You Can’t HANDLE the Heat!

Quick now – can you guess which movie I am trying to reference with today’s title? You might have to say it out loud – it’s all in the proper inflection and the emphasis on “handle.” At the end of the blog post, I’ll put up a photo to give you a clue. Leave a comment with the movie title, if you think you’ve guessed correctly!

All anyone can talk about this week is the weather. Canadians do that a lot, year-round, but with the extreme heat temps we’re experiencing, 100% of people are starting their conversations with weather-talk. Most people are complaining lamenting the lack of cool air. We’re all entitled to our opinion!

Personally, I am in seventh heaven. I’ve told you before how Aruba is my natural habitat. When it’s hot and sunny out, I blossom. My energy level is high, my spirits are bright, and I am happy. Not everyone feels this way – poor Mom has not had the best of weeks. Hot weather gives her low-grade nausea, and makes her feel rather lethargic.

While I love the heat during the day, I do admit I am very grateful to have air-conditioning for sleeping.

We first got air-conditioning when I was five years old. It was pretty exciting to have that option on hot days, back in the 70’s! I’ve appreciated the air-conditioned comfort option ever since, wherever I’ve lived, except for the one summer that Gina and I lived in an apartment together here in Waterloo. Our bedrooms were on the third floor of an old home, and I remember it could get swelteringly hot up there. We each had a fan, but I think that mostly just pushed the hot air around. It’s not easy to sleep when it’s so hot – good thing we were young and carefree, in those days, and a night with little/poor quality sleep was not a huge issue!

One way to cool off is with a summery beverage. The recipe, below, is for Mom’s famous iced tea. We’ve enjoyed this drink year-round – but especially in the summer – for many, many years. It’s funny: usually when people try it for the first time, they take one (maybe two) tentative sips, and then they’re completely and enthusiastically hooked. And they usually go home with the recipe in hand!

Iced Tea

~Steep 8 teabags in 3 cups boiling water for at least 2 hours (you can leave it overnight, if you wish).

~[You can use decaf or regular tea. Mom says that Tetley’s Orange Pekoe is a good one. Avoid types like herbal or Earl Grey etc.]

~Pour the strong tea into this mixture:

  • 5 cups cold water
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

~Stir and refrigerate.

~Makes 6-8 servings.

[What makes this iced tea so unique and tasty is the inclusion of the almond extract, IMO].

I saw The Brother, yesterday (we went for coffee – hot coffees!), and he had a couple of commonsense suggestions for dealing with the heat. The Brother lived in Singapore for a few years, back in the 90s, and this hot, humid weather is the way things are over there, at all times. When you go out, do the “Singapore Saunter” in terms of the pace of your walking. Take on more of an ambling calmness with your steps in lieu of power marching. And accept the fact that you will sweat! Simple as that!

What’s the hottest you’ve ever been? I’m meaning temperature-wise, but if you want to share a time when you looked really good, that’s ok, too!

Movie Clue:

(source)

~*~*~*~*~

Best News of the Day: Jersey Shore: Season 4 begins on August 4th! I sure hope I can find it online, at a site that Canadians can access!

~Any virtual hugs you feel like offering would be warmly received today.~

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On July 22, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    It’s really hot here lately! 100+ just about everyday. I’m trying to remember the hottest I’ve ever been…I definitely get headaches when my body overheats. I’m super sensitive to temperature either way, but there’s nothing better than walking outside into the hot sunshine after being inside a freezing cold building.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 23, 2011 at 5:27 am

      i agree! and some places/people take the a/c too far! a little coolness is nice. freezer-cold – not so pleasant!

  • Andrea Budding  On July 22, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    Thanks for the iced tea recipe!

    hmm…I think mtv.ca plays Jersey Shore spisodes (Yes, I am a closet fan. 🙂 )

    *virtual hugs* from Joel and me. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 23, 2011 at 5:25 am

      ooo, goodie! thanks for the mtv link, andrea! for sure, i will check it out! i can’t wait to see the antics they can get into in italy! thanks for the hugs, too! 🙂

  • thehealthyapron  On July 22, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    ya for Jersey Shore! Super Excited for that one!! It’s (almost) TEE-SHAAART TIIIIMMMMMMMME!! hahaha

  • Johanna B  On July 22, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Back in the day when my husband and I were 18-wheeling it across the country for a couple of years I got food poisoning. We stopped in Arizona. Phoenix to be precise. It was August. It was 117*. There was only one bathroom at the truck stop area. It was HOT and I was MISERABLE. Worst two days of my life.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 22, 2011 at 11:46 am

      Johanna, that is a truly horrid heat story! You get the prize so far, today! Thanks for sharing!

  • Zo  On July 22, 2011 at 9:43 am

    I will have to try iced tea with almond extract. As I’ve mentioned, one of my favorite teas, almond sunset, was discontinued by celestial seasonings and I’ve never found the right replacement.
    Enjoy the hot weekend, Cathy!

  • Holly  On July 22, 2011 at 8:52 am

    A Few Good Men! I haven’t watched it in a long time, but I do remember liking it!

    The heat here is bad too — I like warm summers, but to me this is too much. I want to be able to enjoy being outside, not feeling like I’m about to burn within 5 minutes!

    Yay for Jersey Shore! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 22, 2011 at 11:48 am

      I watched a youtube preview for jersey shore-i’m hooked already! It’s going to be wild! And I heard they’ve signed on to do season 5 – back at the jersey shore.

  • Anonymous  On July 22, 2011 at 8:00 am

    A Few Good Men – of course! 🙂

    This heat – ugh – I’m visibly wilting (no blossoming here!) since ‘heat’ is NOT my natural habitat. It definitely makes me lethargic and uncomfortable. The hottest I’ve ever experienced? Hands down was my trip to see Wanda 6 years ago in Taiwan – we also visited Thailand and Cambodia. In August! We didn’t particularly watch the temps but suffice it to say that it was in the high 30’s all the time and they never report the temp with the humidity. I think it’s because the temps are too ridiculous to report. Let me say this… for the three weeks I was out there, I NEVER stopped sweating – I am not a fan of the sweating. I would shower, dry off and instantly be slick with sweat again. It’s a wonder I didn’t loose 10 lbs just from the sauna affect alone. Eep. Having said all that I did get used to (read: resigned) to it after a while. Sort of. When I came home I swore I wouldn’t complain of the heat again but this current weather has me recanting. I think you and Wanda were separated at birth – she LOVES the heat too!

    I remember that you guys had air just because it was such a novelty! What a relief it was to go in your house on hot days! 🙂

    I’m definitely going to try your mum’s iced tea recipe. This weather calls for good ice tea!

    PS – That dress from yesterday?

Leave a Reply

