when two friends go a-walking…

on the nineteenth day of december...

…they sure do a lot of talking!

yesterday, just after it got dark (so we’re talking 5:30 p.m.) bff debbie (and bailey!) and i met up for our annual walk to see christmas lights. i was trying to remember how long we have had this tradition…after discussion with debbie, we believe it’s a good 10 years, if not more!

ever since i moved to waterloo, we have chosen to walk through the westmount neighbourhood. we’ve had every type of weather conditions, over the years. yesterday, we really lucked out – it was about 0 degrees celsius, and there was a light dusting of snow – just enough to add seasonal festivity to our walk!

i wanted to snap photos of our tour…but ever since thursday eve’s walk through the park, my camera has been taking fuzzy photos. luckily, bff debbie had her blackberry with her, and played photographer for me. that’s what friends are for! [wouldn’t you know it, when i got back home, i played with my camera, just randomly clicking buttons, and i got it to reset to “clear photo taking.” at least it’s back to normal, i think!].

one of our very favourite houses on our annual route

it’s tradition that our walk must include a pass-by of a mansion up by the golf course – every year, the home owners display the hugest tree you can imagine in the all-glass foyer of their home. debbie and i always pause and gaze in wonderment.

objects in window are MUCH larger than they appear!

the time goes so fast on a walk ‘n’ talk! ah – bump up my christmas spirit-meter another notch…holiday lights + time with my dear friend – it all does the heart good!

this photo took skill! a self-portrait with the blackberry camera!

bailey in the condo lobby...

...and back at his home!

our walk was not the last of my day’s festivities! but, we’ll talk about that tomorrow!

~*~*~*~*~

my favourite christmas story this year:

on friday, listening to the radio at theOTHERstore, the radio host shared a very touching, true story. immediately after hearing it, i thought that i had to re-tell it on the blog – it just epitomizes the meaning of the holiday season. then, saturday morning when i was catching up on some blog reading, i found a link to the exact story on gina, the fitnessista‘s blog! it’s much better reading it yourself than having me paraphrase for you. just to get you started, here’s the part of the story that i heard on the radio:

“the young father stood in line at the kmart layaway counter, wearing dirty clothes and worn-out boots. with him were three small children. he asked to pay something on his bill because he knew he wouldn’t be able to afford it all before christmas. then a mysterious woman stepped up to the counter. she told him, ‘no, i’m paying for it.’ … he just stood there and looked at her…and asked if it was a joke. it wasn’t…and he just burst out in tears.”

i encourage you to click this link, and read on. do you not just get the biggest lump in your throat when you hear stories like this? wow.

~*~*~*~*~

my presents are wrapped! friday evening, i had a present wrapping party. this is one of my favourite christmas traditions! i spread out all my papers, tags, presents…

watch where you step!

…and went to town. the christmas cd’s were blaring, and i spent over two joy-filled hours wrapping gifts. you know how most people put christmas gifts under the christmas tree?

can you even see my trees?!

well, my tiny tree display is dwarfed by, and practically under the gift pile! and with the present-wrapping accomplished, i am ready for christmas!

~*~*~*~*~

i finished the time traveler’s wife over the weekend! it was good but not great. i gave it **1/2 stars in my reading log book. the positives: it wasn’t too science-fiction-y – > imaginative, yes, but completely other-worldly, no. i loved the way the author constructed this novel: each chapter title indicates the date and how old claire and henry are in the chapter. i needed those pointers – otherwise, the book would have been very confusing. the story is wrapped up in a satisfying manner. i liked both claire and henry, and the supporting characters were interesting, too. i would be keen to see the movie, now – i’ve heard good things about it – just to see how the film version deals with the time travel leaps, and the dramatic events in the book.

i think it’s the busy time of year, but my reading brain is tired and wants some fluff. so, i borrowed a book from our recycling room lending library:

good ol' danielle steel

i haven’t read a danielle steel in ages! like, twenty years ago, i used to read each of her new releases. then, she started churning them out too fast for me to keep up (plus, i diversified my reading interests) and i can’t remember the last time i read one of these ez-read love stories. typically, the first chapter introduced the flawless, gorgeous heroine…we’ll see what befalls her in the coming pages.

what percentage are you at today, in terms of christmas readiness? me = 100%!

ever read danielle steel? i classify her stuff as “beach reads” – and not that great ones, at that!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On December 19, 2011 at 11:45 am

    I just bought my last gifts, the house (as you know) is decorated, and my cards have been mailed. But I have to wrap presents (which I hate) and do office cards, so I’d say75-80percent done.
    It’s been a while since I read danielle steel, but she was never my favorite. Just not my style I think.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 19, 2011 at 11:52 am

      zo

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 19, 2011 at 11:54 am

      i tell you, if we were closer, i would volunteer to wrap your gifts! i genuinely love that christmas “task!” congrats on being mostly ready. you’ll have some time this week to relax on the couch and enjoy the glow of the tree lights! ds books are VERY formulaic – i don’t think i will search out another for quite some time!

  • Johanna B  On December 19, 2011 at 11:22 am

    I am 100% ready for the holidays.

    I read Danielle Steele occasionally. My mother was a big fan and had all her books. I sold her collection en masse after she passed. I didn’t want to house them and I hoped someone else would enjoy them as much as she did. PS – I tried to give them away but the lady that wanted them insisted on paying me a little something.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 19, 2011 at 11:33 am

      hooray for being holiday-ready, johanna! wow – i would love to know how many ds books your mom had! i fully agree with passing along books after they’ve read – good recycling, and good to pass along the enjoyment of reading!

  • Stephanie  On December 19, 2011 at 9:28 am

    I’m almost completely ready for Christmas! I just need to get one more thing for JP, and then I’m finished. I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife, but the ending was almost unbearably sad.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 19, 2011 at 9:46 am

      yippee for being christmas-ready! this week, you can sit back, admire your xmas decorations, watch xmas movies, listen to xmas music!…but mostly relax! time traveler’s wife – very sad ending, but i also thought it was a fitting ending. i was more shocked by what happened to henry before the ending (sorry to be circumspect, i am trying to not spoil then ending if anyone has not read the book!).

Leave a Reply

