!coffeeeeeee-…!

bwah ha ha! did i manage to trick you with that title? did you think you were going to see me with a huge smile and a steaming cuppa joe in hand?

as close as i'm getting to coffee in a mug, i tell ya

sorry to disappoint.

but what i have to share with you today will not disappoint!

remember last week when we enjoyed family day in waterloo? well, that coffee cake that mom made for our mid-morning snack was too good to keep secret. how good was it, you ask? well, six adults and two kidlets managed to demolish the entire 9×9″ pan in one sitting. and remember: it was snack time!

mmmm...want a slice?

i asked mom if she would mind giving us the recipe, and she has kindly obliged.

this recipe is ancient! in mom’s own words…

The recipe comes from a Betty Crocker cookbook that I bought in 1958 (I was in Grade 11) when it was offered to all of us girls in what was then called Home Economics class.  I remember the teacher assigning each of us to try a recipe from the book and bring it for a taste-test to class,  but I don’t remember what recipe I made back then.

That cookbook greatly enhanced my baking and cooking abilities as a young bride and homemaker a few years later.  I think that the first time I made the coffee cake was when Grandma and Grandpa C came over to visit us in our first apartment on Becker Street in Kitchener shortly after Dad and I were married.”
[i kept in the caps because mom does not write in all lower case, like some people…]
Streusel-Filled Coffee Cake
Mix thoroughly:
3/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup soft shortening
1 egg
Stir in:
1/2 cup milk
Blend together with a fork or whisk and then stir in:
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
Spread half of the batter in a well-greased 9” square pan.
Sprinkle with half of Streusel Mixture:
1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
2 Tblsp flour
2 tsp cinnamon
2 Tblsp butter, melted
1/2 cup chopped nuts
Add the remaining batter and then sprinkle remaining Streusel over top.
Bake 375F for 30 minutes or until toothpick stuck into centre of cake comes out clean.
Serve fresh and warm from the oven.
[i wonder if it’s possible to make this in a bundt pan? i ♥ bundt pan-shaped coffee cake!]
anyway, if you make this coffee cake, i bet you won’t be needing to wonder what to do with left-overs. it’ll be a hit with multi-generations!

coffee cake: yes or no, and at what time of day? mom also reminded me that i lovvvved blueberry buckle, as a kid. that is true! also, i luuuuvvved when our supper meal was a coffee cake, blueberry buckle or johnny cake. i’ve never been a big meat fan, so a carb-heavy dinner was right up my alley!

~*~*~*~*~

i’m off to theOTHERstore for my first shift today! whooowheeee! it feels like the first day of school!

happy almost-the-weekend, everyone!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On September 9, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Love coffee cake, especially when it’s loaded with streusel (the best part) ( hmmm, that’s giving me an ideeeeeeeea). Also like the idea of cake that specifically goes with coffee, so it’s fine to eat in the morning!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 9, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      do i see some baking in your weekend, maybe, zo?!!! i could totally pick off only the streusel part. just like i’d take solely the icing on birthday cake, too!

  • Holly  On September 9, 2011 at 9:36 am

    I love coffee cake anytime of day! I don’t think I’ve ever made it myself — it always comes premade from the store or from a box. I love the crumbly top — that is my favorite part!

    Have fun at the other store 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 9, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Thanks, holly!
      I agree – crumbly topping is the best!! And the layer in the middle, too!

  • Lisa  On September 9, 2011 at 9:04 am

    My family has a “thing” for coffee cake too (well, and coffee!). My grandparents traditionally would come to our house after church every sunday (they went, we didn’t) for coffee cake and coffee. To this day, my mom still makes coffee cake (Matthew helps now) and takes it to my grandparents sometimes on Sundays.
    Really though, coffee cake is freakin’ awesome! I used to sneak cool whip on mine 🙂

    I’ll drink coffee for you today!

    Have a great first shift in the other store!!
    Happy weekend 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 9, 2011 at 9:27 am

      thanks, lisa, and enjoy the coffee! my dad would be right with you on the cool whip! 🙂 have a great weekend!

  • Johanna B  On September 9, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I just went online and looked for a good gluten-free coffee cake recipe thanks to the photo and recipe in this post. Coffee cake is one of the things I miss (even more than pizza). I found when and now when I get an oven I can make some.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 9, 2011 at 9:28 am

      i hope you can find a recipe! to my mind, the best part is the brown sugar and cinnamon in coffee cakes! make sure your recipe has those ingredients! 🙂

Leave a Reply

