blog post #500 celebration giveaway contest!

(source)

hello there!

wow, eh?! blog entry #500…the day is here!

i knew eons ago that i wanted to host a giveaway when i reached post #500 on the blog. i have only hosted one giveaway before: that was wayyyy back when i had blogged one hundred times! for that contest, i gave away a batch of homemade cookies, and eight people entered. [i hope we surpass that number with this contest? the prize pack is better, haha!].

since the blog is less than two years old (i started blogging in january 1020), i am happy to have reached this milestone already. it helps when you blog every day! (the last time i have a date with no blog entry is december 30th of last year).

so, i have thought long and hard over many months about what i wanted to give away to celebrate today:

  • it had to be something i would want to win
  • it had to include themes i talk about a lot (running, the store, coffee shops, uptown waterloo…)
  • it had to be kiki-quirky fun

imagine my joy when just last week, i opened a box of new stock at the store, and knew i had found the perfect prize.

we received long sleeve tshirts (they feel like cotton but wick away perspiration) featuring eight unique slogans – four for women, four for men. [click here to see an example of the women’s shirt; the men’s is very similar in design]. here they are:

women’s four:

men’s four:

the winner of today’s giveaway can pick one of the eight tshirt designs. the sizes available are:

women: small, medium, large, x-large

men: medium, large, x-large

AS WELL!…

i am going to include a $10 gift card for starbucks.

how to enter:

please leave a comment telling about a new experience YOU have enjoyed in 2011. it can be little (i tried a new cereal!), it can be big (i ran a marathon!) or anything in between.

rules (because i ♥ rules):

~ the contest is entirely funded by the 1970 kiki project foundation. aka yours truly.

~ one comment per person, please.

~ this contest is open to anyone living in canada or the united states.

~ by entering, you agree that i can post your name on the blog and the tshirt design you choose, if you win.

~ the contest is open until saturday, november 12 at 1:14 p.m. e.s.t. (get it?! 11-12-13-14 – haha!).

~ i will announce the winner on the blog on sunday morning. the method for choosing the winner will be my reproduction of stephanie‘s random number generator. if you are stephanie, you know what i mean. if not, you will find out on sunday.

lastly, thank you for reading. i am very appreciative of how the blog has allowed me to keep in touch with personal friends and family, and make new “blends” (blogger friends). i truly enjoy this creative hobby, and look forward to continued happy blogging moments.

[the next contest will not be until blog post #1, 000 so you may wish to enter while you can!!]

🙂

~*~*~*~*~

november thankfulness:

(for wednesday november 9): yesterday i was thankful for wordpress. it’s amazing what you can do with this blogging system, even by keeping to the “bare bones” offerings!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kate  On November 11, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    500!! Wow, congrats! And what a generous giveaway… I’m definitely motivated to share my new experience for a chance at one of those awesome t’s and the Starbucks gift card. Although I must admit, it feels like you’re the one who should be getting the gift….so, if I win I promise to take you for Starbuck’s with the gift card (don’t you want to “randomly” choose me now?? ;))

    My new experience this year has been entering the world of “wedding” everything… dresses, venues, flowers, etc, etc. It’s amazing/freaky to see how much of an industry has been built around that one special day.

  • Anonymous  On November 11, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    I know I don’t qualify because I live in France, but I will enter for fun anyways…my new experience was playing in the parent-child hockey game. I have never played ice hockey before (only field hockey). I had to rent ice hockey equipment and play with the parents against kids in a competitive ice hockey league (my own kids by the way). I had never skated in “boys” skates, so used the figure skates (I was the only mom doing this). I was thrilled and even scored a goal!!!!!
    Julie Parkins

    • Julie Parkins  On November 11, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      Oh darn, it says, I am anonymous…it is Julie

  • Gina Unger  On November 11, 2011 at 10:04 am

    Oh, this is a GREAT giveaway contest, Cath! I LOVE all those T-Shirts!!!!! I mean, really LOVE LOVE LOVE them!
    Okay, so when you eventually get to read my own blog post that I’ve been working on for a week now, you’re really going to laugh, but for now… here is my new experience for ya:
    I learned to slalom water ski this past summer. Waterskiing on two skis became old for me (and didn’t look cool!) and I wanted a new challenge, so I introduced myself to the ups and downs of learning slalom- and in a shorter time than expected I was flying behind the boat on one ski!
    Have a fun time reading all the new experiences people send you!!! 🙂

  • Ali  On November 11, 2011 at 9:23 am

    I love those shirts! I was going to put the “Find your happy pace” on my Christmas list. I say that to my learn to run group all the time 🙂

    My new experience would have to be running my very first race. Which actually led me to you. I google searched about the Waterloo 10km classic, and your post was the first one I read, and then I was hooked. Hooked on racing, and reading blogs. Thanks for writing a great blog, and for a great give away.

  • Johanna  On November 11, 2011 at 8:41 am

    I’ll bite! Dad could always use a new long sleeve shirt. 🙂 It would definitely be “Day. Night. Rain. Snow. Wind. Sleet. Hail. Run.” That’s my dad!

    My new experience this year is a little one but enjoyable. I signed up with audible.com and have been loving listening to audio books on my ipod. It’s such a slick process over borrowing CDs from the library. I love that I can go listen to some music and then come back to the book later and it remembers where I left off. It’s like going back to when we were young and being read to.

  • Johanna B  On November 10, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    My favorite new experience of 2011 happened in April. My grandson, Ivan, was born. Can’t top that one for me.

  • Stephanie  On November 10, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    I don’t really run…but I looooooove free t-shirts! Ha! My new experience from the year would have to be blogging. I had no idea how much I would end up loving it when I started this blog in January. I’ve made so many new friends and have found a whole new way to express myself!

    (For your thousandth post, maybe the giveaway should be a box of cereal. And also a very special pair of leggins.)

  • Andrea Budding (@AndreaBudding)  On November 10, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Great way to celebrate the big 5-0-0!

    2011 has been full of new experiences for me! One new experience that is hitting right now is watching and listening to Christmas commercials/music just as Australia’s summer weather is setting in. It’s hard to get into the Christmas spirit when it’s 35C and sunny outside!

    Congrats on 500, Cathy!

  • aubreylaine  On November 10, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    My new experience this year was going without meat all year!
    littlegray88 at yahoo dot com

  • Juanita  On November 10, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    So glad you posted on Facebook about your blog. So much fun to read!!

    My new experience this year was taking a Krav Maga self defense class. Learning how (and where) to punch and kick to get away safe was so empowering. Never knew I could feel so powerful just be kicking a man in the X@$#. Looking forward to my next class. 🙂

  • Zo  On November 10, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Congratulations on post #500! I am really awed by your posting every day!
    Hmm, new experiences…two come to mind, vacuuming my car (silly, but I felt so happy about driving in a crud-free car). The other new in 2011 experience is doing cat socializing at a local shelter. I an happy I get to help animals, and I also find my stresses of the day go right out of my head when I’m playing with them!

  • Anonymous  On November 10, 2011 at 10:00 am

    I love reading your blogs when I get the chance. In 2011 I both ran my first marathon and tried a new cereal (mini wheats) for the first time!

  • Sue  On November 10, 2011 at 9:41 am

    My new experience for 2011 was getting my 50k in before my 51st bday, then signing up for another ultra and getting through the entire running season injury free!! Now if I just show that kinda dedication to the sweater I’ve been working on for 3 months… 🙂

    Great contest Cathy! You’re the best!

  • Lisa  On November 10, 2011 at 9:16 am

    “the last time i have a date with no blog entry is december 30th of last year” …..Loophole!!!! hehe

    A new experience I’ve had is to go grain-free since the beginning of august—I’ve revolutionized my health 🙂

  • Holly  On November 10, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Congrats on #500 Cathy!

    I really like the shirts — my pick would be “find your happy pace”!

    New experience for 2011 for me: although I did it in college, I’d have to go with trying to work 2 jobs at once — it has been a challenge for me but very rewarding at the same time!

  • The Orchard  On November 10, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Oh my goodness! I LOVE those t-shirts!

    A new experience for me in 2011 was eating chocolate covered bugs at the Butterfly Conservatory. They were slathered in a lot of chocolate so they weren’t too hard to eat, but still, the thought of the bugs was hard to wrap my mind around!

    Congrats on 500 posts!

    Tricia

  • shaywmi  On November 10, 2011 at 7:47 am

    My new experience for 2011 was getting my G1. I know shocking how can anyone manage without one. I am looking forward to testing for my G2 in 2012.

    Great contest – my son would enjoy the shirt. His new experience was joining the Cross Country team at his High School.

  • Karen  On November 10, 2011 at 6:55 am

    What a great giveaway, Cathy! I would choose the men’s t-shirt about sleet, hail, rain etc. It would be for John. He’s the die-hard runner in our house

    My new experience this year that I’m thankful for is learning lots of really good gluten-free baking recipes. I found out in January that I’m gluten-intolerant. I’m really happy to have found some replacements for my favourite recipes.

Leave a Reply

