new month, new project!

happy friday, friends!

i am totally excited that it is now the month of june (although i did love may, the weather was fantastic, and life was good). i LOVE june! now: does anyone else agree with me that it is just plain WRONG that there is no long weekend this month? why *they* (the gov’t) ever made up a holiday and stuck it in FEBRUARY (hello, family day, i am looking at you) is beyond me. june is the best, and we should have a mchappy friday holiday, i am telling you.

guess what?! i have a new challenge all lined for this month. june’s special project is light years different from may’s great grocery challenge. here it is!…

now, i am the first to admit that photography is not my creative thing. i have told you before that the purpose of taking pictures, for me, is simply to illustrate my blog posts. i am not out to be artsy, symmetrical, or even particularly in focus. i aim and fire and that is what ends up on the blog.

here is what i envision for my take on the 30 day photography challenge: i am going to post a snapshot every day as per the dictated theme-of-the-day. most likely, i will give a brief explanation as to why/how i chose the subject in the photo. since this project means a return to daily blogging, (!!) some days may see only the photo + a sentence or two, and that will be the end of the blog entry. other days, i may chat as usual and just toss the daily photo in as an afterthought an add-on.

i am really jazzed to take on this challenge! (ok, i have to confess that projects and challenges, in general, excite me). the only potential glitch is that my little canon point-‘n’-shoot is on its last legs…it has been acting wonkier and more unpredictably with each passing day over the past couple of months, (like, since spring stitch n kitsch??) and as of tuesday, this week, the view display thingy is watermarked and foggy. my fingers are crossed that we can get through this month before it goes kaput completely (ideally, it will live until christmas when i can put a new model on my xmas list). how ironic it will be if i embark on a photo project…and lose my camera! [yes, i do have my blackberry but i do not how to work that thing the quality is not quite on par with my canon].

without further ado, here is photo #1.

the theme for day one: self-portrait

is this what we call, “portrait of the artist?!”

taking a self-portrait was not too much of a challenge – i mastered became comfortable with my technique during my florida vacation in july 2010 and in aruba in 2011, and still take lots of self-snapshots for the blog.

yesterday, i snapped twelve photos [ok, that is freaky because i swear i did not count as i was snapping away, and i ended up with 12…12 days of kiki project ->get it?!], playing with a variety of lighting conditions and backgrounds. the photo you see, above, is the winner! but, actually, of the twelve, i liked them all!

outtakes [this may be a frequent feature, this month. rejected photos are the most fun!] ->

i do not do serious well…

walking + fish-face making!

😀

would you rather write or take photographs in order to express your creative self? since i have only ever done ONE word-free blog post in 2.5 years, i bet you can guess my answer!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Nicole  On June 1, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    Glad you’re doing this one. It will be fun for you!!

  • Gina Unger  On June 1, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    great project! i love it and can’t wait to see the results!

  • Lisa  On June 1, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    This is a great challenge!
    I laughed at your attempt at “serious.” Hahaha….that just does NOT fit you!
    I’m a horrible photographer, and I am quite unphotogenic (I’m awkward), so I don’t take many pics of myself at all. I don’t really enjoy photo editing either, so words would definitely be my choice. However, I force myself to do pics when I post about food.
    I love June—I say we make the whole month a holiday! In spirit, anyway.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 1, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      lisa, i so appreciate your blog for the fact that your photos do not look like a magazine…and please know that i mean this comment as a compliment!! although i think your recipe photos have been fantastic, lately!

  • Johanna B  On June 1, 2012 at 11:09 am

    I love to take photographs but I love to write as well so I’m probably about even, I don’t have a camera currently which is a problem. I use disposable ones when I must take photos. The funny thing is that my daughter is a professional photographer and makes a good living taking photos for other people. Wish I had her talent. I love the photo a day blog challenge and look forward to seeing how yours works out. Fun awaits!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 1, 2012 at 11:36 am

      johanna, maybe your daughter inherited some photography gene from you??! oh, i love those disposable cameras – when i did my “photo of the day” prject a few years ago, that is what i used. i likely would now, too, except you can’t upload to computer!

  • Stacie  On June 1, 2012 at 8:34 am

    What a fun idea! I like doing both but generally like to have lots of photos (even if they aren’t creative!).

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 1, 2012 at 9:45 am

      i would not be “creative” enough to think up my own daily photography challenges, so i like being given a daily assignment to complete! i agree – photos add interest to blog posts!!

  • strivingcynic  On June 1, 2012 at 7:28 am

    I know this will be a fun challenge! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.
    My photo approach depends on what the photo’s for. I like putting “pretty” pictures up, but that’s when I see something pretty. For A box of sandwich bags, I’m aim and shoot!
    Happy June!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 1, 2012 at 8:13 am

      i always enjoy your scenery photos, zo! you capture light beautifully and the composition of the subject in your photos is well balanced. and, of course, pics of sc kittie are always fun!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On June 1, 2012 at 7:19 am

    Love the idea, Cathy!! Wish I had known, I would have started today to work along with you. Maybe I could do a self portrait today and catch up tomorrow. I’ll have to work on that. You always come but with the best ideas!! Happy Friday!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 1, 2012 at 8:14 am

      thanks, fran! ok, you need to pick: photos or groceries?!! haha! yes, you could always do another post for today with a self-portrait!…

Leave a Reply

