what should i doooooo??

let’s cut right to the chase, and i will explain to you my dilemma. i am really feeling quite…stressed fraught!

here is the situation:

late last week, i was presented with a professional blogging job offer. i’m pretty incredulous. it seems that the kikiproject blog has managed to catch the attention of the *right* people at the city of waterloo. it appears that blog posts such as my first visit to stitch n kitsch, the review of thrive juice bar, and trying outdoor yoga were eye-catching and of general interest. the powers that be like how the blog has featured everything from the outdoor skate park to the buskers festival to coffee shops. i never stopped to think how extensively i have covered various neighbourhood spaces ‘n’ places in the last 2.25 years!.

here’s the deal: the uptown business association has received funding to use within the realm of social media. with the current popularity of blogs/twitter/facebook, and the desire to increase their online presence, the city of waterloo has decided to hire a full-time blogger to promote uptown waterloo. this person (me?!) will have free range to blog on any variety of topics:

store openings and retail ventures…

the new flower shop in the mall, for example...

community events…

i will have to participate!!!

…i can even interview people gathered in the outdoor square…

a very popular spot on sunny days!

anyway, i am completely floored to have been offered this position!

thanks to the funding grant, the proposed salary is very generous (plus, the deal includes an expense account, a clothing allowance, and a new DSLR camera!). more importantly, i am thrilled about being able to choose what i want to write about in my beloved neighbourhood (i predict lots of coffee shop writing sessions!).

here  is where i need your help, though, as there are a couple of concerns that are holding me back from saying YESYESYES!!! right away:

~ the contract is for one year only AND requires a full-time commitment (they want me to post seven times per week for fifty-two weeks – good thing i had practice blogging daily last year!).

~ i will be required to attend as many events and functions as possible – it’ll be a very full social schedule of long days – plus run around and source stories on my own.

~ there is no guarantee of having the job extend past twelve months – do i give up my current job security to take this “limited time offer?”

~ reading between the lines, i sense there will be considerable blogging pressure: i will need to consider word count limits, deadlines, a more complex blogging platform than my current wordpress account, ensuring blog hits increase as time goes on…how FUN will this be?

i just don’t know how to respond! i’ll be doing some deep thinking (sitting and pondering!)…but, in the meantime, please let me know asap:

what would you do??

thanks, friends!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On April 3, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    you are hilarious! sounds like a dream job to me!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm

      yes, i tried to dream up a “too good to be true” scenario…one can only wish for such a dilemma! 🙂

  • Stephanie  On April 1, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Ha! Yeah right. In my dreams. And yours.

  • Mom  On April 1, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Got me! You rascal!!

  • Liz Brownlee  On April 1, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Take it, you fool! What could be more fun! Congratulations!

  • Zo  On April 1, 2012 at 9:37 am

    I read this and thought…wow..that’s amazing..then, really? a clothing allowance? then really…this is amaa…wait a minute..today’s April Fool’s! And then I read the comments and saw some of the heartfelt advice people gave you…(and the other April Fool’s messages). So, striving cynical me says “ha! good post!” with a tinge of…wow, what if it were true (but I’m too much of a cynic to leave a lovely, heartfelt message, given what today is!)

  • Anonymous  On April 1, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Has to be a joke. Happy April Fools!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 1, 2012 at 7:38 am

    Hi Kiki! I think I’ve seen your comments on forgotten beast a lot! Thanks for commenting on BCDC. This sounds like an incredible opportunity.

    My questions are: Any way you could do your real job and the blogging job at the same time? I used to work various full time jobs and still lead classes for Weight Watchers at night and on Saturdays.

    Next question: As an alternative, is there anyway you could work part time at your current job or request a leave of absence? It’s such a hard choice to make and of course you probably need to make the choice RIGHT NOW! That can make you crazy.

    I would love the opportunity, but I’m not working right now so it would not be a difficult choice for me. Glad I found you and I’ll look forward to hearing what you decide!

  • Karen  On April 1, 2012 at 7:32 am

    Hmmm…. A very generous salary for a blogger and from government no less?? Blogging seven days a week in little old Waterloo?… Um, April Fool’s!?!?

  • Lisa  On April 1, 2012 at 7:23 am

    OMGGGGGGGGG! Or maybe I mean OOOOOOOOOOOOMG!

    Seriously, what an honor (and one you thoroughly deserve—Mom and I were just talking about how we love your posts and your conversational style in writing!).

    I would be seriously tempted too, and also have the same hesitations.

    My two immediate thoughts are:

    1. Whatever decision you make will be right (to quote my mom: “Make a decision and then make it right.”)

    2. Your heart, brain, and gut will tell you what to do. The trick is to stop thinking about it with your brain…. one of my favorite Jerry and Esther Hicks quotes is this “Think with your heart and feel with your brain.” The way I can get to this state is through exercise…before I start, I ask the question I need to “feel” an answer to, take a deep breath, and then I do cardio exercise for an hour without thinking about it specifically. Then after, while walking/cool down, I ask the question again, picture myself in each situation and “feel” what each feels like…

    Your heart and gut and brain will tell you!! If it FEELS good, do it. If it doesn’t, then say thank you so much (and maybe offer yourself to do part-time per-job work…they may not find a full-time person!), and go about your already fantastic life!

    Ok, that’s my two cents. I’m thrilled for you either way!

Leave a Reply

