wheels used by potters make artful creations

wow, mom and i are on a roll! two weekends, two artsy outings…i could get used to this lifestyle!

last friday eve, mom and i met up in my lobby and headed over to the spring pottery sale held at the rec centre:

friday eve was the only available time this weekend that really meshed with schedules

for some unknown reason, dad passed on the opp to join us...maybe his ears needed a rest...mom and i tend to talk a lot!

despite the overcast skies, and prediction of evening rain showers, we marched the seven minutes walk over to the rec centre. upon arriving, we were greeted by a pottery demo:

there were tons of awestruck kids standing alongside, all staring in wonderment!

this is the third spring pottery sale we have attended (2010 report is here, 2011 recap is here!). for this outing, neither mom nor i really had anything specific in mind that we wanted to purchase; our goal was more or less to chitchat extensively check out the pottery and see if something grabbed us.

here’s a petite tour:

i liked the spring flower pattern on this set of dishes!

i took this picture mainly for the sign, "wee bowls," but the little bowls themselves were super cute, too!

i was trying to imagine how you would create each of these shapes on the potter's wheel...what a remarkable artform.

a unique toothbrush holder! but the practical side in me thought, 1) how would you clean it? 2) i am sure i would knock it over and break it!

of course, i appreciated seeing my favourite birdie!

this bowl was my favourite item of the evening: i love the texture and the bright colours of the glazes.

what a cute bowl! it would make a fine addition to my eclectic dishes collection. it's not big enough to hold my salads, however!

an example of the symmetry achieved with a potter's wheel....simple beauty.

unfortunately, mom and i left the sale empty-handed this year. mom did debate purchasing two of these little knives…

mom currently has eight little spreaders that she has collected over the years from this sale...

…but the vibe was not 100% correct.

[we had to laugh because mom deviated from our usual system, and took a basket as soon as we entered the sale. murphy’s law, of course we found nothing. had we not had a basket with us, we would have been fumbling with numerous items, i am sure!].

mom, you will not be allowed to pick up a basket again!

as we exited the rec centre, we noticed the ground was wet with rain – oh no! would we be soaked by the time we got home again?? luckily, we had a window of clear conditions, and made it home safe and sound dry and warm. by the time i arrived in my unit, it was bucketing again! that cardinal sighting did bring us good luck!

it’s fascinating to see the variety of shapes and colour combos on exhibit at the pottery sale. i appreciate the work involved, and the talent of the potters. the pottery sale is as much an art gallery outing as a chance to purchase items!

the weekend also featured a used book sale in uptown waterloo – too bad it was not scheduled for this coming weekend so that we could attend yet another sale!

~*~*~*~*~

just as pottery can range from the simple to the complex, our discussion questions today will follow suit!

easy question: have you ever used a potter’s wheel? me = i think once, or maybe not? (?? i am fuzzy on the memory). the pros make it look so easy!

challenging question: in one sentence, write an analogy comparing how using a potter’s wheel is like life. the minister at the church i grew up in was a skilled amateur potter. he used to give a sermon where he used his potter’s wheel to demonstrate life lessons. i was fortunate to see it a few times, and it was a really powerful presentation filled with a-ha moments.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • strivingcynic  On April 26, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    I’ve never used a potter’s wheel.
    Umm.. Life is like a potter’s wheel because you have to get your hands in there (participate) to make something beautiful and special. How’s that?

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2012 at 7:51 pm

      very good! thank you for taking on the challenging question, zo! i like your analogy very much! maybe you will get a chance to give a wheel a try some time?!!

  • Gina Unger  On April 26, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    i remember using a potter’s wheel for the first time in art class at rockway. such fun! i still have my creations, too! and of course this blog brought back all the memories of dating a potter’s son and seeing it all many times first-hand. his dad let me try the wheel a few times, but i sucked. it’s really hard – takes a lot of practice AND hand strength! such beauty can be created through pottery… i’m always a huge fan. πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      where was i that i did not use the potter’s wheel in high school art?! i missed out!! glad you kept your creations! so cool that you got to see so much pottery being made…and got to try yourself! interesting re hand strength being necessary – and a steady hand, i bet!

  • The Orchard  On April 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    I spent 5 months on my own teaching in Northern BC. When my small town was offering a pottery class I jumped at the chance! I made a few lovely things that I still actually use today. I would love to use a potter’s wheel again!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2012 at 3:16 pm

      wow, that is so cool, tricia! and i bet you have fond memories whenever you use the pottery that you made in B.C. do you ever get to the sale in uptown here? you’d love it, i think!

  • g2-55680831163e76fec0743a15184137d2  On April 26, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    I’ve never used a potter’s wheel but I do appreciate the work that goes into making pottery. I enjoyed your photos of the wares at this show and wish I had that leaf bowl. It would be great for serving veggies even if salads wouldn’t work in it. I just love stuff like that.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2012 at 12:26 pm

      and the photo does not do justice to that leaf bowl, really. it was just beautiful. it really is amazing to watch a potter in action – to me, seeing the creation unfold is almost magical!

  • Stephanie  On April 26, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Oh, I’m so jealous! That looks like so much fun! I wish I could be an artisan. I’m really impressed with people who make stuff.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2012 at 12:20 pm

      i hear ya…i can only knit. if i tried pottery i think it would be considered “alternative art.” you are amazing with your clay figures, animals, scenes, stephanie!! your style is so very cute!!

  • Lisa  On April 26, 2012 at 9:18 am

    I’ve never used a pottery wheel, but my first memory of one is in the movie Ghost—it was probably also my first memory of such huge emotion from a movie. I totally can’t do this in one sentence, but I watched that movie at a sleepover with a friend (and her whole family). I vividly remember biting the inside of my mouth until it bled to stop myself from crying in front of them at the sad parts in the movie. I reflected on this so many years later, when I stopped biting my mouth to stop from crying. I imagine using a pottery wheel is so much about touch and feel and emotion, a depth of connection you can’t get from just looking at something—and I’m glad I was able to go deep later in my life and not be afraid to just cry and show emotions. I imagine that all of those pieces of art made by the pottery wheel really are just expressions of the artists emotion.

    How’d I do? πŸ™‚

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2012 at 9:35 am

      oh, you earn an A+ for this paragraph, lisa! thank you so much for sharing your memory and about learning to express emotion – i can relate to that lesson. pottery IS such a means of connecting “with the earth,” so to speak and of releasing emotion, whatever that may be.

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On April 26, 2012 at 8:30 am

    What beautiful pottery! My Mom would have Loved the cardinals! I’m with your Mom on the little spreaders…they’re adorable!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2012 at 9:16 am

      that is so cool that your mom had a *thing* for cardinals, too (ele also mentioned that!). i think mom should just buy a set of 12 of the little spreaders! πŸ™‚

  • Ele  On April 26, 2012 at 6:05 am

    I love hand thrown pottery! And the cardinals were beautiful. My mom’s favorite birds were cardinals ans she had them everywhere! In fact, to this day, my grandson calls them “Nanny birds”.

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 26, 2012 at 6:43 am

      ele, you would have really enjoyed wandering around the sale…so many different colours and styles of pottery! i love that your grandson calls cardinals “nanny birds” -> i have two glass-stained cardinals hanging in my window…should have picked up that pottery one!!

Leave a Reply

