gwp

yesterday i started work at the store at 2:30 pm, so i had ample time to complete a few errands that i have been meaning to get to since last week [working full time puts a crimp in errand-running freedom – although i ♥ the flexibility of being able to get out and about in the retail calmness that is a weekday morning].

~ i gassed up the rav. by waiting, i saved over 2.5 cents a litre as gas prices dropped overnight!

~ operation barbie was a successful mission! zellers has all barbie dolls + accessories on sale for 30% off right now. is it bad to give xmas gifts two months early just cuz YOU want to play with the present??

~ the main focus of my outing was to get to the bay, specifically for:

it’s no secret that i like a tanned visage. hello, just look at pretty near every self-photo on the blog, and i’ve got that malibu barbie tinted brown skin tone going on.

ah, aruba brown! this is natural...

fake, back in june!

[ok, i can’t resist: seinfeld fans…fake! fake! fake! fake!] 🙂

thanksgiving day, sharing the 100 item xmas list - yup, fake!

in fact, i have been accused of looking like george hamilton:

(source)

no insult. i just hate being pale!

anyway…the point of going to the lancome counter was so that i could stock up on my favourite bronzer:

shade 02, solaire. it's on my christmas list!

i used to use lancome products, exclusively, for my skincare needs. in the past year or so, i’ve gotten cheap branched out as the price of lancome really is enough to make your pocketbook say “ouch.” however, right now lancome at the bay has their semi-regular gift with purchase promotion. and this was a great one!

select from these options

i got to choose from 1 of 3 face creams; 2 of 4…um, randoms (not sure how to classify as they were misc options); 4 of 6 cosmetics.

yes, they are trial sizes, but you get a surprising amount of product, i find

lots of everything...except i got the LAST eye shadow quad!

full disclosure: the star bronzer cost me $51.98 with tax. that is a lot of $ for some pressed brown powder (i spent some leftover birthday money). was it not for the gwp program, no way would i be forking out the moolah [i’m sure there are cheaper ways to look fake tan].

so! here are my picks:

l-r: mascara; juicy tubes; eye makeup remover; four eyeshadows; eye liner; resolution face cream; foamy cleanser - plus a chichi cosmetics/*evening bag* (barbie would luv)

key, here, is that i know from past experience that i like and will use each and every one of these choices. sometimes with *freebies,* the deal is too good to be true as stuff will rot sit untouched in your drawer.

so, now i’m set for a while! [at least until christmas]. and you won’t see a glare off my forehead in any photos!

do share: what deals/coupons/freebies have you struck gold with, of late? update: i’m still waiting for towel #3 of my free cereal box towels to arrive. any day now, i hope!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Stephanie  On October 19, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    I’m pale as anything. When I was in Brazil, I knew just enough Portuguese to understand that someone said my skin looked like the belly of a dead fish. Charming. I’ve never used bronzer, but that’s mainly because I fail at being a girl and have absolutely no idea how to buy or apply makeup. If you’re ever in the area, come give me some lessons!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 19, 2011 at 8:34 pm

      oh, i would love to improve my makeup application skills/knowledge. i’ve slapped on my makeup the same way for the last 25 years…i HAVE tried tanning lotions/creams and they STINK!! so don’t go there. ok, sorry, but belly of a dead fish is very funny…they sure know how to make a girl feel good, eh?! let’s call you “lily white” instead, shall we?!!

  • Zo  On October 19, 2011 at 9:43 am

    I rarely go to buy cosmetics without a coupon of some sort. There’s an ulta (like sephora) by me, but I also order from sephora (right now I have a birthday coupon to use). I do find as I get older I’ve been buying/spending more on skin care, etc!
    You definitely had a good haul at lancome.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 19, 2011 at 9:45 am

      yes! i can see how as the years go, we’ll be putting more money (and hope?!) into creams…enjoy spending your birthday coupon!

  • Johanna B  On October 19, 2011 at 8:25 am

    I used to love the gwp stuff – esp Clinique. Now, when I buy from a dept store I buy MAC but usually I’m a fan of Garnier or Aveeno positively radiant. Glad to hear you get your tan mostly from bronzer. I am obsessed with sunscreen. I had a skin cancer removed several years ago and I never step outside without it.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 19, 2011 at 8:38 am

      thanks for the lesson on sunscreen, johanna. i do admit i am lax about that ie i don’t wear it in the summer. :/ that really should be a summer 2012 resolution. MAC -> i would love to try some of their products! i have eye shadow on my xmas list! glad you have found that and other brands that work for you!

  • Lisa  On October 19, 2011 at 7:16 am

    I love makeup freebies—I hate buying it! We have sephora here, which is a huge makeup store with every brand…I go there. I don’t know if it’s cheaper, but they always have free gifts at checkout!
    I had a 15% off coupon for Flor rugs…and I obsessed about which to buy for about 3 weeks…and then decided I need to go to the actual store in Santa Monica or NYC in order to pick, so I wasted it.
    Other than that…I don’t think I’ve had any opportunities for deals lately…I should work harder on that!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 19, 2011 at 8:36 am

      we have sephora here too (at the mall just down from theOTHERstore) but i have never purchased anything there – so thanks for the fyi that they have freebies at the check out – hopefully, they do that in canada, too! rugs – yes. you pretty much need to see it in person, i think to grasp the style/colour/will it work for you. so maybe you saved money in the long run by not making a not-right purchase!

Leave a Reply

