oh, who are the people in theOTHERstore’hood?

i am having a BLAST working at the store and theOTHERstore. it is so cool because i am doing the same job yet because i am at two different locations, there is great variety in atmosphere. already, i’ve noticed some significant differences in clientele and traffic flow. for example: at the store, it is rare to get any many customers after 6:30 or 7 p.m. in the evening. at theOTHERstore, it is nothing to be steady-busy between 8-9 p.m., when we close. i chalk up this pattern to store location: uptown waterloo is pretty quiet on a weekday eve, whereas theOTHERstore is located on a main thoroughfare – it’s easy for people to pop in while driving home or while completing other errands at nearby retailers.

so, about theOTHERstore: it’s located in a strip mall, and is anchored at one end by mark’s work wearhouse.

they've taken the "work wearhouse" out of their name - image reinvention efforts, i believe!

mark’s recently moved over from the opposite end of the mall (more on that in a second) and is now located where movie theatres used to be! yup, they ripped down the cineplex and built a huge mark’s. weird.

and now – about the other end of the mall. full circle story: a long time ago, it housed drug world, a huge (obviously) drug and food store (this was in the days before shopper’s carried groceries). what is special about drug world? it is where the brother worked his first part-time job! and now i am in the same mall. neat, eh?!

in the past few weeks, i had noticed renovations being carried out in the ex-ex-drug world, ex-mark’s work wearhouse store. then, last week, this sign was up:

uh oh - i am in trouble, part 2!!

[part 1 is the fact that i now enjoy such easy access to fairview park mall – the site of my outing of the month with mom in july].

now, michaels waterloo is just a 15 minute walk from home. but soon…i will be 100 feet from the best craft selection in the universe!! i hope they open in time for me to get the supplies i need for a planned  new experience, the xmas edition. [remember: never shop at michael’s without googling for a 40% off one item coupon. i get the michael’s weekly email and it always has a coupon, too].

so: theOTHERstore is between mark’s work wearhouse at one end and the soon-to-be michael’s at the other end. here are a few more neighbours:

whew - not much else is a huge temptation

[what really makes me laugh is the fact that the dr bernstein diet clinic is right beside theOTHERstore. hmmmm, let’s see, you can get healthy by walking and running and being fit, or by getting expensive injections and eating one chicken wing per day…!].

and get this! across the street, there is none other than…

  • winners
  • pier 1 imports (see the sign poking through at the bottom of the photo, above?!)
  • starbucks
  • homesense

i am in trouble, part 3!

(source)

what type of ‘hood do you work in? i should add that in terms of running routes, i believe the store has nicer options – theOTHERstore is a bit more limited for scenic routes within close proximity.

what store spells D-A-N-G-E-R to you? me: the ones i work in!

i'm still resisting!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On September 29, 2011 at 11:42 am

    I think it’s fun that you can work at both locations – mixes things up! We have another lululemon in Dallas, and there are opportunities to pick up shifts there, but I haven’t been able to take any of them yet…maybe one day! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 29, 2011 at 11:54 am

      it feels like two different jobs! except the skillset is the same which is super nice! maybe you’ll get to another lulu some time…i’d love to see what you think of retailing in two different locations!

  • Zo  On September 28, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    There isn’t too much interesting near where I work now, but I used to work within a 10 minute’s drive of several malls. It was great for holiday shopping. I’d just go during the week on my lunch break.
    I can always spend money in a book store or cosmetics store!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 28, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      yes, cosmetics!! i don’t talk about makeup that much, but it is something that i could really get into/go to town on if i let myself! do you have sephora near you? dangerous place!! or even department stores…. yes – holiday shopping is MUCH better if you can avoid weekends! we will be doing that not too long from now!…

  • Karen  On September 28, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Oh, one other major temptation in the drug world plaza for me is Ben Than. If you haven’t eaten there yet… You must! Soooooo good.

    Also, after you talking about your Nike Frees recently, I went and bought a pair nice I was needing new shoes. I went to the Ottawa RR and got THE EXACT PAIR you show in the photo. I’ll never get lost with those on… They could land planes (and I love them)!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 28, 2011 at 12:47 pm

      ahhh! that is FANTASTIC that you got those shoes, karen! and RR has nikes for $10 off so you saved $10! and yes – you’ll be seen a mile away – easier for your children to spot you (and airplanes!). thanks for the review of ben than!

  • Johanna B  On September 28, 2011 at 11:12 am

    The :hood” I work in is a huge hospital complex. My “cubicle” is in the basement where I don’t get to see outside.

    I would be in serious financial difficulties if I worked that close to a Michaels and a Pier One. BTW – the location of yours is amusing because our Pier One and Michaels are next door to each other. I love Pier One’s selection of dishes and kitchen ware.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 28, 2011 at 11:32 am

      i bet the complex is like a mini-village! hope you can get outside on your lunch hours! pier one really does have such great dishes and kitchen ware. i love their brightly coloured pieces! hmmm, sounds like there is a michaels and pier one conspiracy going on!…

  • Holly  On September 28, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Ok I love being close to good stores like that: Pier 1 and Michael’s are such fun stores. Danger for me: any sort of home goods or craft stores — I end up buying something: scrapbooking stuff, flowers/greenery, baskets, etc.

    There really isn’t much near my full time job location — mostly warehouses and other businesses. There is a Subway, McDonalds and a gas station nearby which is nice if I forget my lunch — but there really aren’t many stores (which is probably a good thing!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 28, 2011 at 9:11 am

      yes – if the temptations aren’t there, it makes it easier not to shop at lunch break, right?! a gas station would be handy to have close by, too! i don’t scrapbook, but whenever i see all the options at michael’s, i get the urge to try it! such neat stuff!!

  • Lisa  On September 28, 2011 at 7:17 am

    I would be just as excited about the “neighbors” as you are! I love exploring and feeling connected to the places around me.
    Interestingly, since I work at home, there isn’t much going on here (except houses and churches). But I do have my new hair salon within walking distance, the YMCA, plus some little main st shops and restaurants. I’m excited about that because at my old place I was in the middle of a million awesome things….but the roads were so busy I was scared to walk anywhere!
    I do have great things pretty close to me here, but I definitely have to drive. I love being out of the city…but still having access!
    The fact that you posted a sesame st picture/line just made me smile—I was obsessed when I was a kid!
    Danger stores for me: lululemon and Dick’s (sporting goods)….in fact, I’m grounded from shopping till at least January!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 28, 2011 at 8:33 am

      i have heard such amazing things about dick’s – i totally would love to visit one. apparently their running shoe prices are incredible! i understand re banning yourself from shopping – i did that last year for about 6 months – it’s tough, but do-able! (you got your ugi ball in there just in time!). sounds like you have a great ‘hood for walking about! re: busy roads – that is like the road that theOTHERstore is on – i’d be terrified to run from there for fear of being mowed down because there are so many driveways to the various stores…and the drivers are very aggressive!

Leave a Reply

