Just Don’t Tell Me Who Won!

Good Morning!

It was a short night: I worked at the store ’til closing. I always find I need a little down time before settling in for the night, so I got to bed later than usual. [Sidenote: as for not being a night person, yet working til after 9 p.m. – – > for some reason, I don’t get tired when I’m working the late shift…likely because I have tasks to complete, and I’m interacting with customers/clinic members which keeps me focussed. I’m glad – there’s nothing worse than feeling really tired and having to be “on!”].

So last evening was the Top Chef Canada finale on the Foodnetwork (I’m not linking because I’m scared the website will reveal the winner). Since I was at work, I didn’t watch (although, let’s be real: if I had been at home, I wouldn’t have watched, even though the show would have finished at 10 p.m. which is earlier than I got to bed, anyway…). I’m not sure when I’ll be able to catch the episode: I work again this eve, Wednesday I’ll be in Toronto for Aunti Day, then Thursday eve, I’m at the store, again. So it’s looking like the weekend may be my first opportunity. Ah well, something to look forward to!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

To start the day, I always take my recycling down to our garbage room. You’ll remember that our building’s informal Lending Library for books and magazines is located here (?!). One of my pet peeves is that some residents (I honestly don’t know who, exactly) use these book shelves as their personal Garage Sale space: they’ll anonymously drop off crap used items such as old wine goblets, worn ball caps, free notecards received in the mail from charities, etc. This drives me nuts! People: either take your stuff to a genuine drop off spot like a thrift store, or dump it! Lending library = books, not used oven mitts in the shape of fish!

I ate my words this morning, because look what was lying on the library shelves:

that would be a BRAND NEW yoga mat, in a carrying case

I checked it over because a used yoga mat would be like wearing someone else’s underwear, in my books. But, no funky smell emanated from the mat, and it unrolled as if it’s never been unfurled before (had that “sticky” sound to it), so I’m going to keep it!

looks clean to me (maybe a little dusty?)

I already have two other yoga mats, but you can never have too many, right? Esp since a hot yoga/bikram class is on my list of anticipated New Experiences for 2011. I’m not sure about black for a yoga mat – seems a little heavy, both in colour and in “yoga vibe.” If nothing else, I’ll have a sticky mat for around the home!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

On the agenda for today:

  • clean the Condo Casa (although it’s another gorgeous day here, and I dislike cleaning on a beautiful day; it’s a better rainy day chore. I have a feeling I could be pursuaded quite easily to relax on the rooftop, instead).
  • coffee with Sarah!
  • work at the store

What’s one item on your To Do list for today? I have a new pair of running shoes (!!) – and need to wear them around the home for a few hours to get an idea of how they feel. You’ll see ’em tomorrow…

Have a good one!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On July 5, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    A new yoga mat! And a case!? That’s a good find. 🙂 I love my yoga mat and I have an old one that Billy uses, but I agree, you can never have too many. My to-do list today was mainly work-related and grocery store. There are many more things I need to get done – hopefully a little bit everyday before the weekend. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 6, 2011 at 5:11 am

      this yoga mat is fine and all, but the lulu ones (and the tote bags) are way cuter! 🙂

  • Andrea Budding  On July 5, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    Junk clutter at book exchange bad….but free yoga mat and bag = ka-ching!

    Our plan for the day: pick up my parents from the Brisbane airport! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 5, 2011 at 9:18 pm

      oooo! have fun with your parents! i didn’t know they were coming over to visit – that’s just awesome!

  • Johanna B  On July 5, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Let’s see – one thing on my to do list for today. SURVIVE !!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 5, 2011 at 9:18 pm

      oh, it sounds like a stressful day – i hope it turned out better than anticipated!

  • janetha @ meals & moves  On July 5, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    I am jealous. I need a new mat!

  • Holly  On July 5, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Sweet yoga mat! And here I was excited about maybe seeing the oven mitt in the shape of a fish! 🙂

    Today I need to do laundry — I actually did tons of cleaning and errands over the weekend so I shouldn’t have much more to do than that.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 5, 2011 at 9:26 am

      haha! i’ll have to snap a photo the next time i see something incredibly tacky + junky! good luck with the laundry – at least that is something you can throw in, then go on and do other things at the same time.

  • Lisa  On July 5, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Awesome on the new mat! I agree—on the used undies thing and also on the never-too-many thing for yoga mats! But a brand new mat (or even slightly used unstinky one) is awesome! I usually leave one in my trunk and one in my closet at home…so I’m prepared whenever I have the urge to do yoga (which I wish was more often!).

    Today, I have a new class starting, so I’ll need to do some “teaching” …which is way easy online, then I’m going to roast some of the million beets I picked from our garden yesterday, and I think I’m meeting a friend who is in from out of town.

    It won’t be a very productive day…but it will be fun, so productivity can come tomorrow!
    Have a fab day 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 5, 2011 at 9:14 am

      great idea to have yoga mats in various locations. i could do an upstairs/downstairs thing, maybe! good luck with the new class! it’s always exciting to have a fresh start to a project. i’ve never had roasted beets – i hope you blog about what you do, and how they taste! sounds like a great day – enjoy!

  • Jayme @ Runner-n-Spice  On July 5, 2011 at 7:48 am

    I still need to unpack from vacation!! Argh….

    I agree with the book exchange – no junk allowed!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 5, 2011 at 9:16 am

      ugh – vacation unpacking is NOT fun because it means lots o’ laundry! good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

