all’s fair in love and knitting

let me get started with my closing remarks about the knitter’s fair:

mom and i had an absolutely fantast-ico day. i think we say that every year.

that’s really all you need to know. but, of course, i have more to say and show you!

mom and i met up for our september outing of the month promptly at 9:30 a.m on saturday.

i don’t care if it’s 100 degrees outside, i have to wear one of my handknits every year to the knitter’s fair:

i balanced off the sweater with shorts! didn't wanna boil!

princess diana made this pattern famous in the early ’80s. this was my first effort (i was in my teens) at a pictorial sweater and at changing colours. it’s still one of my favourites.

this year, the weather was divine:

summer returned with a bang on saturday, after going mia all week

over to bingeman’s we drove.

turn here! turn here!!

mom and i played “remember how i always can’t find the entrance and we drive past and have to turn around???” this year, we got it, first try. [sidenote: this knitter’s fair is h-u-g-e. people travel overnight, by bus, from other time zones, practically, to attend. we squeal because we drive eight minutes and we’re there!].

let's go, let's go, let's really go!

just to give you and idea of the shopping options…

this map shows ONE HALF of the booths and vendors at the show

we followed our usual method: enter the room, turn LEFT – not right, no never – go around the outside, then circle the inner aisles.

vendors come from all over, too:

residents of ontario will get the "it's worth the drive to acton" slogan - but isn't this outright stealing from the olde hide house??!

all the way from ottawa (5 hours away). aren't knitters punny?!

usually, we take a tour before we start to purchase. that rule is broken, however, if you see a deal that may disappear.

mom quickly found a bargain for her project linus projects!

i’m not one to post artistic photos. but i see beauty in colourful yarns:

hanging skeins

socks as art

”]”]my nemesis!

i made thrum mittens ONCE and never again. that and knitted dolls/stuffed animals

knitting humour:

cutesy-poo, eh?!

i thought these were funny, anyway!!

mom also picked up a stocking stuffer for me at this stall. i shall be *very surprised* on christmas morning, wink, wink!

haha!

i was looking for one ball of noro “sekku” sock yarn so that i can make another baby blanket similar to this project. found it! and at 15% off!

don't mind my crazed expression; i get a little excitable on this day

can you get drunk on yarn fumes?!

i will now be able to make the lace extravaganza blanket that i envision in my head:

talk about variegated colour!

the exits are closely guarded at this event:

not your typical security guard!

at about this point, mom and i were laughing our heads off because every man we saw looked like he had just had a root canal. check out this series…

a newspaper and briefcase to pass the time...

i've lost my wife in the wild jungles of alpaca and bamboo...

i better get a homemade pie for this (oops, that's what my dad would be saying!...)

any more purchases and i'm going to need another arm...

whew! mom and i needed a break. we made a trip out to the rav to dump off our bags, and then collapsed into chairs settled down for a spot of lunch:

yes, my lunch tote is an easter bag. twelve months of the year. gift from mom about nine easters ago!

revitalized, we went back for round two, also known as spendspendspendyourmoney.

mom picked up some super cute gift cards - and knitting-themed lunch napkins!

can't tell ya what i got! hint: aunti loves to knit for the nieces!...

look who we met!

brenda!

a photo with brenda is becoming an annual tradition, too! (this is the brenda i referenced last week!).

the coup of the day: i found a kit that i can make for a donation to the mcc relief sale quilt auction for either 2012 or 2013 (will depend on time). this will be my fourth contribution!

a classic log cabin design; but i love the modern colours against the striking black background

mom generously and kindly purchased the kit, and i will do the knitting.

all yarn needed is in that bag - and that's an emory board flower on top!

the kit comes from passionknit on yonge street in toronto. the two women working the booth were super-friendly and helpful. wish i lived closer to passionknit!

here’s our unofficial 2011 trend report: what is big in terms of fashion: shawls, shrugs, and jackets in multi-coloured hues and natural fibres. in terms of the fair itself, we noticed a resurgence in bargain priced yarn. that’s good for us!

yellow for mom, orange for me. three giant balls at $3 EACH cannot be ignored!

time to stagger out to the rav...where's a valet when you need one?!

so, as a final tally, i now have FIVE new projects in the knitting queue. that should keep me out of mischief.

mom and i exited the knitter’s fair with happy hearts and empty wallets and fairly bubbling over with enthusiasm for our new projects. as i stated at the top, what a fabulous day!

at what venue would we capture a photo of you looking completely bored out of your mind and disinterested? my eyes glaze over as soon as i enter a museum. or any site of historical significance.

conversely, what place makes your eyes dance out of your head? shopping malls in the u.s. excite me to no end!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • karen at virtually there  On September 12, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I’m drooling at all those beautiful yarns… and the projects you picked up. I have to check out that Ottawa yarn store… I thought I knew them all!

    I really like exhibitions – agricultural etc, especially if there are giant vegetables. I also LOVE farmers’ markets. I get extremely glazed over with stuff like boat shows or “engine” shows… my dad dragged me to too many of those as a kid. Cue snoring.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 12, 2011 at 7:54 pm

      karen, i thought of you when i saw that yarn shop from ottawa! let me know if you ever get over there! you must be very happy that we are in fall fair season! i think i remember there was a pumpkin fest you loved?!! oh gosh, a boat show would be a real bore!!!

  • Gina Unger  On September 12, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Sounds like it was a terrific day! I love that picture of the colour blocks on black (quilt) – but you’re going to KNIT the quilt?!?! I’ve never heard of that before! Venues that make me very excited: homemade stuff (i.e. food; crafts or ALL kinds) and race expos! I have such a blast going through all the booths prior to Jeff’s (and now my own) running races and picking up free stuff! Boring? I’m with you on museums. When Jeff and I went to Europe we dubbed ourselves “superficial tourists” for the lack of time we spent in any sort of museum, etc. or capital city (i.e. we were in Rome for less than 24 hours)!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 12, 2011 at 4:40 pm

      haha! i love that you and jeff went to europe and DID NOT make museums a priority!! i’m going to remember that! oh – have you ever gone to one of a kind craft show in toronto? unbelieveable. you would LOVE IT! the knitting for mcc is going to be a knitted blanket – not a quilt like a quilted quilt (make sense?!). i avoid calling the blankets “afghans” because that sounds like a granny thing made with hideous colours! hopefully this project will be “knitting as art!”

  • Lisa  On September 12, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Looks and sounds like a great time! And a fun outing with mom–that always makes it better when you can share with someone else who is excited about it!
    I am the same way about museums….I just don’t care! I’ve tried to be interested, and I’ve pretended to be interested…but bleh. Instant sleepiness when I go to a museum!
    I love going to the mall (when I have time and when I don’t have a specific thing I’m looking to buy). I can browse, try on…splurge, and then reflect on my purchases at Starbucks 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 12, 2011 at 4:09 pm

      oh, i get you on the reflection after the shopping! my thing is to come home, and spread everything out on my table! if mom and i go shopping to the mall, we stop afterwards at a coffee shop for a post-shopping reflection time! glad to hear i’m not the only one who finds museums a snore-fest! hope you get out with your mom very soon!

  • Zo  On September 12, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    I find live music in restaurants makes me uncomfortable/ bored because I never know how to behave (like I shouldn’t talk to the people I came with because we’re supposed to be listening?).
    The pictures of those men are priceless!
    What an amazing event. I knit the very occasional scarf and can see how I’d end up spending a ton there!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 12, 2011 at 1:02 pm

      ooo, i like that music example, zo! so true – are you disrespectful to the musicians if you converse, or are you a lacking socializer if you sit silently and listen?! the options for unique yarns that would make gorgeous scarves were endless! scarves are great: easy to do and people love to receive them. i’m glad that i actually remembered to take photos of the bored men! my blogging instincts are improving!

  • Dorry  On September 12, 2011 at 11:01 am

    I love that you and your mom can enjoy this day together! I’m sure it’s all very exciting. I love running expos and health food stores (with samples, please!). 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 12, 2011 at 11:10 am

      Thanks, dorry!
      Running expos are the best – except it’s so tempting to spend a lot of money!! But sometimes the deals can’t be beat!
      have a fantastic anniversary day with billy!!!

  • Holly  On September 12, 2011 at 9:27 am

    You got some great deals! And I love the quilt you will make to donate — I love the colors!

    The guys being bored crack me up — reminds me of how my dad looked when he came to our school plays. My mom was always so excited but my dad looked like he could have fallen asleep 🙂

    I’m super bored with technology/computer stuff. I don’t understand it and therefore I am bored!

    I get super happy and excited at furniture/home decor stores — smelling candles, looking at pillows, rugs, dishes, etc!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 12, 2011 at 10:09 am

      your retail days at pier 1 days were just perfect for you, holly! oh – i do not get technology, either. it totally frustrates me because i get so lost! (if i ever get an iphone, someone is going to have to set it up for me, for sure!). that’s too funny about your dad…he must be glad those days are over! 🙂

Leave a Reply

