and thus endeth my yoga interlude

my yoga groupon at fearless heart yoga expired as of yesterday.

[i thought i better refrain from yet another snookie “wah” photo insert – enough already, agreed?!].

i attended 10-12 classes during my month-long membership. for $40, that works out to <$4 per class which is amazing. [if you pay-by-the-class, it’s about $20 per session at each of the local yoga studios].

as much as i have embraced, enthused over, become enraptured with, and enjoyed the yoga classes, i won’t be renewing my membership. my work schedule combined with the new fall class schedule at fearless heart don’t mesh too well. in the past two weeks, i have only attended one class per week (the 30 minute lunchtime express on tuesdays).

yesterday, i made it a priority to go to the 7:30 p.m. “yoga for non yogis” class. how very full-circle that my first yoga class this summer was also with instructor lindsay!

i seriously have offered to buy that madonna t from lindsay - love it!

me and lindsay before last night's class. it makes me laugh to wear my jersey shore t to yoga!

class was totally awesome. i exited with noodle-y hips and an upward-facing heart.

looking forward, however, i wouldn’t be able to attend thursday evenings on any sort of a regular basis: i work monday and tuesday eves, wednesdays i am in toronto. thursday, then, is really the best evening for getting together with friends.

up until the end of august, fearless heart offered a friday at 5:30 p.m. class and a sunday at 7:30 p.m. class – those worked nicely. but now since i work at theOTHERstore on fridays, i would not be back in waterloo in time for 5:30 p.m….so that would be a no-go, anyhow.

without a groupon deal, the monthly yoga pass is $90. [and fearless heart is the least expensive studio i have researched]. i just can’t justify spending that amount of money on 6-8 yoga classes per month – esp when the one i would go to consistently is only 30 minutes in length.

if you recall, one of my september goals was to spend time on my yoga mat at home. and i did! once!

yes, there are a few!

golly, yoga at home is so hard! i’m not inspired to bring out my mat (even with motivating tunes in the background – i’ve discovered i like a side of music with my yoga!), my mind wanders and i think about my to do list, and i just want to finish up. not good! not zen!

maybe a laughing buddha beside me would help??!

i’ve brainstormed some solutions. here’s what i have…and why they won’t work:

  • download free yoga workouts from itunes or free online sites: this form of yoga does not address my need for a social setting, and personal cuing from a real, live instructor
  • use my own yoga dvd (i have a david swenson one) or follow my david swenson book: see reasoning, above
  • make up my own routines: if i start small – tell myself i’m only spending 10 minutes on the mat, and do sun salutations and legs up the wall, for example, maybe i’ll have success?

here is an alternative solution i have come up with:

  • get a two week trial pass at moksha yoga ($30 introductory pass for two weeks of classes) [yes, i was not really get hyped after my first class, but i think this yoga deserves a couple more chances]
  • get a two week trial pass at bikram yoga ($30 for two weeks, unlimited) [the moksha and bikram studios offer more classes at more times during the day and evening than fearless heart]
  • use up the two passes i have accumulated for a free trial week at two local gyms that each offer yoga

haha, guess what…through the process of typing out my thoughts, i experienced an a-ha moment: if it’s important enough to me, i’ll make the yoga happen.

authored by a very respected and renowned yogi

any suggestions of ideas for me on how to keep yoga in my life (at least a teensy bit)?? i am all ears!

if you do yoga, what works for you? i’m still all ears!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Averie @ Love Veggies and Yoga  On September 23, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I think it’s awesome you gave yoga your best shot and enjoyed it while it lasted in the studio but just take what you learned and adapt for at-home based on time, interest, mood, your body that day, etc.

    “make up my own routines: if i start small – tell myself i’m only spending 10 minutes on the mat, and do sun salutations and legs up the wall, for example, maybe i’ll have success?”– yes you will!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 23, 2011 at 8:15 pm

      if ANYONE can provide tips for at-home yoga, it is YOU! you set a positive example to follow with your 20 minutes of yoga practice, at home, that you do so faithfully. thanks!

  • Ali  On September 23, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I’m going to Bikram today at 4:00. I love it, only have 2 visits left on my Groupon. Not sure that I would pay regular price because my schedule also makes it difficult. (Friday is my only rest day!) Also, it is expensive!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 23, 2011 at 9:51 am

      enjoy the class, ali!! yes, groupon would be the way to go for bikram – it IS expensive. at least you still have two more visits! too bad the introductory offer here in waterloo of two weeks for $30 is not the regular price!

  • Holly  On September 23, 2011 at 7:38 am

    I wouldn’t call what I do ‘yoga’ – it is more a glorified stretching session. I set my timer for 15 minutes (sometimes 10) and I keep going until the time is up. Sometimes I have the tv on (I probably should shut it off but I can’t help it!) and sometimes I stretch in silence. I also like to follow a workout dvd — it takes any thought out of it since I just follow what the person tells me to do.

    I’d love to find a studio close to me (for cheap obviously!) but that is probably not ever going to happen unless we move!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 23, 2011 at 8:34 am

      yes, i do understand “glorified stretching” – and some yoga is just like that. (just make sure you breathe deeply then you can call your stretching yoga – haha!). i like having someone tell me what to do, too. more relaxing and it’s nice not to think!

  • Lisa  On September 23, 2011 at 7:23 am

    I share many of the same feelings, especially about practicing at home (Which I think I might be getting better at. Well, not this week). My solution was to sign up for teacher training—there are assignments! So I have to practice yoga 4 days a week, practice teaching on whomever will let me, and observe 4 classes in the next two weeks. I can say for sure that I am not reaching those homework goals…yet. Ultimately, this will immerse me more in yoga—so I think maybe that is one thing to explore. What ways could make it “easier” or more of a priority to do yoga? Maybe goal-setting (like you are SO good at), or signing up for a small yoga workshop (around here there tend to be 2-3hr workshops once in a while). If you sign up for one a month in the future…maybe you’ll practice more leading up to it so you can get more out of it?
    I’ve also thought about finding a friend to practice with. But the few times I’ve arranged that, we end up talking and don’t do any yoga….
    I’ll be interested to see how this goes for you!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 23, 2011 at 8:33 am

      THANK YOU, lisa, for your ideas. i am so excited to hear more about your teacher training. i only wish i was close by – you could practice on me whenever!! i like the workshop suggestion – a special event type thing that would motivate me to practise at home, and then be fun to attend. good luck with YOUR yoga sessions, too!! and thanks again!

Leave a Reply

