upgrade? yes or no

i’d say that 80% of the time, i very much appreciate owning a blackberry:

i never have gotten around to replacing that ugly protective case; i want something with coloured sequins and big bling!

i’ve had this blackberry bold (no clue as to what version it is, sorry) for about two years?? (i’m fuzzy on the timeline). i’ve become addicted (yes, let’s call it what it is) to knowing the precise moment i get an email (bing!). i love being able to access the internet whenever/wherever. and, the instant message system is brilliant for quickly getting in touch with a contact (although i limit my communications to twitter-type lengths as my typing on the blackberry still really sucks…i rely on creatively inserting emoticons – so expressive in lieu of words!).

the 20% of the time that i would like to chuck the blackberry into a river is due to two things: 1) if i am feeling all zen-y and thinking, why do i need to be FYI’d on an email immediately?? because if i hear that *bing!* or *buzz…*, you can bet that i am anxious to check out what’s going on asap. 2) if something goes wrong technically, i freak out get quite anxious! how do i fix this??? what is going on??? eeeekk, help!!!

i also fully realize that the capabilities offered by my blackberry go far and beyond what i am using it for. i bet i use about 5% of the functions…i really should get a “blackberry for dummies” guide and teach myself about what i am missing out on [or am i really missing out?? let’s get zen-y, again!].

last week, i was accessing a blog, and all of sudden i got a white cloud of death on my blackberry screen. the connection seemed to be stuck at the “requesting/loading” stage. i exited out of the internet search, and tried again a few more times – nope, the same white screen of nothingness appeared with each effort. over the next couple hours, i realized that email, blackberry messaging, the phone…all of these functions were working fine, it was just trying to access the internet that was the problem.

my first response was to turn the blackberry off, then back on [please note that i never turn the blackberry off, i just change the sound from “normal” to “silent” at night]. this great idea did not solve my issue.

well, things work out: i had to be at theOTHERstore later that afternoon, so i had the perfect amount of time to slip into the bell store at fairview park mall, and seek professional assistance. i explained my situation to the very kind sales associate. i think my stupidity beginner-level knowledge was written all over my face – she was very patient and didn’t make me feel like an idiot. the first thing she did was slip the battery out of the blackberry, wait a couple seconds, and then she put it back in [i now know this is called a soft reset – whoa-ho!!]. little blackberry recharged itself…and poof! internet access! problem solved! i sang and danced. (ok, not really, i kept my joy to offering my profuse thanks).

so, yes, i did feel like a dork because the solution was such a blackberry 101 type-thing. however, i learned something, my blackberry is fine (i had feared the what if of an expensive replacement being needed), and i am very grateful that the bell staff are there to help!

[funny tangent: when i arrived at theOTHERstore, i started recounting my adventure to my colleague. scarcely had i started my story, when he interrupted me: “so, did you take out the battery to reset the blackberry?” obviously, this is a standard fix-it procedure about which i had been unawares!].

so here is the question of the day: i found out that i have the option of upgrading to a newer blackberry. i can switch over to a curve model for free, or to the newest bold (the same model that mom and dad just got – the 9790??) for $25.

what to do?

i am perfectly happy with my current blackberry. should i upgrade just for fun, because i can, or should i keep what i have? i hesitate primarily because i like how i have all my favourites, my contacts etc on the current blackberry. now, i do understand that i can transfer the data to my laptop (i even have the 800 number to call to have a bell rep walk me through how to do that) and then transfer it over to the new bb, but that strikes me as a PITA process since i have no complaints (although, i also learned at the bell store that i should have my blackberry info on my laptop, as back-up).

anyway, i appreciate any advice or any opinion-sharing you wish to give!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Deb  On April 25, 2012 at 9:18 am

    I would get the upgrade-to the Bold. I went many years without upgrading, even though I could and then finally upgraded and found out that the difference in speed etc was significant. I will now always upgrade when I can (for little or not cost-not big bucks).

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 25, 2012 at 9:27 am

      deb!!! thanks for commenting! 🙂 and thanks for your advice…i am thinking, too, that the new bold is probably faster….we love our instant gratification, don’t we?! see you soon!

  • Zo  On April 24, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    Given my adventures with technology exploration of late, I’d say “go for it,” but don’t have any credible advice (and I also miss a lot of the basic fixes when problems arise and start freaking out). I’m also thinking that you might end up “needing” a new blackberry at some point and it won’t be so inexpensive

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 24, 2012 at 7:49 pm

      yes, i think we are quite alike when it comes to tech stuff, zo – we enjoy what we can do with our gadgets, but please, don’t screw up on us!!

  • Gina Unger  On April 24, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    sorry, i can’t advise you on an upgrade or whatever as jeff and i still just own one very old cell phone. it works for us so that’s what we’re sticking to – for now. your blog calls to mind a show that jeff and i just watched on CBC TV last week: “are we digital dummies?” – VERY interesting show which i HIGHLY recommend anyone viewing. you can access it online… here’s the link: http://www.cbc.ca/documentaries/doczone/2010/digitaldummies/
    one thing they mentioned is “crackberrry.com” – help for those who are addicted to their personal electronic devices. funny name, eh? anyhow, view it and let me know what you think. we were riveted.
    BTW, i totally “get” that part about hearing the “ding” of an incoming email and wanting to know right away who it’s from and what it’s about. i just recently decided to silence the alarm bell on our computer so i won’t hear the ding anymore… i probably have an addiction. 😉

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 24, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      thank you so much for taking the time to include the link, gina! i can definitely check that out, and it does sound intriguing! good for you for turning off the volume…i need to think about that. my step for today is that i am replying to emails ONLY at pre-determined times (you made my 2pm time slot, haha!)….sooo hard, so not enjoyble to NOT reply asap, but it is bugging me that i feel i need to do emails quickquick. glad your cell phone is doing the job…just wait til the kids start asking for an iphone…won’t be that many years, i fear! 😀

  • Nicole  On April 24, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    one word: iPhone! — you will never look back again!!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 24, 2012 at 12:32 pm

      yesyes, nicole!!! from what i have seen, the iphone would be fantastic! i will stay with bell/my blackberry thru the contract, but then for sure i will consider the iphone…but can you set it up for me and give me a lesson?! i’ll pay for our coffees?! now, if i get a iphone, you know i will want an IPAD!!! i got to see one yesterday and i am in love already.

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On April 24, 2012 at 10:21 am

    I have an old flip phone that I bought at least 6 or 7 years ago. It makes phone calls and I can text on it. That’s about it. I do use it as an alarm to wake me up in the morning (I usually am awake before it sounds tho’). I am happy with it because I’ve never used a smartphone. I’m afraid I would be hooked.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 24, 2012 at 11:01 am

      wow, that is great that our phone is still working, johanna! good quality product! it is true – you DO get hooked if the options are there, imo. nothing wrong with keeping things simple, as you are doing!

  • Lisa  On April 24, 2012 at 10:05 am

    So here’s my two cents (or maybe I should say 5 since you guys aren’t using pennies anymore?)…

    If the upgrade is free, do it. Because your playing with probabilities now—the phone is old, and it’s not gonna last forever, so by upgrading before it dies, you avoid any crises (well, as much of a crisis as a dying phone can cause)…

    My mom could have upgraded her phone two year ago and didn’t. I got an email from her the other day that her phone died. So, she had to rearrange her schedule and deal with getting a new phone on the phone’s terms.

    Avoid hassle…upgrade!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 24, 2012 at 11:03 am

      oh, your cautionary tale is worth at least …. $0.25 to me, lisa – haha! you raise such a good point – given my personality, it would be MUCH less frustrating if i replace my bb when i choose to, rather than be *forced* to due to technical difficulties. i am going to seriously think on this…many thanks for sharing your mom’s story!

  • Juanita  On April 24, 2012 at 8:24 am

    I got the new bold on the Easter weekend and I love it! I moved from my purple Curve (I do miss the purple colour) and have been very happy with the larger screen and functions. I really like the touch screen feature. I, personally, would recommend the new Blackberry.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 24, 2012 at 9:33 am

      oh, this is good to hear, juanita – thank you for your feedback. ok, if i upgrade, let’s meet for coffee and you can show me the ins and outs of the new blackberry?! yes??!! 😀 yea, why do they not make bright colours for blackberries?? would be so much more fun. i guess that is why you get a bright protector thing if you want colour and bling?!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 24, 2012 at 7:36 am

    I knew about the take out the battery thing only because it happened to me. At Verizon for $10 they’ll transfer your info for you. You might want to see if that’s an option. For financial reasons, I recently got rid of my internet access. I like it because I’d always get frustrated because I could check my blog properly. I’d love a smart phone that would allow me to see Everything onthe blog and do things to it, but not in the budget now. Someday!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 24, 2012 at 9:35 am

      wow, that is a great service from verizon – i for sure would pay $10 to have the transfer taken care of. bell did not mention anything like that…you raise a good point about considering the $$ spent on these phones…the yearly cost can be quite considerable! i have the wordpress app on my blackberry…but never have used it!

Leave a Reply

