you really need a birthday WEEK!

a week ago today it was my birthday!! [haha, no worries – i am not going to remind you every monday for the next year as to how many weeks it has been since the celebration of my birth – that kind of tracking is appropriate only for newborn babies!].

here are some select highlights of Birthday Week 2012:

the official birthday portrait, taken on january 9th:

@ 42 years young!

birthday nails!

sparkle glitz is perfect for a week of festing!

[thank you, gina, for the very kiki birthday present! and, gina, your source was correct: the sparkles do stand out wonderfully against black nail polish!].

birthday blue skies

is it really mid-january?!!

…and snow-free terrain:

our mild winter continues...i have not enjoyed too many green birthdays, over the years!

birthday lesson: i cannot tell you how touched i was by all of the blog and facebook comments, emails, paper cards, text and blackberry messages, and personal well-wishes that i received on my birthday. i appreciated each and every one. i realized two things: 1) i am going to wish every facebook friend happy birthday from now on, regardless of how well i know them. (in the past, i have hesitated to reach out to contacts i don’t know all that well – from now on, it matters not). 2) you can’t wish somebody happy birthday too much! a card + an email + a facebook post, for example?? yup! it’s ok to wish somebody happy birthday via a variety of media, multiple times!

birthday tv! hehe, the producers of jersey shore timed the premier of season five perfectly! it aired on thursday, january 5th. i finally had a chance to watch it online on tuesday (since i was done early at the toyota shop). this is my favourite crap tv reality show, and i look forward to following the kids, back at the shore, over the next several weeks!

(source)

birthday family time!

aunti wednesday +! (we missed sil ana who was traveling!)

birthday coffees!

@ coffee culture with vfbf joanne on thursday! (also "12 days of kiki" coffee outing #1!)

@ symposium with cathie on saturday! (also "12 days of kiki" coffee outing #2!)

celebrity birthday twin!

guess what i found out just on monday? kate middleton and i share a birthday!

(source)

i had no clue about this until i randomly happened across this article, kate middleton quietly turns 30 in last monday’s globe and mail. neato! [now i really DO have to gift her that baby blanket, should she and wills become pregnant!].

do you know of any celebrities who share your birthday? i know of no one else who also was birthed on january 9th and is famous. actually, i don’t know anyone PERIOD whose birthday is january 9th!

what was the best birthday and the worst birthday that you can remember? interesting that kate turned 30 on monday -> for some reason, that was the most traumatic age for me. i distinctly remember breaking down in tears several times on that bday (??). the best? i’ll go with my 16th birthday because i passed my beginner’s driver’s license that very day (the first day i could take the test). i remember feeling so proud and excited! dad took me to take the test, and after gave me my very own key for the family car, on a “mutual life” keychain.

[housekeeping matter: i have updated the 12 days of kiki, project #12 -> instead of stating that i will plan twelve coffee outings, i’ve changed the term to social get-togethers. this way, options are open to more interpretations!

housekeeping matter #2: question: how will you, dear reader, know whether i cheat on any of the 12 days of kiki projects? specifically, i am thinking of the no gum and no pop challenges. answer: you won’t, haha! i’m sticking to the honour system – you’ll have to trust that i play by my rules. just so you know, i have a reward already planned for when i successfully complete this year’s kikiproject – that dangling carrot is all the motivation i need!].

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • karen at virtually there  On January 21, 2012 at 6:51 am

    I share my birthday with Bono, which I thought was very cool in the late 80s and early 90s.

    Best birthday… ooh, the one I spent in St. Petersburg, Russia when I was travelling in Russia for a month with my friend Deb. Worst… can’t remember the year – I think it was 1986 when I was in Grade 8 – my birthday landed on a Saturday and my family sort of ignored it except for a birthday supper and instead my mom made me cut the lawn. It was depressing.

    I’m still debating how to celebrate this coming birthday as I’m turning 40. I’ve been inspired by kikiproject but I haven’t yet landed on what exactly to do.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 21, 2012 at 6:54 am

      ok, those are PERFECT examples of best and worst bdays as yes, russia would be so memorable and cutting the lawn is NOT a celebration! 🙂 ah – the big 4-0!!! i can’t wait to hear how you celebrate and if you decide on a project of some sort! come to waterloo for the weekend closest to your bday – how about that for festing?!

  • janetha  On January 16, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Happy belated! I believe you for sure need birthday weeks 😀

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 16, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      thanks, janetha! yea – way too much fun to be had for a single, solitary day! hey – i was thinking of you yesterday when i saw a bit of the packers game – sorry about that outcome!! i bet marshall was not a happy camper last eve!!!

  • Johanna B  On January 16, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    Just an aside – in 2012 I am celebrating “me day” on the 31st of each month that has a 31st. My BD is on July 31 and I intend to enjoy several of my days this year.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 16, 2012 at 4:33 pm

      beautiful!! what a super idea, johanna! i love how your actual bday date lines up with the last day of the month/31st. and it’s not EVERY month which will make your celebrations just a little more special! please let us know what you end up doing…and you have january 31st not too long from now!!

  • Dorry  On January 16, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    Oh I missed it! Well, happy belated birthday to you! It looks like you had a well-rounded amount of celebration and beautiful weather. 🙂 My best birthday was probably my 30th last October. I got to spend time with family and friends and it was lovely. My 29th was great, too – we were in Madrid on the tail-end of our honeymoon. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 16, 2012 at 4:18 pm

      thanks, dorry! we are seriously enjoying quite the mild winter so far…fingers crossed it continues. regardless, we are already mid-january so two more months of “winter” is all that is ahead of us! you’re on a roll with two enjoyable and memorable birthday years in a row! and next october will be a new location for you, again! i bet you will have a great celebration wherever you are! madrid would be unforgettable for sure!

  • Johanna B  On January 16, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    I knew it was your birthday. I knew it was Kate’s birthday. Did I put the two together? No. I must be dense.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 16, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      haha! that’s ok…i actually read the whole newspaper article BEFORE it clicked that we shared the same birthday…duh!

  • Lisa  On January 16, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Happy belated birthday!
    It sounds like you had a great day and then some.
    I have a friend who celebrates her birth-week every year, and another friend who celebrates her birth-month!

    My least favorite bday was 30—I broke up with my boyfriend three days or so before, and therefore he attended my (joint with two other friends) birthday party and I did not. It was a great idea to break-up, but it was still hard…luckily I had my mom and matthew to celebrate with!

    My birthday buddies are Mick Jagger, Dorothy Hamil, Sandra Bullock, Kevin Spacey…

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 16, 2012 at 11:16 am

      thanks, lisa! 🙂 my brother says i also get to celebrate my “orthodox birthday” -> for that, you choose any day of the year you wish and celebrate again! sounds good to me and i will choose a day when it is HOT out! wow, you have quite the collection of birthday twins – you have a popular birth date! thanks for sharing the story of YOUR 30th…eesh, not fun circumstances. i am so glad you had your mom and matthew on that day, to celebrate with, and that you have moved forward from those circumstances!

  • Gina Unger  On January 16, 2012 at 10:22 am

    very good to read about your b’day week! LOVE the nails, of course! 😉
    as for people who share your b’day… a good friend of ours has a january 9 b’day, too! i didn’t know until i got the fb message, though!
    you’re lookin’ a young 42, babe!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 16, 2012 at 10:28 am

      aw, thanks, dear friend! i my heart, i am NOT 42!!! that sparkle polish drew a lot of compliments, i tell ya! (and not just from little nieces!). all right!! i am happy to hear of another january 9th bday person!! what we don’t find out from facebook, eh?!

  • Zo  On January 16, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Happy one week after your birthday day :-). I agree about the “happy birthday” greetings making a difference.
    I know I’m completely fabulous because I share my birthday with Kim Kardashian! And you know, Libras are indecisive, so maybe that explains some things.
    I had a sad 36th birthday because I had to put my kitty to sleep the day before, so that was rough. I’ve had some really nice birthdays as well…my 30th and 40th were both good ones.

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 16, 2012 at 10:24 am

      Thanks, zo! Kim k is a fun bday twin!!
      Yea, your situation with your kittie would make for a not fun bday…glad other years have made up for it!

Leave a Reply

