queuing

i am not sure whether i should call having to wait in a line up a pet peeve or a form of torture. all i know is that there are few things in life that drive me as batty as having to line up – in any way, shape or form.

i accept no responsibility whatsoever for this personal failing – i squarely cast all blame for my lack of patience on dear dad – lovely man, but dad has not one patient bone in his entire body when it comes to line ups. so, i had no hope from day one, and my impatience is a genetic inheritance. [shrug of shoulders].

to dr phil myself, i completely understand why i hate waiting: it’s because there is no definite timeframe (“it will take forty-two minutes to get through airport security!” or “you will be stuck on the 401 for three hours and three minutes!” [tangent: another reason i love my dentist -> they are always on time!]). type a control freaks do not take open-ended timing well!

(source)

so, without further ado, here are random thoughts on the queue:

murphy’s law: let’s say there are six checkouts open at zehrs. they all have several people lined up, waiting to pay. i’ll eyeball the shoppers and their carts and dive into the line that looks the shortest. invariably, the one i pick will turn out to be the slowest of the options.

a way back playback memory: when we were little, our family often went to the kitchener farmer’s market on saturday mornings. talk about crowds: boy, we’d all be packed like sardines in the aisles between the vendors, that’s how popular the market was on a weekend morning. one specific outing sticks in my mind – dad and i couldn’t take the slowpoke, shuffling pace being forced upon us by the masses of marketgoers, and just like in the video game frogger…

(source)

…we sped ahead of the brother and my mom, darting left, squeezing right, jostling passersby, slamming forward. what did we prove? absolutely nothing. but it sure was satisfying to determine the pace.

illegal avoidance technique: if i am out walking and i get to a red light, i will look both ways – and look both ways again – and walk against the red light if there is no traffic approaching. however: this action never occurs at the intersection of caroline and erb, in my ‘hood. that corner is absolutely terrible when you do have the green light and right-of-way to walk!

queuing as it relates to concert tickets: i’ve never done the camp-out-overnight-in-a-lawnchair-to-get-tickets-for-U2 type-thing, and can’t say that i feel i’ve missed out on a great life experience. thanks to the internet, this form of capturing seats to an in-demand performance may be a thing of the past.

the coldest i have ever been in my life: the winter after little e was born (so, january 2007), sil ana got wind of a lululemon warehouse sale being held in downtown toronto. she organized a meet-up with herself, her two sisters, and me. we decided to go on the morning of opening day (mistake #1) in order to catch the best selection. well, if that thursday did not prove to be the coldest day in toronto of the whole winter – i think the HIGH temp was -22 degrees C. i bundled up well, but wore trail running shoes instead of boots (mistake #2). we got to the site of the sale only to find a lineup snaking around several city blocks. we joined in. about two hours later, we had not moved an inch. we decided to throw in the towel and head home. it is surprising that i still have living toes. i don’t think i have ever been so chilled to the bone – ever!! [we later found out that by saturday, there were no lineups at all, and you were able to simply walk in and shop]. i would have been forgiving of my state of popsicleness had i been able to score some lulu goods, eventually!

the only time i exhibit patience: if little e or cutie c are involved, suddenly i have all the time in the world.

do you tend to keep people waiting or are you habitually early? i follow the five minute guideline – a 3 pm rendezvous means a 2:55 pm arrival!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On April 22, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    I hate keeping people waiting, so I always strive to get places early! our shifts at work start on the hour (ex. 9:00am), but it’s a rule that we get there at least 10 minutes early to get situated and clock in before we hit the floor. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 22, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      we have the same “rule” at the store! you need that time to transition, for sure. i had a feeling you would be an early “bird!” 😉

  • Britney Gulbrandsen  On April 19, 2012 at 11:26 pm

    I like to be on time! But with a kid, I still find myself late at times. Thanks to those last minute oh-no-you-spilt-something-all-over-yourself-and-now-i-have-to-change-you or if-i-were-a-baby-where-would-i-hide-mommy’s-keys? moments!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2012 at 5:54 am

      thanks for commenting, britney! and yes – if small children are involved, we can allow for lateness! those “oh no!” moments that happen just as you are about to leave must be taken into consideration – fun times, right?!!

  • strivingcynic  On April 19, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    Habitually early. I hate being late and am very annoyed by late arrivers! Another pet peeve is when I think someone manages to be late because they want to not have to worry about finding a table (it’s always my job)!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 19, 2012 at 4:59 pm

      i always think back to this dr phil episode i saw once where he stated that showing up habitually late is disrespectful – have to say i agree! can’t believe how all of us commenters so far are a bunch of early-birds!

  • Lisa  On April 19, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I am always on time. My Dad is chronically early….like, one time he took me to camp that was a 5 hours drive from home and I got there 3 hours early.
    My friend in SC was actually an hour and 20 minutes late picking me up from the airport. I made a conscious effort to let all ties to time/clocks go when I was visiting, or I would have gone absolutely crazy!
    I’m not much for waiting in lines (I usually just avoid them, and I also try to go to the grocery store at odd hours). But when I do hit a line, I just take a few deep breaths and consciously focus on something else and being ok with waiting. Carrying my phone with me helps!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 19, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      oh, that camp story is too funny, lisa! ok, your dad is a little extreme! (i say that lovingly!). i would have been so anxious if i had been in your shoes with the late airport pickup. glad you could deal with it calmly! YES – the distraction of a phone sure does help pass the time! whatever did we do in the olden days?!

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On April 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

    I am so early it hurts. I’d rather not go if I have to go late. It’s genetic (ha). I got it from my mom. For the most part lines don’t bother me. I just go off somewhere in my head and enjoy the trip while I stand endlessly waiting for the fools in front of me to finish up.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 19, 2012 at 9:47 am

      oh, you make me laugh, johanna!! great comments. and i hear you – as if waiting is not bad enough, when people are incompetent or dithering around, the situation is even worse! i will remember your idea of escaping into daydreams…

  • Anonymous  On April 19, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Thought you were a hippy? Where’s the laidback stance?

  • brokencookiesdontcount  On April 19, 2012 at 6:20 am

    I like to be On Time! People who are late frustrate me to no end. I’ve known a lot of them in my life. One of the things that bothers me about forward movement…the mother/father who thinks it’s “cute” to allow their not quite toddler child to “walk” in a store or market or worse up the steps. Drives me crazy! Teach them at home!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 19, 2012 at 6:26 am

      thanks for sharing, fran! i can appreciate that you are a stickler for not being late! and your vent on teaching children to walk…we saw the best sign in moab, utah, years ago: “Parents Control Your Children.” that sign needs to be posted more frequently!!!

Leave a Reply

