i told you this would happen + celebrity encounter

so remember when my trusted green ipod (greenie) started acting up last week? and how i went to my worst favourite store ever future shop and got a replacement (silv-ah)?

well.

i completely called that one. i kid you not, ever since silv-ah entered the condo casa, greenie has pulled up his socks and is acting just fine. he hiccups once per use, then as soon as i shift his position (waistband to hand or hand to clipped-onto-shirt) he’s fine again.

so greenie is still in the rotation…

really do love that green shade!

…and silv-ah still sits on the dining room table:

hasn't moved an inch in a week

i’m not taking silv-ah back, though. i am very interested to see just how long greenie ipod will be stubborn and keep on truckin’. i’ll let ya know!

~*~*~*~*~

i realized you have not yet seen the new ikea couch all set up!

nothing fancy, but it's comfy and i like the clean/sleek/simple look

view from the kitchen, looking into the living room

house condo casa rules: no food or drink on the couch! no dirty fingers near the couch! of course, just wait ’til the little nieces are over…you know aunti has a hard time saying “no,” so all rules will likely be right out the window. thankfully, the couch cover and cushions are all machine-washable! and it’s not like it’s meant to be a museum piece. furniture – esp from ikea! – is for using!

i’ve tried out the couch already: one night this week, i flopped down with my laptop and enjoyed the latest jersey shore episode. the couch passes the comfort test! bet i could do a whole bethenny getting married marathon and not get uncomfortable!

~*~*~*~*~

yesterday’s ooooo-eeeeeee!!! moment of the day: you will not believe who i sold a pair of running shoes to at the store yesterday afternoon.

malcolm gladwell.

(source)

[here you say, “no way!” and then i say, “i know!!!!” and then i wave my hands around a bit in a frenzy of glee].

i’m really quite proud of myself because i remained professional and calm and intelligently answered mr gladwell’s shoe queries. see, normally in a situation such as this, i would want to squeal and jump around. however, i didn’t even let on that i recognized him  – although i knew who he was as soon as he entered the store – until after he purchased his shoes (brooks glycerin 9s, btw), then i serenely said, “thanks for coming in today. iamafanofyourworkandit’sapleasuretomeetyou.” i even refrained from asking for an autograph! i didn’t think it seemed professional since i was on the job and he was a customer and was acting all normal. but, what would you have done? autograph? photo, even? (i had my camera in my knapsack!!). i didn’t want him to think i was weird, so i stuck with my cool cat persona. [mr gladwell grew up in elmira, just outside of waterloo, so i assume he is here visiting family].

~*~*~*~*~

today’s random survey question: you can have EITHER cable tv or internet in your home. which do you choose? internet all the way, baby! i can watch many worthless shows – my current favourite type – online so that covers the tv-watching issue. and i do not do well without instant access to high-speed internet and my laptop – > emailing and blog-reading communication junkie that i am!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On September 9, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Okay, Cath! So… having been away for almost ALL of August, I am now slowly catching up on your blog posts. I can’t comment on every one, but I just have to say, “WOW!” about you selling shoes to Malcolm Gladwell! That is TOO cool! I cannot believe that you didn’t take a photo of you and him together – or of just him… any photo! I am shocked and dismayed! So, to answer your question, I would totally have pulled out my camera and also asked for an autograph, and gushed about his fab books. (I really have no shame.) 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 10, 2011 at 5:31 am

      can’t wait to catch up about your summer!! i TOTALLY wanted to take a photo and if i had not been “on shift,” i would have…or, we can chalk this one up to a missed opportunity!

  • Johanna B  On September 6, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Hands down – internet. Of course, at present, I have neither.

    I med Donald Sutherland when I worked for Barnes & Noble. Wow, he’s tall!!! I tried not to be “starstruck” when he came into my area of the store. Everyone in the store was staring at him. I wonder if you ever get used to that.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 6, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      Wow! Donald sutherland is pretty major! That is super cool…and he’s canadian!
      Yea, can you imagine being photographed and approached all the time?? Beyond my comprehension!

  • Andrea Budding  On September 4, 2011 at 4:58 am

    That is so exciting! I’ve never met any celebrities, although I DID see the back of Goldie Hawn’s head in NYC! (I’ll take what I can get 🙂 )

  • Zo  On September 3, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Internet all the way. I don’t watch as much tv anymore lately as it is…but I even got the iPhone because I wanted to have internet access ALWAYS!
    Very cool that you waited on Malcolm Gladwell.
    I agree with your decision to keep silvah…it’s clear that greenie is waiting for you to make the next move!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 3, 2011 at 10:12 am

      it really boggles my mind when i think back to 10-15 years ago and how different our lives were in regards to technology. here we are now with internet access ANYWHERE, thanks to iphones and blackberries. and to think it wasn’t all that long ago that we had massive computers and dial up internet! glad you’ve been so pleased with your iphone, zo!

  • Lisa  On September 3, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Greenie is just showing you that everything you own is really secretly alive (kind of like the toys in toy story!). I bet greenie and silv-ah are hanging out when you’re not around…

    In the gladwell situation, I would have done the same thing as you did. First because I’m a chicken, and second because I’ve gotten lectures from my cousin (the one who works in hollywood) about acting normal around celebrities — after she took her parents to brunch in LA, and her dad accosted Arnold Schwarzanegger (I know I butchered the spelling on that, but you get what I mean!), she will never take them anywhere (and that happened about 10 years ago). It’s different for her though—she works with celebs everyday—but I guess that means she sees all their flaws too, and she doesn’t think a lot of them are very impressive!

    I would have internet. In fact, we haven’t had cable tv in 3 years. However, we could pick up about 10 channels (bad local ones plus PBS and Ion) over the digital airways in our old place. Now we can’t get any, and Joe just scheduled installation of DirecTV (the dish is already on the house). I don’t know what we’re going to do with actual real TV channels! I can’t believe I am going to be able to watch MTV again!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 3, 2011 at 8:51 am

      lisa, you know what your first mtv show must be….jersey shore!!!!! 🙂 that is cool that you went three years with no cable. it’s a nice entertainment option, but shows there are a lot of other fun things we can do with our time, too! i love hearing your stories of your cousin. thanks for sharing about your dad + arnold – > now THAT would have been funny to see! i thought i better play it cool so that mr gladwell would not want to avoid the store in the future! enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

