four takes on friends

yesterday after work(s), vfbf joanne and i met up for our monthly get-together. it makes me very happy that we have gotten together every single month since we reconnected in march. time sure flies in between visits!

march 2011...

...and october 20th/yesterday!

~*~*~*~*~

bff debbie sent me another funny:

FRIENDS are like panties…
Some crawl up your butt.
Some snap under pressure.
Some don’t have the strength to hold you up.
Some get a little twisted.
Some are your favorite.
Some are holey. Some are cheap. Some are naughty.
And some actually cover your butt when you need them to.
Some never let you down, but grow with you..old and all.
And some you will never ever throw away.

~*~*~*~*~

by now, you know that i was/am big into seinfeld. do you remember when it used to be a 1-2 punch on thursday eves, friends followed by jerry and the gang? that was a good tv night (oh, and that comedy hour was followed up with er).

i was trying to decide who my favourite character was on friends…but i can’t choose! each one of the cast members was humourous. friends was one of those shows that could make me laugh out loud, and is still funny in re-runs.

(source)

~*~*~*~*~

and last but not least, today is gina’s bday! ❀

happy birthday, g!Β 

grade 13 graduation, june 1989!

gina's last visit east: june 2011

we’ve come a long way, baby!

look at this coincidence!…

that's gina on the L and joanne on the R, in my ~age 5 photo album!

so cool that i am STILL friends with childhood friends. what a gift.

~*~*~*~*~

what was your favourite tv night, in the past? prior to the friends/seinfeld/er era, i enjoyed thursday eves with the cosby clan!

any current comedies on tv that you can recommend? i am so behind the times. probably the last sitcom that i watched with any regularity was king of queens (funny, but not anything to rave about). i have heard good things about modern family, parks and recreation, the big bang theory…but have never seen any of these shows.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ali  On October 22, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I loved Seinfeld. Nowadays I recommend Modern Family, Community, Office, Parks and Recreation, Arrested Development and 30 Rock. Big Bang Theory is also really good. Has the sane team of writers from Roseanne, which I also loved.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 22, 2011 at 5:40 pm

      thanks for the list of recommendations, ali! wow, i’d love to sit down and watch one episode of each of those shows – bet i’d have some sore laughing muscles by the end!

  • Dorry  On October 21, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Love the “funny” πŸ™‚ I used to love Full House, The Cosby Show, and Golden Girls! I would watch Golden Girls on Saturday nights at my grandparents’ house. We’d spend the night there every Saturday when my parents would go out on a date. πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 21, 2011 at 6:23 pm

      ahhh!!! yes – golden girls! i forgot – i LOVED that show, too. again, a show where all four of the characters were very funny. i would watch it when i babysat our neighbours’ children. that’s a fun memory of spending time with your grandparents!

  • Stephanie  On October 21, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    I love the show friends. It’s the only sitcom that can always, without fail, make me laugh out loud.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 21, 2011 at 4:32 pm

      i agree. and that’s why i could not choose a favourite character because depending on the episode, any of the six could “star” and the show was always hilarious!

  • Johanna  On October 21, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Friends was a definite favourite – I have almost all the season DVDs – just missing three. I can still watch them over and over. (I was told that I was Rachel – sister was Phoebe!) Current favourite comedy is Big Bang Theory but I seem to watch it rather irregularly – I seem to have lost the ability to show up in front of the TV at a certain time every week.

    Happy birthday, Gina! πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 21, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      oh, i can totally see your sister as phoebe!! like, peas in a pod! πŸ™‚ some shows you watch once and the jokes are “tired.” friends and seinfeld – the humour never grows old!

  • Johanna B  On October 21, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Do you know that I’ve never seen an episode of either Seinfeld or Friends? Right now I have one show that I watch Sunday-Thurs and none on Friday or Saturday. When “Bones” returns on 11/3/11 there’ll be two shows on Thursday. Other than that I don’t watch much. Boring much?

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      not boring – just means you have more interests in life than tv – and that’s a good thing. ok, but you really really need to watch some friends and seinfeld. classic tv, really and truly. i think my mom enjoys “bones.” glad you have a return date to look forward to!

  • The Orchard  On October 21, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Oh, my hubby and I are also huge Seinfeld fans. We often refer to old episodes in conversation and our friends just give us blank looks. Hmmm. Maybe we need to get some new friends. I also used to watch Friends and the character I relate to the most is Monica. She is the character who my friends say I am like! Yikes!

    I don’t watch a lot of TV these days. Survivor is as regular show that I watch. As for comedies, I like Big Bang Theory, but can never remember what night it is on. Another huge fave of mine is 30 Rock, but again, I don’t have a lot of time for it. Jeff and I are HUGE Tina Fey fans. I totally love her, and coincidentally, have been told that I am similar to her, too.

    Did you ever watch SNL? That is another show that I feel like I refer to often and my friends have no clue what I am talking about…”Remember that skit on SNL when Tina Fey….oh never mind!” They don’t get it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 21, 2011 at 1:44 pm

      ok, we need to hang out, tricia! i was big into SNL in the late 80s…church lady, hans n frans (we’re here to pump YOU up!)…thanks for reminding me! ok, i most relate to monica, too. i’d love to be more phoebe-ish/go with the flow…but that’s not me! survivor is good escapism after a long day!

  • Gina Unger  On October 21, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Oops! I thought that was a grade 2 school picture! Is that really me at age 5?!?!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 21, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      i hope you have a wonderful day! i bet your h, h & m are excited it’s mom’s bday! and yes that is you at age 5 – mom has the date underneath the photo! πŸ™‚

  • Gina Unger  On October 21, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Thanks again for the BD wishes, Cath! So funny to see those old photos. (I sure wish my mom hadn’t cut my hair to look like a boy’s in that grade 2 school picture!)
    The Office still has to be Jeff’s and my current favourite sitcom – so unique and funny (it makes more sense to those who have followed the show since the beginning, I think).
    My all-time favourite sit-com is FRIENDS. I’m currently watching all the episodes again (on DVD). LOVE that show. πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 21, 2011 at 12:09 pm

      i need to watch the office!!! 100% of the word of mouth i have heard is so positive about it! and i love steve carrell. i can just see us watching friends re-runs together – it’d be non-stop LOLs!!!

  • Lisa  On October 21, 2011 at 11:42 am

    Yay for vfbf’s!!
    My fave tv night used to be the tgif programs when I was a middle school—full house, etc. But later…I seemed to just love individual programs (including Friends!).
    Now…I’m not so into comedies…but I like Private Practice, Grey’s Anatomy, and mostly Parenthood.

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 21, 2011 at 12:08 pm

      ah yes! full house! isn’t it funny how may-kate and ashley olson have evolved sooo much since those days! i have never seen the shows you mention – i bet i would like grey’s. happy wine friday, lisa!

Leave a Reply

