silver is the new green

well, it’s official: greenie ipod has been retired:

...and irreverently dumped into my kitchen junk drawer

i got tired of playing psychological warfare. he was cranking out the tunes so nicely, then last week, ka-boom! his behaviour hit the crapper became simply unacceptable. instead of hiccuping once an hour, greenie would just stop suddenly, and completely refuse to restart despite my repeated jabs and stabs cajoling and coaxing.

hi-ho silver:

sleek and shiny and at the ready

so, reliable music is mine once again.

STOP!!!

what you have just read, i pre-wrote. [yes, i do some of that; spilling my blogging secrets, here].

you won’t believe what happens next!…

the second time i used silver – this weekend – he stopped dead in his tracks mid-lady gaga. wtf?? seriously, man, WTF??!!

i plugged silver in to my laptop to recharge.

nothing.

no connection light on silver, no connection in itunes.

great, just GREAT!!, i thought.

you already know that i am completely unskilled with technology. so, i tried a few unscientific fixes (ie more jabs and stabs) and got nowhere.

next part of the story: yesterday afternoon, then, i careened drove up here:

at least it was a sunny day for a drive

i do not enjoy future shop.

i am changing my tune. (punny!)

long story short, i was in and out of future shop in < 5 minutes. i received superb customer service from a techno wizard child. i told the associate straight up that i wasn’t sure if the ipod was the prob or me or my computer. he plugged in silver: no issues! silver lit up like a christmas light. the guy who assisted me gave me a few very helpful tips. for example, i found out that with every ipod i have owned, i’ve been disconnecting it from my computer incorrectly. [ya think that’s why they all’ve had such short lives?]. i’ve just been yanking out the plug-in cord thing.

no.

what i am supposed to do is click on the eject symbol…

that's the arrow-up thing on the left side, beside the name with which i customized silver...

and then pull it out.

oops.

i scurried home, held my breath, plugged in silver…and he worked!!

oh, happy day.

so now that is two positive customer experiences at future shop.

and i am officially…

(source)

BACK TO ORIGINAL TRANSCRIPT!

there are a few changes with this new ipod. this was the cord-thingy with which i attached greenie to my laptop:

now that i think about it, why DID it need to be so long??!

compare that to silver’s power requirements!

like, it's maybe an inch long??!

i’m still figuring out how to marry itunes with the new ipod – itunes pops up differently with silver. i haven’t yet deduced how to customize a play list – i used to just drag ‘n’ drop songs if i wanted to make a new, random assortment from my set playlists. i would think that has to still be an option??

also, the songs seem to be playing just a tiny bit slower on the new ipod…like barely noticeable, yet still obvious to my ear. [i used to teach aerobics and bpm’s – beats per minute – are ingrained in my head]. itunes needs a speed-up function! i don’t want to create alvin and the chipmunks sounds, but i like my songs to sound like they’re jacked up on caffeine.

i’ll be interested to see how long silver lasts – now that i know how to de-connect him properly! i’ve got another ipod on my xmas list, just in case. three months isn’t asking too much of silver, is it? just depends if he develops an ornery streak like ol’ greenie!

your opinion of future shop? i hearby declare i will swear off badmouthing this electronics behemoth now and forever more.

do you have a junk drawer or a “dumping space”? i consider myself neat and organized. however, this one drawer in my kitchen is the recipient of anything i don’t really know what to do with. i think it’s genetic: growing up, my dad’s top drawer of his dresser in the bedroom was a complete mess! so unlike dad!

~*~*~*~*~

fall beauty

we must all have paid our taxes on time, in our condo building – look what the city has done to our street!

beautiful pots of mums - perfect for fall!

aren’t they gorgeous?

i'm not usually a fan of mums - except my mum, haha! - but these are delightful!

and look carefully at the planters:

the view back up the street...

those are the old seagram barrels! what a wonderful way to integrate them back into the neighbourhood!


Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On September 26, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    We don’t have a future shop here, but I’m glad you learned more about how to use your iPod – I’m NOT good with iPods, but mine is somehow still trucking on after several years. Those flowers are gorgeous!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 26, 2011 at 1:18 pm

      glad you’ve had luck with you ipod, dorry! you must treat it with love and respect! 🙂 your photos are always so vibrant – i would love to see how YOUR photos of these flowers would look!

  • Johanna B  On September 26, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    The pot with the big yellow mums looks like the one on my porch. They’re blooming so nicely right now. I love stepping out to a splash of yellow.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 26, 2011 at 12:11 pm

      you know, i thought of you, johanna, when i was taking these pictures because you had JUST commented about your own mums and how lovely they were!

  • Zo  On September 26, 2011 at 10:42 am

    I wish I only had one space for junk.
    Glad silver was able to recover, weird about the slower pace though!
    Speaking of major malfunctions, Cathy, I accidentally deleted your comment on my movie post (on my iPhone). I was reading it and put my finger in the wrong place and you were gone! Sorry and I’ll see if I can rescue you later!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 26, 2011 at 11:08 am

      Haha, that is funny about the comment erasing…glad I’m not alone with my gaffes! I’ll check back and see if I can be “restored!” I didn’t say anything that profound, anyway!

  • The Orchard  On September 26, 2011 at 8:05 am

    I am the same when it comes to technology. Thank goodness my hubby is a whiz with stuff like that so I just leave it up to him.

    Hey! You beat me to it! I noticed those amazing planters the other day (have they been there in previous years?) and just knew that I wanted to take a photo and put on my blog! I have walked by there a few times in the past few days but each time I didn’t have my camera (horror!). They look beautiful, don’t they!

    Have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 26, 2011 at 8:40 am

      oh you are lucky that jeff is able to assist you! that is very helpful! i think the planters are new this year…they are just amazing, arent’ they. well, i posted the “fence as art” after i saw your blog post, so now when you show the planters we’ll be even with our back and forth!

  • Lisa  On September 26, 2011 at 7:08 am

    The iPod story is so funny…well, in the way that those things take up so much time to figure out—I have an mp3 player (that I’m waiting for to die so I can buy an ipod….but it just keeps going…), and can’t sync it with itunes. So I have to do a work-around to get music from my computer to the mp3 player. It’s slightly irritating.
    I seem to have periodic issues with syncing my ipad with itunes…and like you, I’m completely unsure as to whether it’s the technology or the operator causing the issue!
    We don’t have future shop here, but instead we have Best Buy. I hate/love that place! They are good at what they do, but I still don’t like going there!
    I have a junk basket (due to no extra drawers), but my family has always had a junk drawer in the kitchen—I have no idea where else all those odds and ends would go!
    Fall is definitely in the air! (I’m just happy the air is still relatively warm!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 26, 2011 at 7:38 am

      just send me your mp3 player, lisa – i can likely kill it in less than 2 weeks… 🙂 a junk basket is good – more space! and yes, totally – a junk space is a necessity for those “i may need this so i better keep it…but where??” items! the leaves are turning here…it’s fall! but i wore shorts all weekend, so as long as the warmth stays, i am with you that fall is ok!

Trackbacks

  • By minor triumph and cakedom « striving cynic on September 28, 2011 at 9:49 am

    […] if I could do it on the phone, so I did the next best thing…went to Cathy’s blog and ‘fessed up that I’d deleted her but hoped to retrieve her. She was (as always) gracious and […]

Leave a Reply

