      that is a good reminder, lisa, that some goals need more time than only 30 days! i agree – where did the month, go? thanks for the positive viewpoint on the goals, too – much appreciated! happy weekend! and welcome home!

  • Johanna B  On June 30, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Love the pic of you thinking of riding the green monster. That’s how I feel when I think about roller blading. I can roller skate (i.e. the old fashioned kind from when I was a kid) but blades – I don’t think so.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 30, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      i had rollerskates as a child – yes, way different than rollerblades. rollerblades = very scary indeed!

  • thehealthyapron  On June 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I love your goal about getting out to socialize more! There are SO many studies shoing the benefit of meeting friends and having fun or just having activitites to look forward to! KEep that one for july! I might be on board too!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 30, 2011 at 2:17 pm

      i totally agree that being social is so good for us! nothing like great conversation and hearty laughs to make your day, eh!

  • Angela @ Eat Spin Run Repeat  On June 30, 2011 at 9:26 am

    Sorry to hear about the bike Cathy, but I think you did awesome on that sweater! It’d probably take me years to figure out how to do that lol! And I am with you when you say you’re not an evening person – I’m definitely not one either! However, now that it’s so nice outside, I’m going to be making an effort to get out and socialize more after work too. Here’s to a smashing success of a July! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 30, 2011 at 10:03 am

      thanks, angela! i think i’ve decided that the “5 a 7” is the perfect socializing time of day! yes, you would understand, being a fellow 5 a.m. early-riser!

Leave a Reply

