Happy Canada Day + What July is All About

Happy Canada Day, everyone! (or Happy 4th of July Weekend, U.S. friends!)

flags "free to a good home" at valumart yesterday!

I am working at the store today (yes, we are open {?}) or else I would be wearing this outfit:

running shorts circa 1995; canada shirt from the running room - purchased about 10 years ago!

Maybe I could get away with wearing the shorts? Show a little patriotism? !

i have one canada flag fake tattoo left - i'm saving it for the next time i run a US race!

my patriotic ball cap

I intensely dislike wearing hats, so I will not be wearing this cap this holiday weekend.

See the two autographs on there? I decided years ago to collect *famous* (that term is relative) Canadians’ signatures on this ball cap. The top one, in green, is Dr Marla Shapiro (I attended a presentation she gave about 5-6 years ago, now) and the one in blue is from Sylvia Ruegger – she ran for Canada in the 1984 Olympics (8th place!) and I also heard her speak, in person, a few years ago. Maybe I can add to my autograph collection some time this year (New Experience!)!

Tonight I am going to our annual Rooftop Canada Day BBQ for our building. That is going to lead to a New Experience that I will share with you tomorrow. I’d wear my red ‘n’ white costume outfit to the BBQ, but by 8 p.m. it’s going to be bloody cold decidedly on the cool side since we’re eight stories up in the air. Last year, I was seriously wearing my winter jacket by 8 p.m., kid you not.

Typically, on the first day of the new month, we talk about goals. We’re still going to discuss that subject today; however, for the month of July, things are going to go in a new direction.

It’s the ♥ of summertime in Southern Ontario. If tradition holds true, our days will be hot, humid and sunny (please, oh, please!). As such, I have decided it is too hot to set goals for this month. I am not feeling motivated or driven. and need a vacation from striving towards meeting personal targets.

I have, however, set a theme for the month, and here it is:

R E L A X

(source)

I envision numerous ways in which I will relax this month. Examples include, but are not limited to: reading outdoors, sitting and drinking coffee on outdoor coffee shop patios, meandering (outdoors) around Waterloo Park, knitting outdoors on the rooftop; I would be up for going to a Kitchener Panther’s baseball game (Dad?!) outdoors, or attending a free outdoors concert at the bandshell in Waterloo Park. We shall see! But you can tell where I hope to spend a lot of time this month.

One thing I will need to do this month is spend my Groupon at Old Navy – it expires at the end of July. Shopping is a relaxing past-time so I will look forward to this outing!

I debated whether I need a week’s vacation from blogging. I don’t, was my conclusion. I genuinely love daily blogging (haven’t missed a day yet in 2011!) and have not grown weary of it, nor do I feel creatively burnt out.

And yet.

If you follow the blog on a regular basis, you know that each day’s post is up at 7 a.m. For July, I give no guarantees as to what time of day I’ll put up a new blog entry. I would like to play around with spontaneity (oh, the horror! talk about doing one thing a day that scares you!)

To my mind, on Canada Day we really embrace the summer season. Isn’t it unjust, though, that the days are already getting shorter?? It’s just not right!

How are you celebrating the long weekend? I have a mix of work and play on the agenda. And time to R E L A X!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Beaches Runner  On April 9, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    yes short! so, can I rent them for Boston next week? 😉

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2012 at 5:09 pm

      well, those shorts DID bring me a 3:00:45 PB in boston…so they are good luck and know the course well! best wishes to you next week – have a great race!!

  • Beaches Runner  On April 9, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    I want a hat like that! and those shorts! In guys vut of course.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 9, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      i know – those shorts are awesome, eh? they’re a collector’s item. and those were unisex in style – very short shorts!!!

  • Zo  On July 3, 2011 at 9:34 am

    I had to laugh the other day when I read this as I had decided to take the summer off from formal goal setting! Glad to see we’re sort of on the same page, Cathy (even though you still have goals!)

  • Nicole  On July 1, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    Yay for summer and warm days ahead and lots of relaxing! Happy Canada day! We are going to relax today whe the littlest is napping. Maybe we’ll venture on the wild side later and buy a special Canada day doughnut at Timmies. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 1, 2011 at 1:11 pm

      Happy holidays, nicole! Ahhh…the whole summer ahead of you-great feeling, eh!
      Special donuts at TH??! That sounds like a perfect canada day treat!
      Loved the flag photo you posted on fb-very cute! 🙂

  • Dorry  On July 1, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Love your outfit! A rooftop BBQ sounds like a lot of fun. I can’t believe it will get chilly enough to wear a coat. It’s reeeeally hot down here in Texas. I love the idea of RELAXING in July. I’m going to take time to relax as well…starting this long holiday weekend!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 1, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      Hopefully I won’t need a coat this eve – it’s a lot warmer than it was last year, so a fleece should be ok by 10 p.m.! Texas heat – would love to be there!!!

  • Lisa  On July 1, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Happy Canada Day!
    I love the running outfit—that is too funny 🙂

    Good luck with your non-goal July and your bloggy-spontaneity! It’s good to mix things up once in a while and see what you like better.

    Have fun at the rooftop bbq–that sounds like fun!
    Things will be low key here this weekend. Matthew is coming up tomorrow night so I’m sure we’ll be playing outside a lot (and that’s fine by me…in the summer!).

    Enjoy your weather!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 1, 2011 at 12:03 pm

      I bet matthew will enjoy hearing your california trip tales, lisa – have fun with your outdoor time!
      The store is…a little on the slow side, but the flag shorts have drawn a couple compliments! 🙂

  • Tammy  On July 1, 2011 at 11:16 am

    I love your theme for the month of July! It reminds me of something a very wise person once told me — you can make your own rules! This weekend, we’re trying to get our house all organized and cleaned up, we’re going to see Bad Teacher, and I hope to get to the bookstore to do some relaxin’ myself! Have a great weekend! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 1, 2011 at 11:46 am

      Have fun at the movie, tammy! I saw the preview and it looked like it has some good laughs.
      Love the “make your own rules” idea – I think I will use that as my sub-theme!

  • Holly  On July 1, 2011 at 9:26 am

    You should be wearing those shorts! Those are awesome!

    I like your theme of “relaxing” this month — I should join you in that 🙂

    This weekend: tomorrow I am helping my MIL organize/clean her house, Monday I might be running a 1/2 marathon and then we have a big BBQ at MIL’s house (hence the reason for the house cleaning tomoorrow!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 1, 2011 at 9:32 am

      ok, girls, you caught me right before i need to leave for the store…i’m going up to put the shorts on. 🙂

  • Johanna B  On July 1, 2011 at 9:05 am

    No big celebrations planned. I will go to my daughter’s photography exhibit. She took pictures of the devastation of the Joplin tornado. Tasteful photos if there is such a thing. She’s donating the proceeds of the show to the relief fund to help rebuild the city. I am proud of her.

    Happy Canada Day. I think you should have worn the patriotic shorts to work today. Show off a little leg there.

Leave a Reply

