DIY follow-up!

for months i have been meaning to provide you with an update on how my hand-made composting bags worked out. well, today is the day!

to refresh your memory: for one of my kikiproject new experiences last year, i made my own compost bin bags out of newspaper. (you can read that blog post here).

that original stash has now dwindled to a measly pile of three bags:

i'm going to have to get crafting again!

i did also keep one of the store bought bags “just in case” [do you do this, too? keep something around because you figure you may need it at some point? 99% of the time, i do not need whatever i have kept]:

the lone "professional" enviro bag

ok, so here’s my feedback:

the newspaper, hand-crafted versions ARE WAY BETTER than the store-bought! seriously! i have been SO impressed with how well the paper boats the folded newspaper liners work:

  • they have not leaked, at all
  • they fit my little compost bin better than the store-bought bags did
  • the refuse smells less in the newspaper than in the plastic-lined bags – i have to change the newspaper liners LESS frequently than i was changing the store-bought bags [i’m still a little too lax on swapping out a full bag for a new one – you’d be grossed out probably if i told you how not often i remember to change the bag. oops].
  • the contents become mouldy/disgusting less quickly than in the plastic-lined bags

all in all, i totally endorse the DIY version. it’s cheaper (um, make that FREE if you have access to someone else’s newspapers!), it’s fun to do, it’s easy to do, and the finished product is top quality.

if you have children + a compost bin in your home, i TOTALLY recommend you do this activity – combine a lesson about the environment with an artsy-craftsy project! how fun!

just so that you don’t have to click on mega-links, here is where you can find a video on how to fold the newspaper into the bin liners.

any other examples of where DIY was better than store-bought? handmade knit sweaters…by some knitters, not all!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 5, 2012 at 7:05 am

    That is just great! Our community recycles but nothing like this. I guess in a condo situation it would work really well. The good thing about our recycling program, we get points for the weight that we recycle, then we can go to a web site and redeem it for things. I just got a $10 Walmart gift card! Excellent!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 5, 2012 at 7:08 am

      wow!!! now that is excellent incentive to have that GC program!! i bet a lot more people would be enthusiastic in my community if we did that. glad you got the walmart card! composting – yes, i am glad i do not have to do anything other than dump my bag into the communal bin…then the superintendant takes over!

  • Zo  On April 4, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Baked goods come to mind as far as DIY v. store (home baked chocolate chip cookies win..although as I said, yes, the girl scout cookies are good…okay, now I’m conflicted)! That’s so cool that your home made bags work better…it works out very well for you

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 4, 2012 at 9:26 pm

      yea – a total win situation with the bags. i am just glad they don’t leak – that would be a real mess! i would say that girl guide cookies are one of the only types that can give home baked a goods a run for their money! glad you have some on hand to enjoy!!

  • Lisa  On April 4, 2012 at 7:11 am

    I’m gonna have to do this—we have not been composting since fall because there’s no where to put it since my Mom banned us from their composter for a while (we add too much and it doesn’t have time to decompose before it gets full…I don’t get it, but…). Our method was to put it in the freezer and deliver it to Mom’s…but now we’re closer to this year’s garden, so we can deliver it there more often. The problem is how to freeze it not in a plastic bag…do you think there’s a way to make these work for freezer use?
    I guess my other problem is my tiny freezer. And I don’t want to compost in there unsecured with my pb&j cups! lol.

    Hmmm…DIY stuff….I’m terrible at it. I guess if food goes in that category, then I’d say Most Things I Eat are better (for me) when I make at home.
    I hate (wow, strong word, but it’s true!) DIY projects…and that is why I will probably always rent instead of buying a home—unless I make a bazillion dollars and can afford for someone to do everything for me.

    I’m glad you had a great day chatting with customers at the stores yesterday! Hope it’s warm and sunny up your way…next week, I’ll be in SC, and although it’s not Florida…it’s still warm! I know I’ll think of you while I’m at the beach (covered in sunscreen, a hat, and under an umbrella! Ha).

    • cathy@1970kikiproject  On April 4, 2012 at 8:40 am

      oh, i am excited for you for your trip next week, lisa! and yes, thank you for thinking of me when you are on the beach (my natural habitat, haha!).
      the composting issue: hmmm, i am sure the newspaper bags would be fine in the freezer, but i am like you and the thought of compost contents next to the food i am going to consume is…less than appealing. i had to laugh at your mom banning you from the composter, temporarily. parents are funny sometimes! (yes, my mom will see this comment!). your talent IS do it yourself recipe-creating. you’re on a real roll, of late!!

Leave a Reply

