running – duh

whoa! we’re going to stop short

(source)

right here.

if we get going on such an all-encompassing topic like running, this post could be record-setting in length! similar to knitting, running has so many directions (memories! products! shoes! trainingmotivationmovieselites!) which we could debate and explore…it is best to not even begin.

one area not ever discussed is a running bucket list. i know i’ve shared some items from my LIFE bucket list (all together now: see madonna live, in concert; dye my hair platinum blond; ride on a float in a parade…) but i also have a subcategory on that list that specifically relates to races and events i would one day like to complete.

here, then, is the kiki running bucket list (twelve dreams, in no particular order):

~ run the nyc marathon (i have never been to new york city, and my dream would be to see all five boroughs for the first time by running through them)

~ requalify for and go back to boston

~ complete the endurrun series (this is a tour de france-style eight day, seven stage, 160 km running event held right in my own backyard, here in waterloo)

~ finish a 100 mile event (an ez one [oxymoronic??!] would be fine! i have no desire to do a hardcore trail event like western states, or even sulphur springs…i am thinking something like umstead would be nice)

~ do the jfk 50 miler (i was registered for this one back in the early 2000’s but a groin injury gave me a dns)

~ meet gina and jeff somewhere (vegas?!) and do a race (jeff can scoot ahead and me and gina can run + laugh)

~ break 40:00 minutes again in a 10k (only accomplished a couple of times in my life, thus far)

~ cross a finish line, hand-in-hand with dad, again!

~ run a half marathon every month for a year

~ do a streak year of running at least three miles every single day

~ run a 5 k every weekend for a year (there are enough races in southern ontario that this endeavour would be entirely possible…although maybe i should be retired, given the travel time that would be needed?).

~ run in a costume (be a princess at disney?!)

none of the events on this list are of such paramount importance that i will obsess and fret over them and think that life is not complete if they never come to fruition. it’s just fun to daydream and then see what comes to pass! years ago, i never would have dreamed that i would run an ultra, run boston, or run in moab, utah…these are all examples of really neat experiences that have been accomplished.

we’ve already shared bucket list items before, so let’s simply look at this topic from another angle:

what’s one life bucket list item that you have already completed? i’ll go with getting a tattoo (ok, i got two, and have at least one more planned!).

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On April 23, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    i read this blog the day you posted it and then couldn’t comment b/c someone called me away at that moment… anyhow, great to see a list like this. fun fun fun! i guess i made a bucket list for life when i turned 40 (posted on my reflections page of our blog)… i, too, have some running bucket list items but not as many as you! and yes! it would be fun for you, me and jeff to meet up and run in a race, just giggle our way through!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 23, 2012 at 11:08 pm

      oh, i am glad you had a chance to read this post!!! ok, if we both bucket-list it, we’ll double our chances of running + laughing at a destination event!! 🙂

  • Dorry (@dorrybird)  On April 22, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    please come run the NYC Marathon! I was with a bunch of runners/bloggers last night – we took zero photos, but we had a lot of fun, and NYC has definitely reignited my love for running!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 22, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      oh, you can be sure nyc marathon is on my “sooner rather than later” list, dorry! disney is january 2013…would be wonderful to do nyc in 2013, 2014??! so glad your new home has re-awakened the running bug!

  • Zo  On April 20, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Hmm…I wanted to go to England so badly when I was a teenager…so it was on my bucket list before there were bucket lists! I never really think in terms of bucket lists now…so it would be interesting to consider what my items are. I think your list is great….but what you’ve achieved already is just amazing! Go you!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      thanks, zo! i am so glad you got to travel to england when you were young…travel is such an eye-opening and a-ha inducing experience. i guess our monthly goals that you and i both enjoy setting are rather like mini-bucket lists!

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On April 20, 2012 at 9:42 am

    The most recent bucket list item I’ve checked off was to hold my first grandchild. I had that life altering experience a year ago tomorrow. Hard to believe he’ll be a year old. Seems like yesterday.

    The race I want to do is the Bolder Boulder. It’s a 10K in Boulder, Colorado. I think it would be an awesome race.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2012 at 9:50 am

      oh, happy birthday to your grandson, johanna! i CANNOT believe he is a year old already…i remember when you shared that he had been born! i would LOVE to travel to boulder…we need to meet up for that 10K!

  • Ele  On April 20, 2012 at 8:51 am

    I used to run all the time when I was younger. They didn’t have any organized races around here at the time (I’m a dinosaur!) And, since I was a woman runner people looked at me like I was totally weird. But, having said all that, I really miss it. My wonky hip makes running a thing of the past.There is something so peaceful and spiritual about running. Now, like Fran, I walk every day. I love the wind in my face, the peacefulness of the birds and animals around me…I walk as much for my mental health as for my physical health. I hope that you can accomplish your bucket list of doing a race each weekend. Do it for us oldsters who can’t do it anymore. And, if you come to visit me in South Jersey I bet I could get you on a float in our Memorial Day Parade! You might have to sit with a bunch of our WWII vets but they are a frisky crowd. One of them asked me last summer if I would like to be his third wife….he’s 89!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2012 at 9:38 am

      ele, your entire paragraph here fills me with joy!! i bet you remember the day “k switzer” ran the boston marathon and changed women’s marathoning/participation forever! i love this sentence: “I walk as much for my mental health as for my physical health.” that is so very true – i feel the same way about outdoor activity! i am so glad you get out for your walks. i am grinning ear to ear over your parade offer – would that not be a hoot!!! never say never, right?! thanks so much for your comment today – have a wonderful weekend!

      • Ele  On April 20, 2012 at 9:45 am

        I have to say that I am so glad that you commented on Broken Cookies Don’t Count. I have so enjoyed reading your blog. You make me smile each time I read it. Where I work, smiles are few and far between so, when I have a minute to read, you always bring a smile to my face. Fran thinks we are two peas in a pod! I want to be you when I grow up!

      • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2012 at 9:52 am

        ele, thanks so much for your kind words. i am so glad you, me and fran have become “blends!” i really enjoy fran’s blog, and it is lovely how we have all connected. thanks so much again!

  • Stephanie  On April 20, 2012 at 7:20 am

    50 miles? Oh my, I’m tired just READING those words. Ha! I do have goals, but not really a bucket list. I want to publish a novel (maybe more than one!) and get a master’s degree in the next five years.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2012 at 8:23 am

      thumbs up on both of those goals, stephanie. i can totally see you achieving them – and i WILL buy your book when it is published! 😀

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 20, 2012 at 7:15 am

    Big dreams, my Dear and I am impressed! I’ve always thought how wonderful it must feel to do it, but I’ve never been inspired to actually do it. I’m probably too old to start now so I’ll stick to my speed walking (sort of… 😉 )

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2012 at 8:22 am

      oh fran, you are never too old!!!! i know of people who started running in their 60s (or older) – and ed whitlock (just google him if you want) is 80+ and still marathoning strongly! although if walking is what you ENJOY, that is what is MOST important!!

  • Lisa  On April 20, 2012 at 6:40 am

    I love this list! Joe has a similar one (well, not the dressing up as a princess thing!). One of his was to do a long distance relay, and recently a group of runners asked them to travel to MA in May to do one—he’ll do 3 half marathons in a 24 (48?) hour period. I’m already nervous for him! They’ll all be packed in a van together. He’s not super social, so I might be more worried about that aspect. Lol.
    Anyway, I’d love to run again—some of my most fond memories are of running on the Erie Canal path at 6am with the turtles and steam coming off the water…but I have this bum knee, only hurts when I run, and MRI showed nothing wrong with it. So I’m off on a tangent!

    On my bucket list—get a PhD before age 30 (check).

    I like how your list is there for planning and dreaming, but you’re not letting it stress you out!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 20, 2012 at 6:51 am

      wow! i am intrigued by joe’s relay challenge – thanks for sharing about that upcoming adventure, lisa! and please give joe my very best! can you imagine what that van will smell like by the end of the relay?!! it is so fantastic that you accomplished your phd goal, AND that you have made your goals to work from own/teach happen, too. i really admire that about you! i am sorry about your bum knee, but i know it has not stopped you from being fit and active!…the erie canal sounds like a neat spot!!

Leave a Reply

