the fun factor

how, exactly, do you quantifiably measure “FUN?”

something that i find to be an absolute hoot may leave you scratching your head in bewilderment. then, you may be laughing uncontrollably on the floor while i will be looking at you like you just landed from another planet. i have no answer to this FUN question – all i know is that i had a lot of FUN in march.

you’ll remember from here that my theme o’ the month was to make march as FUN as possible. how’d that go? well, i’m going to give this goal a rating of A-. here’s the reasoning…

first, off the top of my head, are five occasions that were a lot of FUN:

1. taking off for toronto on a friday aft to spend time with little e and cutie c.

2. massively beating my knitting deadline for the blanket donation to mcc.

you will see the blanket again in MAY when it's auction preview night!

3. seeing “the vowwith nicole and “salmon fishing in the yemenwith andrea. *sigh.* i really love movies.

4. shopping with mom (and dad) at conestoga mall and getting aviator sunglasses!

LOVE!!!

5. drinking a free coffee the size of my head at tim hortons.

next: how FUN was the store? mega! three reasons to note:

1. the arrival of new apparel! merchandising spring/summer clothing is even more fun than unpacking the winter gear. this year, the colours for both shoes and tops/bottoms are very bright. the displays positively pop! it’s been fun to gradually switch over from cold weather wear to the summer selections.

2. completing markdown reports – ok, i may be in the minority, here. most of my colleagues intensely dislike the process of going around and pricing stickers onto items that are now on sale. but, i genuinely like this task! (type a, much??). i look at it as a chance to play treasure hunt, and also i like taking the opportunity to organize and straighten while i’m at it (obsessive/compulsive, much??). it’s very satisfying to cross off each selection with a fresh, black sharpie marker (and it’s FUN to use the sticker gun – haha!).

3. social connections: i love my tuesday eve and sunday morning shifts when i see clinic members and run club participants, respectively. over the years, some of these regulars have truly become friends, and it’s so nice to have these weekly opportunities to chat. and convince them to buy things. i really like meeting new customers, too, and finding out what brings them to the store – everyone has a different story. conversing is such an enjoyable element of my job!

blogging was very FUN this month. by switching to posting with no fixed schedule, no expectations, no pressure, i can genuinely say that each and every blog entry was a delight to compose. and that’s the way it should be!

our march weather was certainly FUN! when you can wear shorts, go jacketless, and see flowers blooming practically in front of your eyes, that is a good, good third month of the calendar year.

one last observation – i really had many moments of personal happiness this month. i chalk that up to being mindful of living in the present, and really making an effort to consciously note “hey, i feel really happy right now.” [not being overly-jacked up on s’bux via pacs contributed to a calmer brain, i have to say!].

i could go on and on, but i’ll leave a few highlights to share when i do my 12 days of kiki monthly review on april 9th.

~*~*~*~*~

let’s talk links and linkbacks (that is when you can click on a word in a blog post and it will take you to a link – a previous blog post, a reference on a website, a news story, etc). today is a very linkback-heavy blog post!

do links/linkbacks bug you? some bloggers get all ragey over multiple linkbacks in a blog post. personally, they don’t bother me at all.

do you ever click on the links/linkbacks? on other blogs, i confess that i never click on a linkback. i do like to include them when i write because they help to flesh out that day’s story. the reader has the choice to click or to keep on reading, so i don’t think they’re that big a deal. (for bloggers who make money off page clicks, i do see the business angle behind the linkback practice. more page veiws = more income, for them. that is not my case!).

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On April 3, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    you really MUST read The Happiness Project!! after reading this post, I do believe you would absolutely love it! I’ve been meaning to write more/do a review on my blog, but I can 100% recommend it to you. it’s right up your alley. đŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 3, 2012 at 5:21 pm

      thank you for the solid recommendation on “the happiness project,” dorry – i will look at the library…and i think a friend of mine has it! maybe when you get settled in nyc, you will feel inspired to do a review on your blog…now is not exactly a great time for you to do time-consuming blog posts! đŸ™‚

  • Zo  On March 30, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    I envy your fun and admire your attitude/approach.
    I do have linkbacks when I refer to a post that wasn’t the previous post (like if I say “in my last post…” I figure the reader can just click on the bottom where it says “previous posts.” If I’m talking about a post from further back..I link. I don’t think people often click on them. I will click if I’m intrigued to know what the other post said. I would say I don’t like it when I blogger constantly uses them (some posts just call for them…others not)..especially if they’re using them to get more clicks/drive up views (like to get to a recipe you have to click to a previous post and then click to see the recipe from there!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 30, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      very cool – we have similar thoughts re the linkbacks! i have noticed that you make wise use of the linkback approach, zo! you don’t overdo the linking. it’s very funny how on some blogs, you can just tell the linking is for professional purposes!

  • Lisa  On March 30, 2012 at 6:55 am

    Ahhhh….I just wrote a big fat long comment and lost it! It was my fault though….I wanted to re-look at the blanket and I clicked on the pic so it took me away… Oops! I’ll abbreviate my response—I really got carried away anyway. ha.

    Anyway…..yay for fun!

    Linkbacks: I like them, and command+click so that when I see one I want to read, it opens in a new tab and doesn’t interrupt my flow of reading the post. Although, I only click if it’s something I haven’t seen, a recipe I want to review, or something else I’m really interested in… I don’t usually click yours because I’ve already seen what you’re referring to!

    If I had to markdown stuff at the store, I think I’d have a hard time not purchasing lots of the “deals!”

    The blanket is beautiful….you have a real and wonderful talent!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 30, 2012 at 7:03 am

      argh! that is SO frustrating to lose a comment! thanks for the shorter version – it’s still very fun to read! i have to admit i did come home with two pairs of running tights this week – the discount was just too much to resist!! i have lost track of how long we have been blog friends!…but it is cool that it has been long enough that we each know what the other has been up to so there is no need to click on links! happy yoga-ing today, lisa!

Leave a Reply

