driving the aunti taxi

now that we’re back into the fall routines, and now that i have a set 40 hour per week work schedule, we’ve been able to resume our regular aunti days once per week, on wednesdays!

some background for you: when little e was one year old, sil ana returned to work. i took care of e three days per week from that time, until cutie c was born almost two years later. i hold such fond memories in my heart of that life chapter! not many aunties get the chance to spend all day, three days a week, with their darling nieces, and i so appreciate the bonding time that little e and i enjoyed. [sidenote: i know i said that the girls needed new blog names; however, little e just flows off my tongue my fingers so nicely…so for now, i’m going to stick with the nicknames little e and cutie c].

and now, aunti gets a second opportunity to help out with little e! on wednesdays, i will be the aunti taxi, and will help with the chauffeuring of little e, and also with meeting her school bus at the end of her day.

behind the wheel of the aunti shuttle!

this week, the brother worked from home so that he could show me the ropes in terms of routes, timing, pick up spots, etc. next week, i’ll go solo! i’m genuinely thrilled that wednesdays will feature this routine. children are young for such a short period of time, when you think of it, and i’m eager to lap up every moment with the nieces that i can.

the little passenger!

~*~*~*~*~

little e’s room is getting a makeover!

carpet out, replaced by cork flooring in a butcher block pattern...

fresh paint on the walls (a purpl-ish/grey shade)...

...applied by grandpa and the brother! (g'pa is a painting master!!)

a new bed unit goes in this coming week. i’ll see if i can show you the finished room in a few weeks. sarah richardson would be impressed!…

a sneak peak at some decorating bling for the new room!

~*~*~*~*~

i had a chance to check out celebrity chef lynne crawford‘s petit marché:

it’s like a mini vincenzo‘s, but a bit more precious:

fresh produce baskets...

dishware...

exotic condiments - i've never heard of caramelized onion mustard!

a demo kitchen...

**item for my xmas list!!** (i have a weakness for recyclable totes)

of course, lynne herself was not there (maybe she’s catering for tiff?!)…

...but the flatscreen tv over the door was playing one of her foodnetwork shows!

so much fun to explore in the ‘hood again – i’ve missed that!

~*~*~*~*~

i had to snap a photo of the brother’s tshirt:

the brother's pithy tshirt collection rivals my vintage one!

…and tangenting forward with another funny caption:

as seen at fearless heart yoga - that's the box where we keep our membership passes

~*~*~*~*~

how did you get to and from school when you were little? we walked – it was about 15 minutes from home to school (going at child pace) and we also came home for lunch, so we walked the same route four times per day. i never took a bus – of the school or public variety – ever, in my entire school career! also, since it was the 70s, we walked by ourselves (it was me, the brother, vfbf joanne and her sister wanda who trekked along together). nowadays, the parents i see in my ‘hood always accompany their kidlets – and rightly so!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Julie  On September 17, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    Ooh, but I should add that your nieces are sooooo fortunate to get their auntie time. Plus, I did not take a bus in primary and I know with my own kids that I would be super paranoid if they were taking a bus…will they get off, what if they fall asleep???? It is a different era now.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 17, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      Such a fine balance between allowing kids freedom and yet protecting them…I always enjoy when you share stories from teaching now, julie – I’m out of the primary school loop!
      You lived really close to your grade school as a child!

  • Julie  On September 17, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I walked to school for primary — 7 minutes max. from my house. I think it is so good that my parents did not walk with me. I used to pretend I was Laura Ingalls and climb all the snowbanks. I would not have done that if I was accompanied…a loss of imaginary role play!! I think kids should be given more independence these days — parents are so paranoid!! I teach Grade 3 and I have parents walking their kids to the door of the classroom and hanging up their coats and school bags for them. As a result for the rest of the day, I have kids who can’t clean up after themselves. It takes me the entire school year to train them!! There is my rant of the day. 🙂
    For middle school and high school I took the bus or my Dad drove me.

  • Zo  On September 17, 2011 at 11:20 am

    I walked to elementary school, but had to take buses for middle and high school. I was lucky enough to get a car senior year, so I started driving.
    I definitely envy you your aunti time. Although it’s nice visiting my family in the UK, we miss out on constant contact.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 17, 2011 at 11:41 am

      I was so happy the last year of high school when my parents let me drive, too. Much better, wasn’t it!

Leave a Reply

