officially goofy

do you remember seeing those ads that used to run on tv where a hyper, unseen announcer would thrust a microphone in front of an ecstatic, celebrity athlete and bellow, “troy aikman! you just won the super bowl! what are you going to do next??!!” and the practically incoherent mega-superstar would yell, bug-eyed, “I’M GOING TO DISNEYWORLD!!!” before continuing on with his victory arm-pumps and man-hugs with his equally-frenzied team-mates?

well, my current level of excitement is right on par with these guys. cuz…guess who is going to celebrate her birthday next january in disney? me, yes, me!!

(source)

here’s the backstory:

the first time i ever heard of goofy’s race and a half challenge was the first winter i worked at the store. janice came in to the wednesday eve run club one cold, winter night with three rockin’ huge medals dangling from her neck – she was freshly returned from completing the goofy. we all ooh-ed and aah-ed over the super-cute hardware, and i was all ears as janice described her weekend of fun down at disney. i made a note to self: add this travel adventure to my life bucket list.

fast-forward to this past november, or so. various friends at the store started discussing disney 2013 and how a group trip was in the making. a facebook page was established, and i joined, just to stay in the loop as i debated whether i could make a visit to disney a reality for january 2013.

[tangent: typing this post, i sometimes feel like i am composing another april fool’s joke -> but, trust me, this plan is for real!]

i debated the pros and cons, my mind veering from YIPPEE thoughts to the YIKES. on the plus side:

  • a travel opportunity that is not too expensive nor too long in duration
  • a travel opportunity with a group of people i know and like
  • a travel opportunity to florida, my natural habitat, a state i love and adore
  • a travel opportunity that involves running
  • a travel opportunity on the weekend after my birthday
  • a quick get-away escape from january in canada
  • a chance to see all of disney’s parks
  • a chance to train for a specific event: disney is also about the journey, not just the destination
  • MEDALS!! a TSHIRT!!! LAUGHTER-FILLED FUN TIMES!!! (i am not joking when i say these are my three primary goals of completing the goofy)

the potential downsides all included hypothetical what if’s:

  • what if training doesn’t go as planned?
  • what if the weather is horrible that weekend?
  • what if there are flight delays, hotel snafus, race kit pickup blunders??…
  • etc

as you can see, the negatives are largely things beyond my control. (for training, i plan to be smart and do my best). still, i wasn’t 100% sure about disney…i askedvarious friends and family members for their input (thumbs up!), then decided to wait for karma to work its magic (after all, isn’t magic a major disney theme?!) and wait for *a sign.*

easter sunday eve, i got home from our family celebration and found an email:

“time to sign up there girl. come aboard. you can room with c and me.”

bingo. right then and there i made up my mind to just do it. life is too short to be worried by what if’s.

disney registration opened last week, and last monday eve (monday april 9th -> 9th day of the month = birthday date = good karma), i signed myself up.

(source)

i’m going to disney and i’m going to be goofy!!

show me the bliiiiiinnnnggg!!!

(source)

have you ever been to disney (in florida)? my one and only visit was our family vacation when i was nine/in grade three. this was pre-epcot, even!

photos from my album - we hit disney during a cold spell, back in 1979!

i am appreciative of any tips, websites, must-see disney places that you can recommend! at this point, i most want to see cinderella’s castle, again – haha!!

[sidenote: i have planned a number of running-related blog posts for the remaining days of the blogging from a-z april challenge; however, this blog is not about to turn into a training log book – that’s not my style! for example, you may or may not hear about disney again until i do up the race report next january!].

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On April 18, 2012 at 9:59 am

    Oh my gosh, I’m so excited for you!!! For two reasons….no, three…. you are going to our Natural Habitat! You’ll be at The Happiest Place on Earth. You’re participating in a fun event with people you enjoy!!

    Sounds perfect to me.
    I have been to disney several times (I think…6 or 7). So, it can be a really different experience depending on who you’re with (kids vs. adults vs. roller coaster/non-rollercoaster people, etc.). I’ll start thinking of my best disney tips for you 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 18, 2012 at 11:07 am

      thanks for sharing the excitement, lisa!! i will appreciate any and all of your disney tips…i think disney would be a BLAST with little kids along!! (that will need to be a future trip – have dad spring for us all to go down – haha!).

  • strivingcynic  On April 17, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    This is so exciting, Cathy! I’m thrilled for you.
    I have never been to any Disney park! Amazing isn’t it? It’s another one of those “how did I make it to age 40 without ever having been?” type questions for me!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2012 at 6:03 pm

      well, don’t feel bad, zo! like i said, i have only been to disney the one time (nope – i think i was there when i was 4 years old, too, i just thought of that), but i don’t remember very much (the tea cup ride? it’s a small world?!). maybe a disney trip will be in the cards for you in the future?? at least you have easy access to the jersey shore amusements!!

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On April 17, 2012 at 8:56 am

    I can’t imagine how excited you are about this race, in this venue. I’m over the moon at getting to go to Kansas City for a 10K in June and that’s nothing compared to what you’re getting to do. Way to go girl!!! Looking forward to hearing more about it during the coming year.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2012 at 9:08 am

      thanks, johanna! i appreciate your encouraging words! i do hope you will share about your kansas city 10k after you complete that in june – i am excited for YOU!!!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 17, 2012 at 7:55 am

    I’m SO excited for you, Cathy!! I’ve been to DisneyWorld twice. I’m not a big fan because after working as a travel agent for 24 years, I was SICK of hearing about it. Several years removed now, I’ll bet I’d enjoy it, especially Epcot. It reminded me of being at a World’s Fair. I wasn’t into the rides. I can’t wait to hear all about your preparations…Yay!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2012 at 9:07 am

      thanks, fran, for sharing the excitement! wow – i did not know you were a travel agent. that is super cool. i bet if you could get a bunch of family members of various generations to all go to disney together, you’d have a blast! thanks for comparing epcot to a world’s fair – that gives me a better idea of what it is about! (i’m looking forward to doing more research and educating myself on disney between now and january…i may have to pick your travel agent brain!!).

  • The Orchard  On April 17, 2012 at 5:36 am

    I am so envious! I want to do that race one day! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 17, 2012 at 6:22 am

      i hope you can make it happen one of these years, tricia! wouldn’t it be part of a great family vacation?!

Leave a Reply

