little worrywart

on tuesday, i had to take the rav in for an oil change and an extended “physical,” if you will. i was kinda irked that my free tuesday morning and early aft would be eaten up with this task – when i took the rav in the for an oil change back in june, i had been warned that the next appt would be a long one – four hours! they weren’t kidding! so at least i had tons of time to prep myself, mentally.

heffner’s does provide shuttle transport, if you so desire, but i figured i might as well stay at the service centre and put in my time rather than trot back and forth between waterloo and kitchener. this toyota dealer is just a short hop away from fairview park mall [it turned out to be a < 15 minute walk away], and since heffner’s offers lots of free amenities for its customers (see the link above, there, to review the full list), i figured i could amuse myself for the four hour block of time.

a couple of things were weighing on my mind about this service appt, and what if scenarios kept running through my brain: what if the appointment takes longer than anticipated and i am super-rushed getting to work? what if the technicians find a major problem that is going to cost mega-$ to fix? what am i going to do while i am W.A.I.T.I.N.G.?…

i don’t consider myself a chronic worrier. but, every once in a while a situation presents itself where i turn a molehill into a mountain – and this car appointment was one of them.

the other issue is that i am just not a patient person when it comes to waiting. i dislike waiting for a movie to start, for a plane flight, for the grocery check-out…if i’m ready, i wanna go now! (at least i recognize this shortcoming!).

anyway – the good thing about having ruminated about the potential negative what if’s was that everything turned out way better than i thought!

after depositing the rav in the service bay, slightly before my 9:30 a.m. appointment time, i collected my complimentary coffee, cookie and newspaper:

all set up!

then, i set out for the mall. how do you fill as much time as possible? you try on…

bras!

and jeans!

unfortunately, i struck out big time in trying to outfit both my upper and lower stories. but at least i occupied myself til 11:30 a.m.!

prior to my rav appointment, i eventually remembered a dr phil trick on how to combat fretting: imagine the worst possible outcomes you can, and then either brainstorm how you will deal with them, or envision how they are truly unlikely to happen. when i was in la senza, heffner’s did call to advise that they had found a couple of things which should be fixed…luckily, i had anticipated this phone call and FYI, so i was very calm about agreeing to the added expense. thanks, dr phil!

just as i was leaving the mall, heffner’s called again to say that the rav was ready to be picked up. how awesome – almost two hours ahead of schedule!

in the end, the final bill was not so bad at all – in fact, right in the ball park range of what i had anticipated. and now ravvie is set til july when it’ll be time for a regular oil change.

afterwards, i felt a bit silly for the mental energy i had expended in worrying prematurely. for future situations which are outside my comfort zone, instead of working myself up, i’m going to stick with the strategy of planning for the worst, imagining solutions, and being prepared. lesson learned!

on a scale of 1-10, how patient are you? me = two. it’s an inherited trait from dad!

it’s friday the 13th! on a scale of 1-10, how superstitious are you? me = four. i’ll walk under ladders and don’t avoid black cats. my superstition runs more to the type that if x has worked for me in the past (ie i had a really good run wearing this top and these shoes, after eating this food) then i’ll keep repeating that combination. then, eventually, the luck changes and i ditch that belief!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On January 13, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    I’ve gotten more and more patient as I get older. I think having kids will help me with that one, too! Time will tell. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 13, 2012 at 9:48 pm

      good for you, dorry! patience is a worthy skill to develop. thanks for bringing up the children aspect – i have to say, i am more patient with my nieces than probably any other people! 🙂

  • Lisa  On January 13, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    This post is a good reminder—I definitely sometimes get the worry wort thing going on when it’s not going to help anything. Most of the time it’s about things I have no control over.
    It’s easy to see it in other people—I have lots of clients who stress about things they can’t control–sometimes all day everyday, and my response goes something like this,
    “Imagine yourself as two people. Person A and Person B. Person A is really stressed out. Person B is totally carefree. The situation? It’s the same no matter what. At the end of the day, if the situation is the same…who is better off, healthier and happier? Person A or Person B?”
    It’s not always easy to see it when I’m being person a myself though!
    I like the Dr. Phil trick!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 13, 2012 at 9:50 pm

      oh, thanks for sharing your example, lisa!!! i really like that way of framing a stressful situation. that’s as worthy as the dr phil idea! yes, isn’t it interesting how we DO stress over things we can’t control…just today i was worried about possible weather conditions – for sure we have no say over that! enjoy your weekend, lisa! i know you have a lot planned!

  • Zo  On January 13, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    I’d say 4-5 for patience. It’s not my strong suit!
    I don’t mind fri. the 13th! And you know I don’t avoid black cats!
    Glad your oil change went smoothly!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 13, 2012 at 6:45 pm

      thanks, zo! nope, no issues with black cats for you!! hope you had a good friday the 13th! 🙂

  • Stephanie  On January 13, 2012 at 11:39 am

    I’m ok with waiting, so long as I have something to do. If I can wander around the mall, or if there’s WIFI and I can bring my laptop, or if I have a book, then I’m good for hours. But if I’m stuck waiting somewhere boring with nothing to do but flip through old magazines…then I get really fidgety and stressed out.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 13, 2012 at 11:58 am

      laptops + wifi is just about the best thing invented! great way to fill time! old magazines – i hear ya! nothing worse than flipping through a five year old magazine! esp if pages are missing!

  • Johanna B  On January 13, 2012 at 10:08 am

    As long as I have something to read (and I never ever go anywhere without somethings to read) I can wait as long as I have to. I like the idea of being able to walk to the mall and spend the time shopping though. So, I guess I’d rate myself about an 8 on patience.

    As for superstitious – not at all. The weatherman was having a field day with the temp this morning. It was 13* on channel 13 on the 13th. So he declared it a lucky omen.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 13, 2012 at 10:11 am

      bringing a book at all times – now that is a great idea, johanna. love it! haha, i love that weather forecast – how do these things work out?! i’d say that IS a good omen!

  • Andrea Budding (@AndreaBudding)  On January 13, 2012 at 10:00 am

    I can completely relate to this post! On a scale of 1 – 10, I am probably hovering around a strong 1.5. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 13, 2012 at 10:08 am

      ah, excellent!!! no wonder you fit in so well with the family, andrea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

