oh, my aching sweet tooth

how’re you doing, now that the hallowe’en candy has been in the house for at least 48 hours??! well – i mean YOUR house, possibly. our condo building does not get trick or treaters, and i have no young ‘uns so there are no hallowe’en treats chez moi, currently.

candy photo opp in toronto!

to continue the trip down the hallowe’en memory lane, i was a typical kid and ate all my favourite hallowe’en candies first. that would be mini-chocolate bars (but only certain ones! jersey milks, for example were the last of the chocolate bars to go – such a boring variety!).

genetically, our family (this would be my mom’s side of the family tree) has a sweet tooth that knows no bounds. proof: one of our favourite desserts when we were little was ice cream with real ontario maple syrup poured over the top. back-up proof: our traditional christmas morning sticky buns are legendary for their extraordinary richness: butter, sugar, nuts and raisins enrobe the velvety sweet dough.

my sweet tooth has evolved as i’ve matured. i don’t think i could take the maple syrup + ice cream combo any more. however, i do love my sugary cereals. i have yet to meet a type that is too sweet. best combo ever was my invention of mixing cap’n crunch, alpha bits, honey comb and corn bran squares. ka-zing!!!

i was listening to the radio the other day and the on-air personality mentioned recipes you can make to use up left-over hallowe’en candy. i’d already come across one idea, thanks to the blog world. averie posted her recipe for butterfinger bars which incprporates candy corn. i honestly never have considered using up hallowe’en candy in baked goods – in the past, the extent of my chocolate experimentation has consisted of subbing in smarties for chocolate chips, in cookies – that’s as inventive as i have ever gotten!

(source)

so, if you are trying to deplete your (or your offspring’s!) candy stash, there are tons of recipes out there. i liked the real simple website – they provide ten recipe ideas which make use of everything from twix or snickers bars to skittles to sweetarts to kitkats [who would ever have that choco bar leftover??!]

what do you do/did you do with the dregs of the hallowe’en candy collection? we used to use those boring old jersey milks for s’mores!

rate your sweet tooth on a scale of 1-10 (1 = low, 10 = through the roof): i’d peg mine at 7.5. it’s hard to make a cake, cookie or square that is “too sweet,” yet i find fudge, candies, syrups, some ice creams to be too much. for cereals, it’s hard to find a sweeter variety than count chocula (the marshmallows send it over-the-top!).

(source)

~*~*~*~*~

november thankfulness:

(for wednesday, november 2): yesterday, i was thankful for a sunny day in toronto! i swear the last 4/5 wednesdays were varying degrees of rainy/cold/grey, so to see a skyline like this…


still my favourite shot of toronto, as you come in on the gardiner

…and to be able to wear just a light sweatshirt was simply glorious!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On November 4, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I have quite a sweet tooth, and I usually give into it because I think it makes me a happier person. πŸ˜‰ Chocolate, fresh fruit, granola, etc. It doesn’t have to be a big cupcake with frosting!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 4, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      i love your way of thinking, dorry! and you are right about fruit – nothing hits the spot like juicy watermelon on a hot day. a baked treat would just not be tempting at that moment!

  • Johanna B  On November 3, 2011 at 9:46 am

    I didn’t have any leftover Halloween candy. Lucky me? My sweet tooth is at least an 8. I wish I could say that I didn’t like chocolate but I really really do. I do like dark chocolate though so that helps a little. We had snowflakes yesterday but nothing that stuck. Mostly just sleet and rain.

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 3, 2011 at 10:09 am

      i agree – dark choco is way better than milk. and focus on those health benefits they keep telling us about dark choc! snowflakes?? eesh! we have not had any yet and yesterday it actually felt like september! hope today is nicer for you – sleet and rain is a bit dreary!

  • Holly  On November 3, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I like sweet things — but if it is really sweet I only like to have a little bit.

    I don’t really understand the “use up the halloween candy” — I just eat it! Although we only bought one small bag of Reese’s PB cups and we didn’t get any trick-or-treaters, so we easily polished off the bag in the following days.

    Ice cream + maple syrup sounds really good!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 3, 2011 at 9:47 am

      haha! yes! nothing wrong at all with just eating the hallowe’en choco bars “straight up!” no trick or treaters?? that is way too bad!! pb cups are awesome!! yes try the maple syrup + ice cream – but it has to be real maple syrup – avoid fake!! πŸ™‚

  • Stephanie  On November 3, 2011 at 8:36 am

    My sweet tooth is probably a 10. But I have a texture thing. I can’t deal with mushy sweets…mousse, creme brulee, even cheesecake don’t do it for me. I want sweets that I can chew: cake, cookies, chocolate, pie. Ice cream is the only mushy sweet that I love. Oh, and pudding. I used to go to the Golden Griddle for a big family breakfast the day after Thanksgiving. We’d all get the breakfast buffet. And I’d have at least 2 bowls of chocolate pudding. Breakfast of champions!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 3, 2011 at 8:42 am

      i am with you on sweets choices – we are so similar with the likes and dislikes!! that is a fun golden griddle memory. bet you had a ton of energy after that breaky!

  • Zo  On November 3, 2011 at 8:16 am

    Toronto is such a great city! I really envy your being close to it.
    Halloween dregs for me were tootsie rolls and lollipops. I suspect they lingered till they go tossed.
    Sweet tooth? I’d say 9.75. I love sweet things, but occasionally I have to admit something is too sweet. Years ago I got a “chocolate frosted donut” cereal that I couldn’t take. I don’t think it’s still on the market.

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 3, 2011 at 8:40 am

      CHOC FROSTED DONUT CEREAL????!!!! oh, be still my heart. what i would give to try that. i am with you on tootsie rolls and lollipops. no thanks. in fact, to the best of my knowledge, i have never had a tootsie roll, that’s how unappealing i have always found them. let me know if you ever get up to TO some day!!!

  • Lisa  On November 3, 2011 at 8:00 am

    My sweet tooth is close to 10 if I don’t keep it under control (which I am doing pretty well right now)…I rarely find something too sweet, and tend to lose my “off” switch in the presence of sweet treats….

    I saw that one blogger had thrown her leftover mini candy bars into a pan of brownies and gave them away. That seemed like a good idea! I don’t have leftover candy (since we ran out early), but if I did, I have no idea what I’d do with it. Some local dentists buy it back and send it to the troops…that’s a good idea, but I don’t know if I’d go out of my way to deliver it there.

    The weather was amazing yesterday! I hope it is nice again today πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 3, 2011 at 8:42 am

      candy bars into brownies – that is brilliant! i bet that would hit a “10” on the sweetness scale! that is a neat idea to collect leftover candy and pass it forward to the troops. i have never heard of that type of thing. “lose your off switch” – that is funny! πŸ™‚

  • Averie @ Love Veggies and Yoga  On November 3, 2011 at 7:18 am

    mine is easily a 10. nothing is too sweet or rich. I can do with less sweet sweets, but I really prefer them to be sweet. And rich. No airy or light fluffy stuff. πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 3, 2011 at 8:37 am

      oh – your recipes, averie, are a sweets lovers dream come true. and i am with you – i dont’ like light, airy, fluffy stuff either. give me dense, chewy, rich!!!

Leave a Reply

