good intentions sunday

gooood monday morning, friends!

are you all ready to face the day? rarin’ to go? i love mondays – it’s my “crazy day,” as i call it because i am at both stores, and i wouldn’t have it any other way.

saturday evening, i planned out my to do list for sunday. a, b, c, d, e…and so on. i had a really detailed schedule all set up, and was super-keen to tackle the day because it was going to include a new experience! i even thought out how i would multi-task by watching/listening to the nyc marathon online, while going about completing said new experience.

well, guess what? sunday ended up taking off in completely different directions. i’ll explain…

the only thing set in stone was my work shift: 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. after that, it ended up working out really well to give the storage area in the condo casa basement a much needed and long-procrastinated-upon purge and cleanse. that went really well, and took less time than anticipated – but it hadn’t been on THE LIST. no matter – feels good to have that task done!

then, i researched how i could watch the marathon online sunday eve. i checked out the universal sports website – as best as i could tell, they had broadcasted the race live, only [and i don’t think you can watch this site in canada??]. drat. so i had to content myself with reading news headlines. a new course record was set in the men’s race! [mom and dad, i should have gone with my original idea of pvr’ing the televised coverage on your tv!].

then, i decided to go for a walk through waterloo park – we were blessed with gorgeous weather this weekend! i couldn’t pass up the opportunity for some sunshine and fresh air.

view of the pedestrian bridge...

that scene would make a good puzzle, no?!

they're starting to set up for the "wonders of winter" lights display which will begin in early november!

then, i had to stop for groceries. i got sidetracked, and ended up buying a christmas present (can’t say what or for whom). hadn’t planned on that, but the amazing sale price sealed the deal!

then, i came home. by this time, dusk was falling, thanks to the time change. my circadian rhythms are off because of turning the clocks back, and it truly felt later than it was. so i shelved the “new experience” idea. it involves a tradition that i love and adore, but i want to feel excited when i execute it. so the revised plan is to complete this project on tuesday – it should work out (barring unforeseen tangents).

so, i happily puttered/frittered away last evening by doing a bit of cleaning, checking hamilton race results since i knew a number of people running in those events, and diddling with an artsy-fartsy creative *something* for an upcoming celebration.

what a go-with-the-flow day! basically nothing on the saturday eve list got accomplished…yet, a lot DID get done, and it was a great day!

*~*~*~*~

november thankfulness:

(for sunday, november 6): yesterday i was thankful for the fact that my friend, “a,” was successful in his attempt to register online for next year’s ironman florida race on november 3, 2012! “a” has completed this event twice in the past, and has come oh-so-close to qualifying for a spot in hawaii (the “boston” of ironman events). i sincerely doubt i will ever attempt a try-a-tri, let alone an ironman…yet i am so intrigued by this event. “a” has raced imfl twice in the past, and after each of those races, he has been very good about letting pummel him with questions and granting my requests for minute-by-minute race details. i also thoroughly enjoy listening to his training regimen (brick workouts! six hour rides on the bike trainer!) without having to actually do anything, myself. let the training begin!

triathlon: rank the three disciplines in order of your personal preference: me – i think #1 is pretty obvious, by now, eh?! i used to be a pretty good swimmer when i was younger…now i don’t like being cold and i don’t like being wet – those factors are a bit of a hindrance, wouldn’t you say?! and i am actually very scared of my bike. cycling makes me feel very unsafe – both because of my (lack of) skills and traffic. the triathlon very much fascinates me, though!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On November 7, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    Oh boy…I’m definitely more comfortable with running (never thought I’d ever say that). Haven’t been on a bike in years, and I think I’d prefer swimming in a pool rather than any open water.
    Sometimes those “different directions” days are the best!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 7, 2011 at 8:33 pm

      in the time that we’ve been “blogging buddies,” i’ve been really impressed with the running goals you have set and how you’ve progressed, zo! keep it up! some tris have the swim portion in a pool – i don’t know if that would be better or worse in terms of congestion in the water!

      • Zo  On November 7, 2011 at 9:23 pm

        Aww thanks. I had to take a break these last few days since I pulled a muscle in my back! It’s bummed me out a bit, but hopefully I’ll be mended soon.

  • Dorry  On November 7, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Sometimes those are my favorite days – and prove to us that no matter how much planning we do, there are times when it’s best to go with the flow and divert from the master to-do list. 😉

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 7, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      i know you have done the same thing, dorry, so you know what i’m talking about! have a great monday!

  • Johanna B  On November 7, 2011 at 11:31 am

    I love triathlons. Watching them, reading about them – not doing them. I would rate the activities as walking (I don’t run), biking, and then swimming. I swim very well for a recreational swimmer but not good enough to race. I love my bike but I don’t like riding in traffic so walking wins the day. I’d love to be in Kona to watch the Ironman. I usually get to see pretty good coverage on TV and I always pick up the Kona issue of Triathlon.

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 7, 2011 at 12:31 pm

      I LOVE watching the recap show that nbc does every year – early december-ish, I believe. So inspiring. Wouldn’t it be awesome to spectate at the kona finish line!!

  • Lisa  On November 7, 2011 at 11:06 am

    I can’t really rank the tri events for myself—I mean, for recreation I would choose, bike, run….and never swim. But to race….none!

    Sounds like you had a great Sunday, even without it completely going as you expected…mine was similar. I relaxed a lot and got a nice long walk in with mom…it is super warm here and I love it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 7, 2011 at 11:10 am

      oh, i’m glad you got to enjoy the weather and a walk with your mom. that’s awesome. nothing wrong with not wanting to race!

  • Karen at Virtually There  On November 7, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Oops!…. All the people splashing around me.

  • Karen at Virtually There  On November 7, 2011 at 9:22 am

    I did a tri-a-tri in Guelph many years ago (2000). I loved the sense of accomplishment that came from training and completely a multi-sport event. My fave part was the cycling (I LOVE biking) and second was swimming which I also love but I found more stressful because of the open water and all the

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 7, 2011 at 10:25 am

      that is SO COOL, karen, that you did the try-a-tri! good for you! yes – the swim idea freaks me out as i have heard many stories of kicks to the head and being “swum over” (like run over!). i guess you just seed yourself back and to the side?!! would you do another one, or was one enough?!

  • Stephanie  On November 7, 2011 at 9:01 am

    I’ve always been intrigued by tris! I love swimming and biking. If only I could do a tri and just skip past the running bit. 😉 I’m really good at making to-do lists for myself, but not so hot at actually doing them.

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 7, 2011 at 10:23 am

      we’ve got this tri thing covered then, stephanie! you swim and bike and i’ll run and we’ll call it a day. list making is fun…and if you don’t accomplish it, you just rip it up! 🙂

  • The Orchard  On November 7, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Running, biking, swimming. LOVE running. I love biking, too, but I dread the flat tire! Swimming. Don’t love it at all. It is both mentally and physically exhausting and every time I am at the pool I wish it were easier! But, I love triathlon, so I will put up with the swim portion of it!

    My friend C, who only started seriously exercising in January, did the Hamilton marathon yesterday and almost qualified for Boston! She missed it by just over 2 minutes! This was her first marathon ever and she did a 3:42! I am so impressed by her running ability! Will you do another marathon any time soon?

    Enjoy another warm November day!

    Tricia

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 7, 2011 at 10:22 am

      i’m so glad you saw this post, tricia! i was thinking of you when the talk turned to tri’s. you are an IRONWOMAN! i loved LOVED when you did your 10 year anniversary recap on your blog. at least the swim portion is the shortest of the three! i really think we are at a disadvantage here because we have no open water conveniently near us, and it’s not motivating to think of swimming when it’s cold out. but we ARE lucky to have the swim complex in our ‘hood! i saw c’s time when i was skimming the results!!! that is so awesome for her! no plans for a ‘thon “soon,” but i am looking ahead! 🙂 yes – another beautiful day – enjoy, too!

Leave a Reply

