Not Exactly As Planned

It was an absolutely spectacular Canada Day!

love when the sky is that shade!

I worked from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m….and enjoyed a very…restful time of tranquility. There were not a lot of shoppers in Uptown Waterloo yesterday.

I can guess where most people were gathered…

The biggest Canada Day celebration in Waterloo takes place at Columbia Lake on the grounds of the University of Waterloo. From 2-11 p.m., there is music, activities, vendors, attractions, games – all organized by the university students. It’s a GREAT celebratory atmosphere, and it’s completely free! To end the day, there is a fireworks show at ~10 p.m. This year marked the 27th annual event.

[Sidenote: Canada Day, 1990. The Brother, The BF At The Time (Matthew), and I went to Columbia Lake to watch the fireworks. We had a beach blanket spread out on the ground, and the three of us were sprawled out, waiting for the fireworks to start. Quite suddenly, I remember being overcome with complete exhaustion. This was not just lazy fatigue – by the time the fireworks lit up the sky, I literally could not get my head off the ground, and just lay there listlessly during the show. To cut to the chase, within a few days, I was diagnosed with mono! I’ll never forget that Canada Day. And you know what? I’m pretty sure that was the last time – the one and only time – that I ever was at Columbia Lake itself to see the fireworks!].

Anyway, back to the present day…

Our condo building has a Canada Day tradition: at 8 p.m., our Condo Board of Directors hosts a Rooftop BBQ:

this year was the 4th annual affair!

Burgers and hot dogs are supplied, people contribute munchies or dessert (last year I brought Red Velvet Cocoa Cake Cupcakes as part of my “40 Recipes” Kiki Project – see Recipe #21 here), and it’s BYOB. Then at 10 p.m., everyone is invited to watch as the night sky comes alive with the fireworks. We have an unobstructed view towards Columbia Lake, which is just past Waterloo Park.

Every year, I go up to the BBQ, but conk out before the fireworks begin. This year, I was determined to stay up on top and catch the lightshow. I had it all planned out: this July 1st party would be a New Experience! I had the blog post title all ready to go: “New Experience #21: Ooh and Aah Over Fireworks.”

Guess what?

I conked out.

I started to have my doubts earlier in the day. I was anticipating the pre-fireworks portion of the eve with glee, but was kinda dreading how late the fireworks would go. At first, I told myself, “NO! You must stay up to watch the fireworks! You said on the blog that you were going to, so you have to!” Well, how silly is that way of thinking?! Especially since my July theme is

R E L A X

I went up to the roof about 8:15 p.m. Happily, this year I did not need my winter coat – such a beautiful evening! I did sport my Roots Canada sweatshirt, for patriotism’s sake, and my ball cap to block the setting sun:

that's the spirit!

The party was well underway!

it's tradition that jeff mans the grill! (lou ably assisting, here)

the help-yourself feast!

I’d say this year’s turnout was the largest yet!

not much different from a backyard patio...

so nice to have outdoor furniture, too

the planters provide additional seating

yea! more canada wear being proudly sported!

Our building invited the building next door to join us, too. So…

mom and dad were in attendance!

looking out to where the fireworks will appear, later on

I hadn’t seen Jillian and Duncan since their wedding. It was fun to catch up with the newlyweds!

six weeks married!

debated the pros and cons of physio with neighbour arin, recovering from an achilles injury

katie, (me), joanne and mom - we enjoyed discussing kate + william's visit to canada!

That was a really fun evening!

a proudly canadian condo community!

Guess what? As I was winding down for the night, look what I witnessed out the Condo Casa windows:

excuse the photo quality - i just wanted proof of seeing the fireworks!

I’m calling it a successful Canada Day!

Will you see any fireworks displays this weekend? Victoria Day and Canada Day are the main occasions for light shows in our area.

[spontaneous doesn’t always have to mean LATER – hitting “publish” at 6:45 a.m. today!] ๐Ÿ™‚

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jayme @ Runner-n-Spice  On July 3, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Happy belated Canada day! I watched the fireworks on the highway between cornwall and ottawa – I live in Ottawa, and missed the show (and will and kate, for that matter!)

    We have a great roof top in our building too – we really need to use it more though…

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On July 2, 2011 at 8:49 am

    I’m glad you saw the fireworks! We’ll (hopefully) see some on Monday — last year our city canceled the fireworks display because it was so dry.

    The story of you with mono — yikes! I’ve never had mono but I’ve got friends who have had it and they have similar stories — all of a sudden they were so exhausted!

    Did you wear your Canada shorts to work?

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 2, 2011 at 9:00 am

      i DID wear the shorts, holly! after i saw your comment + johanna’s yesterday, i decided to go for it. they got a few compliments! hope your fireworks display is a go on monday! have a great weekend!

  • Lisa  On July 2, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Looks like a great bbq! I wouldn’t make it till the fireworks most likely—when it’s bed time, it’s just bed time!

    But you did it—so great job on doing something new!

    How fun that your neighbors all get together and celebrate—that would never happen where I live…we seem to avoid each other at all costs ๐Ÿ™‚

    If I get my way (and compromise my parking situation) in our new place…I’ll live across the street from my mom. That would be awesome in general and also for when Matthew is visiting!

    I don’t think I’ll see fireworks this year, but we’ve been hearing them for the last few nights…maybe I’ll just count that ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 2, 2011 at 9:02 am

      nope – no new experience, lisa, as i retired to the condo before 10 pm. if i had stayed on the roof, it would have been a new experience! i like that: “when it’s bed time, it’s just bed time!” fingers crossed that it works out for your new place – it’s very handy having family right close by! enjoy your weekend!

      • Lisa  On July 2, 2011 at 9:13 am

        ahh, I was thinking seeing the fireworks out the window would still count a little bit ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess I’d be more of a cheater…looking for loopholes and things!

Leave a Reply

