Work That Look

I made a pleasant discovery over the weekend!…

file photo from sunday

My bangs are long enough to clip to one side!

So, there will be no more complaining about how I don’t like my haircut.

This bangs-to-the-side look is an oldie but a goodie:

holding the newborn brother, 1973

kindergarten school photo, 1975

christmas (?), age 6-ish (?)

And, you know what? I still have all those hair barrettes!

a colourful collection

a few favourites

the storage box is an old christmas card box!

I’ve been wearing these clips sporadically over the past few months…

file photo from june

…and have received a few comments from people who recognize them as being vintage 70s hair accessories.

I’m so  much happier just having these bangs out of my face! I feel like myself, again! Calling it now: I predict that this sideswept/matchy-barettes look is going to continue for the rest of 2011!

~*~*~*~*~

I made another discovery in the garbage room, a few days ago.

The wanna-be garage-saler is back!

the latest *donation* to the condo library - very funny that the sign is RIGHT in front of the bag, eh!

My first thought was, “how can I send this to Zo?!”

My second thought: I wonder what happened to the cat, that necessitated giving away the kittie-litter??…!!

~*~*~*~*~

What hairstyle suits you the best? I have not had a short/cropped hairstyle since Grade 10! One length, shoulder-length hair is my default mode.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Anonymous  On July 28, 2011 at 7:16 am

    I so remember all those barrettes – largely because I had them all too! I wonder if mum still has them? Hm. That was a great pix of you and your mum in the parking lot. 🙂

    I’ve had long short hair a couple of times but my fall back is a-little-longer-than shoulder length hair with long layers, no bangs (I blame a viscous cow-lick for my inability to rock the bangs) and some time with the magical hair thinning scissors so I don’t tip over from the weight of it all. In the winter it’s down for warmth, in the summer it’s up (messy bun/ponytail) so I can feel the breeze on my neck. I’ve tried many things but it’s the only thing that marries my natural hair-styling laziness and desire for comfort and nice(ish) looking hair. lol

  • Zo  On July 27, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    I wondered about the kitty too. I hope it was just a pickiness issue (yep, cats can not like a new litter!)
    I totally remember that blue floral barrette!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 27, 2011 at 8:39 pm

      zo, thanks to you, i am learning so much about cats! vertigo; food likes and dislikes – and i had no idea a kittie could be picky about his/her litter! that’s a riot! thanks for the FYI!

  • Dorry  On July 27, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    I love that you still have all of those hair barettes! With 2 older sisters, we had soooo many of those things lying around our house. 🙂 My hair is naturally very curly so long hair with some layers works best for me.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 27, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      I am envious that you have older sisters and that you have hair with some curl to it; I always wanted both of those, esp when I was little!

  • Gina Unger  On July 27, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Great look, Cath! Love that first picture of you! 🙂

  • Holly  On July 27, 2011 at 9:36 am

    I am jealous of your barrettes — I used to have some just like that. Now I just use a bobbi pin to hold my bangs back.

    Normally I keep my hair a little longer than shoulder length with a few layers — although right now it is closer to all one length. Every other year or so I chop it all off (up to my ears) which I like for a few weeks and then wish it was longer again. I would love to have long hair, but my hair seems to look really thin when it gets too long.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 27, 2011 at 10:18 am

      I totally get the long hair/short hair predicament!…I like the length you have now, holly, from the photos I’ve seen!

  • Johanna B  On July 27, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Love the barrette collection and the photo of you loving the teddy bear. Cute!!
    My mother always kept my hair short as a child and although I’ve had it very long as an adult, it’s mostly quite short now. Easier to take care of and much cooler in these awful temps. I’m getting it cut on Monday. Can’t wait.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 27, 2011 at 10:19 am

      Shorter is definitely cooler unless you go with the ponytail look!
      Enjoy the hair appt on monday – always nice to get a little pampered!

Leave a Reply

