new experience #27: write a wordless blog post

there is no question that i fit the name chatty cathy. i love to talk!

(source)

(source)

i never had one of these dolls, but i did have a cathy paper doll…

no, i don't still play with it! it's in storage for the nieces' visits!

anyway! blogging is like talking, to me. my favourite part about having a blog is doing the writing – that’s why i’ve never done a “wordless wednesday” or photo-only entry, before. i usually add in pictures solely as enhancements to the written words – i’m no photography pro, and really have minimal interest in setting up *artistic* or high-quality snapshots.

so, yesterday’s post was an exercise in restraint. [it was also completely coincidental that i did the photo-only post on a wednesday – “wordless wednesday” was honestly not my intent!] i really wanted to add in commentary to explain the featured photos! today, then, i’m going to show you yesterday’s photos again, and add in what i wanted to say. see, we need two days for this new experience because to make a completely and genuinely wordless post, i couldn’t even put in a written title yesterday, right?! [the other option for a blog-related new experience was to post three times in one day, but i didn’t want y’all to disown me, so i ditched that idea].

the photo series was shot on sunday of this past weekend – it was a good day to capture a variety of scenes.

the condo building mystery garage sale-wanna-be was at it again! i first saw the magnets and the virgin mary statue very early sunday morning, then i came back later with my camera. the dichotomy between the pro-gay magnets and the statue was not lost on me. also: these items are not books!!! the lending library is not the spot to ditch tacky memorabilia!! stop it, people!

this is the tide-me-over project until the knitter’s fair in…two sleeps! i’m using the leftover yarn from april’s sweater and the rainbow yarn from finland, via sil ana. don’t worry if you’re thinking déjà vu – yes, i tried to whip up a little sweater back in the spring, and it just didn’t come together. now, i’m trying again and it is coming together! i think i have enough wool to make matching sweaters for two year old twins!

i got the latest grand magazine this week (it’s delivered free to our building), and read it during lulls at the store on sunday. one article, in particular, really intrigued me: it’s a profile on k-w independent retailers/entrepreneurs, and features a number of store owners whom i either know or know of. the business side of retail really intrigues me, and i enjoyed this feature.

b completed his first 10 km run ever on sunday! here he is with my manager, paul, and michael. they all ran the 10 k together. now, this is the funny part of this story: michael’s mom reads the blog (hi, brenda!) so we all thought it would be a hoot that she wouldn’t know about the photo. then – surprise! – there’s michael on my blog!

i am absolutely addicted to my jersey shore tshirt. seriously, it’s a situation. and it’s befitting that for some reason, i can’t put down tori spelling’s autobiography. it’s not that well written, but very gossip-y, and i am ashamed to admit that the girl with the dragon tattoo will have to wait until i finish my visit with tori.

we have two universities in waterloo, just down the avenue from each other, separated by only a couple of kilometres. labour day weekend = move-in weekend, and the city is absolutely flooded with wide-eyed frosh and helicopter parents. on labour day itself, you do not want to go anywhere near university avenue as it’s a serious traffic jam, with cops directing traffic and everything.

i drank perrier – not coffee!! – in the afternoon when i met up with…

…mom and dad at the mall!

the condo casa got some badly-needed deep cleaning. we set up the big ladder, and wiped off the upper ledges and tall windows; i vacuumed the fan blades, and the appliances got moved for the first time in seven years. so now you know what seven years of dust accumulation looks like – ick!

i know it appears that i have an obsession with cats!

file photo: august tshirt purchase from delirium

that’s why cat paraphernalia makes me giggle – because i don’t like cats so much. so, yes, i swiped the cat magnet from the “lending library” magnet collection, and it now is magnetizing away on the side of my fridge.

i chose the cat magnet as the final photo in my series because you always want to end your day with a smile on your face!

how often do you clean the hard-to-reach places in your abode? i’m pretty lax on doing jobs that require ladders, standing and reaching to awkward places, and which take more than 5 minutes to do!

bloggers: do you prefer to take photos or write? give me words to play with, thank you!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On September 8, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    I love your new experiences! I love to take photos and write – it depends on my mood, I guess, whether or not a post gets wordy. It’s nice to switch things up, but captions are always nice…it’s hard for me to resist at least captioning my photos. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 9, 2011 at 6:42 am

      your photography skills amaze me, dorry! your photos are full of light, colour, clarity and FUN! so glad you have your wonderful collection of travel pics!

  • Johanna  On September 8, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    Cathy Quick-Curl! I REMEMBER HER! 🙂
    I wish I could still lay hands on all of mine. Remember when we used to make our own complete with multiple outfits?
    Aaaah… good times. 🙂
    Cleaning hard to reach places? Um. No comment (which is probably comment enough!). 😛

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 8, 2011 at 9:50 pm

      oh, i DO remember making our own paper dolls! we were quite the fashion designers!! i know, i know – you have ZERO hard to reach places so your place is clean as a whistle everywhere, right?! 😉

  • LisaLisa  On September 8, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    I think it’s really funny that you did wordless wednesday and then told the story the next day! I love it! If that’s not a sign of being chatty cathy, then I don’t know what is 🙂

    I don’t clean hard to reach places very often. My mom is queen of that stuff. I enjoy it when she comes over because I can hand her a dust cloth and she goes to town…

    I am not only bad at picture taking, but I really don’t like to do it! If I could just not put pics in my blog, I’d be happy. But I realize that pics do help get across messages and also enhance what I’m writing…I guess I won’t quit. Although I milked the “I moved and lost my camera charger” for way longer than I really needed to (I just didn’t bother looking for it!)
    Hope you’re staying dry! NY state is pretty much flooded…not where I am, but it’s causing all kinds of problems with roads closing….

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 8, 2011 at 6:24 pm

      …and now mom doesn’t have far to go to help you out with cleaning! that is fun that she is a willing *cleaning woman!* (my dad is very good about doing chores for us all, too! he’s a mr fix it!). glad we’re in the same boat re photos! sorry to hear about your rain…we are dry but it’s still pretty cool!

  • Brenda  On September 8, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    I had a chatty cathy with brown hair, and yes, it was a surprise to see Michael in yesterday’s blog. 🙂
    ps: I really liked the small footstool/ladder composition/photo, quite the difference in sizing and colour.

  • Holly  On September 8, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    I like the mix of photos and text — I liked your post yesterday but it is better with the explanations!

    The hard to reach places — hmmm — I don’t clean them very often! Just last week I used a broom to sweep along the sides of the fridge — I was pretty grossed out by what I found, yuck!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 8, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      i don’t think i’ll be doing a wordless post again any time soon! not my thing! isn’t it funny – we consider ourselves to be clean housekeepers, but places we don’t look at every day can get pretty grungy! glad you got the side of your fridge cleaned up!

  • Johanna B  On September 8, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I recently cleaned the spider webs off the ceiling of my bedroom. I’ve been in this house for four years and it’s the first time for that particular job.

    I wish I had a camera. Right now I prefer to write since I can’t take photos.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 8, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      haha, speaking of looking up at the ceiling – just this morning i looked up and realized the light fixture on the bedroom ceiling has dead bugs sitting in it! i see another job to do! hope you can get a camera soon, johanna!

  • Zo  On September 8, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Yeah, right! You totally love cats. Admit it!
    Great new experience idea. I definitely prefer the writing/chatting aspects, but I enjoy the fact that I now take more random photos and realize I can add them to a post.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 8, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      yes – sometimes the right photo can spur a whole blog post! i love when that happens! your blog post today is a great example of “seizing the blogging moment by photo!” i still have times where i go, “shoot! why did i not take a photo of that? would have been perfect for the blog!”

  • The Orchard  On September 8, 2011 at 11:14 am

    I don’t get to those hard-to-reach places very often, but when I do I have such a feeling of satisfaction. Sad, I know.

    I like both writing and taking photos. Often I just do photos with few words because I know that my family in BC wants to see lots of photos of the kids. They don’t care so much about what I write! 🙂

    Do you work tomorrow? I am in desperate need of new shoes so you might see me in the store in the morning!

    T

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 8, 2011 at 11:31 am

      oh yes, family (esp grandparents!) love to see photos, don’t they! good point! tomorrow is my first shift at the kitchener store so i am there during the day. but i would love to see you! maybe another time?!

Leave a Reply

