friday the good

every good friday, i think of my most excellent running chum, sandy (from back when we ran together at the y) who called good friday “no fun friday,” and did not permit herself to do anything that she enjoyed for the whole entire day. that logic is a little too extreme for me although the #1 item for me today is spring cleaning, a job that does not exactly fill me with mirth. i will keep visualizing the “after” look of the condo casa to keep me on task!

i was going to entitle today’s post fun! facts! friday! (and yes, use an abundance of exclamation points to make up for yesterday) but good friday does contain solemn overtones to it, given my christian upbringing – even if fun is allowed, in my books. i also ruled out five foto friday or friday fotos because i am trying to never repeat a blog title (i think i’m on track, do correct me if i am wrong).

shopping is always entertaining to discuss, and i managed to finagle it so that the items begin with “f;” here are two purchases from this week!

#1: feather earrings:

i had my heart set on the peacock type!

in the fashion post from not so long ago, i mentioned these earrings, and i’ve been fixated on them since then. so, i caved and bought them…there were cheaper ones at conestoga mall, but they were not PEACOCK feathers, and i know from previous experience that if i “settle” for x when i truly want y, i will regret it – and end up buying y, eventually.

good progress is being made with the spring fashion wardrobe, 2012 edition!

  • aviator sunglasses
  • cutoff shorts (i did get the roxy’s at o.w. sports – 50% off? i had to!).
  • peacock earrings

i think i’ve satisfied my shopping bug! ok, not quite…

#2 nike free shoes

wayyyyy back here (september 2011!) i first talked about and showed you these shoes. every. single. day. i have gazed at them at the storeS and thought about how very cute and happy they are. well, they finally went on sale….and i bought a pair:

welcome home!!

(karen, you and i can be twins on our next coffee get-together!!).

this purchase is justifiable – i had to grab my fifth pair of these fantastic frees! look at my purple pair!

i can't be wearing hole-y frees around - how unprofessional!

now, can you guess why the nike free + 2 shoes went on sale??? yea. if you guessed at the arrival of the updated version, you would be correct.

the nike free + 3 shoes - in stores now! luckily, i have a pair of neon pink, so while these are fun, they are not essential to my life

it is just impossible to keep up around here!

how are you spending good friday? how much fun will you have? i am breaking up my cleaning marathon with a mid-day coffee outing!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Melissa  On August 10, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Where did you buy the neon pink nikes at? I love them!

  • Johanna B  On April 6, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    Happy Easter chum!!

  • mauricem1972  On April 6, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Gotta love Nikes! Visted for the A-Z challenge. Nice stuff!

  • Stephanie  On April 6, 2012 at 8:44 am

    I love your feather earrings! Those are the kind of things that I look at and think about and maybe even buy…but don’t wear. I want to be a girl who wears feather earrings, but I’m not quite there yet! And those shoes are so much fun.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 6, 2012 at 9:31 am

      i am picking and choosing when to wear the earrings – if it is too windy, i am afraid to get my feathers ruffled, so i don’t want to wear them in those conditions…and i will not pair them with the shoes, fear not! buy some bright converse sneakers, stephanie – i see you in something like that, haha!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 6, 2012 at 8:25 am

    I hope to have some fun, but I’m not sure what just yet! I’m looking forward to Sunday when Lent will be over and I can eat the chocolate buttercream eggs I’ve been craving. I love your new sneaks…I think our feet should draw all the attention!! Mine do anyway as I stomp through life. Have a great day, Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 6, 2012 at 9:28 am

      oh yes! i forgot that aspect of easter, how lent is over on sunday (giving up something for lent is not something we grew up with). do enjoy the eggs on sunday! stomping through life – i like that, fran! maybe i can dance my way along in these shoes!! 🙂

  • Lisa  On April 6, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Good luck with your cleaning spree! You’ll be so happy when it’s done!
    A coffee date sounds like a great way to take a break too.

    I’m sitting on the couch right now with Matthew while he wakes up and watches cartoons. I’m not sure what we’ll do today, something fun I hope! I’m going to put all of my work and projects and taxes in the back of my head so it doesn’t ruin my day with him! There’s always tomorrow…..!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 6, 2012 at 9:26 am

      oh, that is a lovely and relaxing way to start a holiday morning, lisa! and yes, forget about the “work” stuff…to use the old cliche, “they grow up so fast!!” so do enjoy your matthew time!

Leave a Reply

