it’s too bad there are only 26 letters in the alphabet

today’s blog post fulfills my last *duty* as a participant in the blogging from a-z april challenge.

(source)

the challenge organizers invited us to post our thoughts in a final reflections post, today (monday, may 7th). so, with no further ado, here is my summary.

in a nutshell, i ♥ loved ♥ participating in the blogging challenge. i adored every aspect: the 30 day timeline (finite); the structure of using a new letter of the alphabet for each day’s blog entry; the unlimited creativity to interpret a-z as we wished; the interaction with other bloggers…i am so happy i jumped on board.

i first heard about the a-z challenge months ago on stephanie‘s blog when she mentioned it. i thought, hey! that would be super fun to do! then i completely forgot about the idea. a few days before the end of march, stephanie made reference once again to the challenge. i decided to participate for sure, but in very uncharacteristic kiki fashion, i only formally signed up about 24 hours before the official launch (my mind was fixed on editing my april fool’s joke). by posting a second post on april 1st, i was able to work in the letter a quite seamlessly!

some more random thoughts:

~ i am really glad i interpreted the challenge as i did -> using the letter of the alphabet as the first letter in my blog post title for the day. i can’t tell you how much fun i had thinking up quirky headlines! honestly, i cracked myself up some days (ex: butter of the almond variety, jar two). it was also bizarrely serendipitous how often a blog title easily lined up with a current life event. (ex: upgrade? yes or no, no stopping monday). for some letters, multiple ideas fought for exposure (ex: the letter “c”). for other letters, i had to scrounge deep into my brain for several days on end to come up with the eureka moment (ex: the letter “v”).

~ blog friends stephanie and fran also completed the challenge – i really looked forward to reading their blogs each day to see how they would interpret our letter of the day!

~ my blog has a steady readership, and the number of hits received each day is pretty stable. so you can imagine my astonishment when on days three and four (“c” and “d”), the blog measured more than six times the usual number of views! i have no clue how or why this occurred. was it simply because i was on the challenge list and other participants were eagerly reading every blog on the participation list? things gradually settled down back to normal, after that. puzzling.

~ speaking of other participants, it would have been super cool to read every a-z challenge blog at least once during the month. for that, however, i would have needed to be on full-time vacation! so many blogs, so little time….

[sidenote: my own opinion is that blogging this final post a week after the “z” entry is anti-climactic. i would have arranged it so that this entry appeared on tuesday, may 1st…].

finally, the a-z challenge presented a conundrum: i honestly love daily blogging – it’s a rhythm that sits well with me. so far in 2012, i have tried posting mon-wed-fri, and most recently, just whenever i feel like it. blogging 6/7 days was awesomely satisfying. however…with daily blogging, as i’ve said before, i really have to organize my time and make sure i have time to write. i get stressed if i have no ideas and/or if i have limited time! but, daily interaction with you is thoroughly enjoyable. i talk to my mom every day, i email with bff debbie every day…i genuinely enjoy blogging every day as a means of social communication and as a creative outlet (like knitting). so, where does that leave us for the rest of may? i honestly don’t know!! just a heads-up that i do have ideas for each day this week…i guess we’ll figure out the rest of the month as it unrolls! [ack! that is so not my style!].

did you celebrate cinco de mayo on saturday? me -> no. would you believe that i had not even heard of this festive drinking *holiday* until a couple of years ago?? i think i just live in the wrong climate. tangent: i have never had a margarita. note to self: organize as a new experience for 2013!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Evalina Zamana  On May 12, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    Congratulation on finishing the challenge. I didn’t visit all blogs during the challenge but, cross my heart, I’m visiting every single one with reflection post! Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Evalina, This and that…

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 12, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      thanks for your comment, evalina! a hearty thumbs up to you for making it your mission to read all the reflection posts. if i do the challenge another year, that is one aspect i would add in: to check in with all participants’ blogs. i think you should keep track of how many hours it takes you to cover the reflections posts!

  • strivingcynic  On May 7, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    I am glad your “blog spirit” is back! I could tell you were enjoying the challenge.
    No cinco de mayo celebration for me. I kind of forgot about it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 7, 2012 at 8:41 pm

      thanks, zo! i hope you consider the challenge for next year. it really is fun because you can interpret it as you wish! you are quite far removed geographically from genuine “cinco de mayo” locales, too!

  • Stephanie  On May 7, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I agree with you…the reflections post really should have been put up on the first of May. errr…I’m actually not good at following instructions, so that’s what I did. Ha! If you want to link up your reflection post, there’s a place to link up on the A-Z challenge blog. Like you, I’m really glad that I did it! But unlike you, I won’t miss the daily posting. After finishing, I took an entire week off blogs altogether…didn’t write, didn’t read. It wasn’t until today that I felt like starting up again.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 7, 2012 at 3:33 pm

      thanks, stephanie! i did link up this morning – about #130?! with your style of creative blogging, i can see how daily blogging is just not realistic…glad you got your mojo back today!

  • Lisa  On May 7, 2012 at 11:18 am

    I’m glad you did the challenge too! It was fun checking in with you everyday, and I love the randomness that comes up with those types of things!
    I did celebrate cinco de mayo, on the Santa Monica Pier at a Mexican restaurant…with margaritas! I mean, I don’t think I could get much more festive than that! I don’t know if I’ve ever celebrated before though—it was fun. My aunt and uncle were helping my cousin move that day, and we had a wonderful time.
    Isn’t blog traffic funny? I have a couple unexplained spikes in mine too, and I never figured it out!
    Hope you have a great day Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 7, 2012 at 11:30 am

      lisa, i think you could do a fabulous a-z challenge using nutrition as your theme – with your expertise, you would have informative and creative posts!! 🙂 i saw your tweets re the maragaritas and was so jealous! california + drinks on the pier…life does not get better than that! enjoy your day!

  • Johanna B  On May 7, 2012 at 9:34 am

    I spent 12 years in the Dallas/Fort Worth area of Texas. Cinqo de Mayo is very big in Texas. I had two bean tostados to celebrate the day.

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On May 7, 2012 at 7:56 am

    Great reflection post, Cathy! I had hard time reading as many of the A-Z posts as I would have liked. They’re still there, so I guess we could catch up a few a time if we like! I may do that. We did Not celebrate Cinco De Mayo. I’ve tried margaritas and I’m not a fan. You should try a mojito…lime and mint…yum, yum! Happy A-Z Reflection day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 7, 2012 at 9:17 am

      thanks, fran! yes, maybe if i chose 10 a-z participants per day to read, that would be manageable?? maybe not…i don’t want to run out of time to read my favourite blogs! 🙂 YES YES on the mojito!! that i HAVE tried and it is delicious and refreshing. one of my very dear friends in aruba enjoyed a daily mojito (or more?!), so they will forever be known as “ginger’s drink” in my mind!

Leave a Reply

