november thankfulness

november thankfulness:
(for tuesday november 29): yesterday i was thankful for living in uptown waterloo, and the walkability of the city centre. i was able to complete all my errands (michaels, the library, the health food store, shoppers drug mart, groceries – and would have met lisa except she needed to re-schedule our get-together) and go to work, all on foot!

november thankfulness:

(for today, wednesday november 30): today i am thankful for aunti day, the fact that we had no snow for the whole month of november, this combo bowl of cereal: plain corn puffs/corn bran/life/vector, and that the toronto maple leafs are not the laughing stock of the nhl, this year!!

(source)

~*~*~*~*~

and with that, we wrap up our month-longΒ  november thankfulness project! i’d say this was the easiest of any of my monthly challenges, this year, and was also very enjoyable. granted, it was not a super-complex goal to note a positive aspect of every day, but it was a really good one for self-awareness. and i found thirty different “thankfuls!”

the other main focus for november was no complaining. check mark this goal as “success!” both in real life and on the blog, i refrained from whining (i hope you agree!). i now have a strategy for when negative thoughts enter my brain: pause; assess the situation; consider if this is really something major or just small potatoes; think of how the whatever could be a lot worse. it was a good experiment!

i met up with mom and dad for our outings of the month, and took care of the kidlets (no specific blog posts) so the brother and sil ana could get out a couple times, too.

tomorrow, we welcome december! it’s funny because december is one of my favourite months of the year because of the christmas excitement and all the associated festivities, yet it’s one of my worst favourite months for weather! my fingers are crossed that november’s mildness continues on…is that to much to ask for, santa?!

(source)

what is one thing you particularly enjoyed in november and one thing you could have done without? me -> i had a lot of fun hosting my 500th blog post giveaway and doing the draw for the winner. i would not have been upset to omit the three hour drive home from toronto!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kelly @ Foodie Fiasco  On December 1, 2011 at 12:06 am

    Yay for thankfulness! I just wanted to let you know I nominated your for a Liebster award so come check it out! πŸ˜‰

  • Stephanie  On November 30, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Hmmm…I’m thankful that the foot and a half of snow that we got last week all melted in the rain! I’m thankful to be living with my husband (well, most of the time, anyway). Aaaaaaaaand, I’m thankful for eggs. Is it weird to be thankful for eggs? I can’t seem to get enough!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 30, 2011 at 6:14 pm

      eggs are wunderbar! that is as good a thing to be thankful for as anything! glad your snow melted – it’s too early for snow to stay til…march? april? and i bet you and jp are super happy when he gets back home!

  • Gina Unger  On November 30, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    hard to believe it’s the end of november already. i am proud of you for your monthly challenge – november thankfulness and not complaining. i liked reading your recap about those today.
    i was thankful for the mild weather we enjoyed this month (+9C – a new record for Wpg!), but, ironically, could have done without it because the snow melted and then froze again and now the footing is treacherous everywhere we go. (I slipped and fell really hard while carrying Marin today. Could have been so much worse than it was!) My yaktrax are working wonders for when I go running, though. πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 30, 2011 at 6:10 pm

      oh! i am sorry to hear of your tumble! i hope you are both ok…9 degrees – woo hoo! i should not complain of the cold when i hear of the temps you get! yea for yaktrax! πŸ™‚

  • Lisa  On November 30, 2011 at 8:08 am

    I am very thankful for the lack of snow in November too! Well, we had a few flakes, but they practically melted before they hit the ground.
    I don’t think I’ve ever noticed you whining, so for sure not this month!

    Are you going to Aruba this year?

    It’s feeling like beach-time to me (and I’m sure once it snows, that feeling will get even more intense!).

    I’m thankful that November is over, and I only have 19 days left until the semester is over (even though I am trying to NOT focus on that since it feels slightly negative, but …).

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 30, 2011 at 8:52 am

      i spoke too soon! we have slight flurries this morning! gah! it’s on the grass but not on the road…so i’m not counting it! no aruba this year – will you be getting to florida? i hope you can work a trip south into your winter plans! yes, the countdown is on for you!! then you can enjoy the holidays and look forward to a different schedule in the new year! i saw your twitter tweet – did your coffee taste buds take a holiday? hope they return soon!! πŸ™‚

      • Lisa  On November 30, 2011 at 9:00 am

        Yup, the coffee tastebuds are on hiatus! So weird…but I couldn’t even drink my S’bux!
        No Florida plans this year yet—I would like to, but I’m enjoying watching my bank account number increase too πŸ™‚
        Someday I predict we’ll meet at the beach!

      • 1970kikiproject  On November 30, 2011 at 9:04 am

        that is so funny/strange! keep me posted as to if/when you enjoy some java again!! ahhh – naples! beach! meet-up! i’d be so in!!

  • Zo  On November 30, 2011 at 6:54 am

    Another great challenge, Cathy…and another challenge o may have to steal. Although I’ve gone back to making a short list of things I was grateful for every day, complaining is a way of life for me and I wouldn’t mind changing that.
    So, seeing family I nov. was great…my brother was in and the thanksgiving holiday brought time to get together. Although it did happen at the. End of October, I could have lived without the snowy note the month started on!

    • Zo  On November 30, 2011 at 6:55 am

      Agh. Sorry for the typos…iPhone.

      • 1970kikiproject  On November 30, 2011 at 7:02 am

        no worries re typos – it’s the thoughts that count. πŸ™‚ i’m glad you got family time in this month, esp with your brother. in-person visits just can’t be beat.

Leave a Reply

