In a Bandshell

The subtitle for today could be, “The Event That Almost Didn’t Make It Onto The Blog.”

Sunday eve, I went out to Waterloo Park with my parents. Mom had seen a sign saying that at 7 p.m., the New Hamburg Band would be playing a concert at the park bandshell. Mom and Dad invited me to tag along, an invite I gladly accepted, without hesitation. This past weekend was absolutely spectacular in the weather department, so why not spend Sunday eve, outdoors?!

As we were getting settled, Mom asked me if this would be a New Experience for the blog. With a slightly horrified look on my face, I replied, no – this wasn’t even going to go onto the blog!

Why the hesitation to share the eve with you? Well, for some reason, the outing just brought back memories of being an awkward teen. I’m sure you remember that life period, too: where to be seen with your parents is just about the most embarrassing situation you can imagine. I mean, concert band, with my parents, evening outing….yea. Not something to shout from the rooftops.

But after a bit of reflection, I decided what the hay – yes! I’m having fun, and who gives two figs whether it’s an uncool outing or not. [But, I’m not counting it as a New Experience because we used to go to the same type of concert up in Goderich, when we were little. Sunday eves, there’d be outdoor concerts at the Goderich Bandshell, and our family would go quite frequently. My favourite was when Scottish bagpipers were featured].

So, back to this past Sunday eve. Like I said, it was simply a perfect July evening:

i love when i can be comfy in only a tshirt at 7:30 p.m.!

Waterloo Park is such a jewel in the centre of the city. Local readers: did you even know there is a bandshell, back in one corner?

an ampitheathre shape encourages good sound quality - as good as you're going to get out-of-doors!

Promptly at 7 p.m., the concert began:

the view from our spot!

There was a small crowd out – more people assembled as time went by:

BYO...L (lawnchairs!)

mom and dad! (i sat on the ground, in front)

You know who was the star of the show? This young band member, back in the corner:

the youngest in the band, by a long shot

This little guy was the percussionist, and he did it all, I tell ya. Dad and I had a hoot watching him as he switched between cymbals, tambourine, wooden blocks, triangle, maracas, drums…there was nothing the kid couldn’t do! Just great.

The band played a whole mix of musical selections; some examples: Broadway favourites, the Teddy Bear’s Picnic, Bad Bad Leroy Brown, a Mary Poppins medley (my fave! love that movie!), traditional marching band tunes, then they ended with a medley from The Beatles. Some songs were *stronger* than others – the traditional band songs were played confidently and in tune; other numbers….well, they tried. I give the band credit, though – New Hamburg is a really small town, just outside of Waterloo, so for the depth of talent they likely have to draw on, they gave a credible performance.

the woman in the front, very left, used that megaphone to introduce each piece

You know why the eve was a success, too? Because all I did was R E L A X. I didn’t knit, fiddle with my Blackberry, read – nothing. I just sat, appreciated the beautiful evening, and stayed in the moment.

ok, there was a little toe-tapping that went on

These Sunday evening (free!) concerts will be going on regularly for the rest of the summer. Bet we get out there again!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Wanna read something really cool? Or, really HOT, to be more accurate.

The Badwater 135 ultramarathon started yesterday morning. They’re still running. Or plodding. Or just moving forward. Read about this race, and you’ll either think they’re crazy, or you’ll be inspired – let me know!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Last year, on July 12th, I was exploring the city of Tampa! That city confused me to pieces – I never did figure it out! But I discovered one of the best malls in the universe, and stayed at my favourite hotel of the trip!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On July 12, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    36 years ago almost to the minute I was walking down the aisle in a white wedding gown.

    Your fascination with the percussionist is justified. Percussion is IMHO the hardest instrument to play. There’s just so many variations.

    I would listen to music anytime, anywhere, with anyone. Of course, I was usually up on the stage playing my clarinet if it was a local production.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 12, 2011 at 3:16 pm

      you would have fit right in with the new hamburg band, johanna! i bet they could have used your experience in the clarinet section! thank you for sharing about your special day – i bet the memories are still strong, to this day.

  • thehealthyapron  On July 12, 2011 at 11:02 am

    haha even though you were ashamed to admit it, it looks like you had fun! I’m glad!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 12, 2011 at 1:04 pm

      thanks, erin! given the fact that i’m even considering going again, some sunday night…yup! it was ok! 🙂

  • Zo  On July 12, 2011 at 9:56 am

    I had no idea what a bandshell was. If I was doing goals this month, I wonder if I could count learning that!

  • Holly  On July 12, 2011 at 9:06 am

    I’m glad you got out and relaxed! Lately I find it hard to not have my phone by me — checking facebook, reading blogs, checking emails, etc. I need to just leave it in another room and forget about for a while!

    That is crazy about the ultramarathon — have you ever done one of them?

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 12, 2011 at 9:20 am

      i know! sometimes the blackberry just feels like another attachment to my arm…i need to consciously decide to ignore it! i’ve done two ultras: a 50k and a 6 hour…and i really enjoyed them/did well. but i can’t imagine doing 135 MILES in over 120 degree F temps!!

Leave a Reply

