long live the 70s

30 day photography challenge

day #4: something green

yea, i coulda chosen to show you trees in my beloved waterloo park; my favourite vegetable -> broccoli!; my bicycle; or my future car…but talking about adidas garb is the most fun option!

that green adidas jacket is one of my favourite articles of clothing

this is my retro adidas collection – which is not to be confused with stella mccartney’s adidas collection!

🙂

item #1: green  jacket

you have seen this full-zip numerous times on the blog – i know i have worn it with the nieces, to the pottery sale, out with mom…it gets a lot of use in the spring/summer months. i love it because it fits just right – not too tight, not too baggy; the material is light and loose; it’s got practical, zippered front pockets. but, i most love the 70’s vibe to its style. i purchased this jacket in january 2010 at sherway gardens – i mention it in this blog post! [funny: that entry is one of the very first i ever wrote. boy, my blogging style has evolved!].

item #2: terry fox special edition running shoes

i rarely wear this set of footwear because, i am sorry, but they are terribly uncomfortable shoes.

way back in 2005, i was paging through the globe and mail one morning when i saw a special, full colour ad announcing the release of the remake of the terry fox shoe. it would go on sale that very morning. my inner vibe told me that if i wanted a pair (of course i did!) i had better get myself up to sportchek when the doors opened. i remember i was working at the store in just a few hours (i had just started there as a part-time employee!) – the timing would be tight!

i got to sportchek and the selection was already picked over – but i managed to find my size of shoe amidst the scrambling, grabbing shoppers. the shoe came in mens sizes only – i think that is part of the reason why they are not that comfy! [i did make it back home in time for work!].

i consider these shoes a keepsake item, and want to keep them in good shape. i cannot believe terry fox ran his marathon of hope in shoes just like this – all the more reason to marvel at his remarkable achievements.

item #3: gym bag

this bag is the real retro deal. dad used it back in the 70’s to take his running stuff to and from work (dad ran at lunch with some buddies – they were part of the original running boom of the 1970’s!). when mom and dad were downsizing a few years ago, i made sure to lay claim to this bag. i love the sense of history behind it, and it is a treasured belonging. i would love to use it as a race day bag today, but i’d be scared someone would steal it!

now all i need for my collection is the old-school, bjorn borg-style, adidas terry-towel headband…we do carry them at the store!

what’s your current favourite thing to wear? it’s too predictable for me to go with compression socks, so i am going to vote for my “chant and be happy” tshirt that my cousins kate and joel gave me for xmas several years ago. it’s comfortable, the smiling face of the contented yogi makes me laugh, and it’s quirky; therefore, it’s a winner!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On June 4, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    My 5 dollar red, women’s cut (ie, not hanging) Cape May t-shirt that I picked up on my visit in April. Super comfy and cute. Most of my t-shirts are from giveaways, so they hang on me…I basically only wear them to the gym. This one I usually wear around the house, but I’d feel comfy wearing it out.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 4, 2012 at 7:46 pm

      $5??! wow, that was a great score, zo! and you can think back to your fun vacation every time you wear it! yes – women’s cut vs “regular” tshirt does make a difference in fit. regular can sometimes look too much like a nightshirt!

  • Stacie  On June 4, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    It’s hard to pick a favorite. I am usually in athletic stuff most of the day and most of it is from Lands End. I like my JJill shelf bra tops a lot too. They used to make them in fun patterns, several of which I have, but they stopped doing that last year.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 4, 2012 at 3:35 pm

      ooo, i love bright colour bra tops, too! i have not heard of jjill…maybe they are only in the states?? (which would be too bad!). wearing athletic stuff day to day is just the most comfortable thing!

  • Johanna B  On June 4, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    Right now (not at this exact moment because I am at work) I am enjoying wearing a pair of teal shorts with my cat shirt and my new Asics. Those are the best shoes I’ve ever had – light but well cushioned.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 4, 2012 at 12:24 pm

      so glad you love your asics! now you know what brand to stick with when you are ready for a new pair, down the road! i would love to see your cat shirt! yes, that outfit, although comfortable, may be a bit casual for work!!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On June 4, 2012 at 7:15 am

    I think the headband would Definitely add to the look, Cathy!! It could serve two purposes because headbands are very “hippie” as well! I plan to start wearing them when I get to NM! 😉 I’m really enjoying the photo challenge. Seems there are several of these going on with several different lists. It’s all hurting my head. I think I need to come up with my own “….. challenge.” Gotta think of one!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 4, 2012 at 9:03 am

      yes, i am thinking the white terry towel headband may be another look to try out this summer!… re photo challenges – i know! i have seen a couple others, too, but the topics are different. i did find it funny that it seems to be a theme for june…completely coincidental from my end. angela at oh she glows is doing a salad challenge – that’s another interesting one!

  • The Orchard  On June 4, 2012 at 7:13 am

    Same thing I always wear – a pair of jeans from Andie’s, T-shirt (usually from Talize) and my LuLu black zip up jacket. Same thing, almost every day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 4, 2012 at 9:04 am

      nothing wrong with keeping clothing choices simple, tricia – and comfortable! i have never been to talize – i need to check it out for retro tshirts!!

  • Lisa  On June 4, 2012 at 7:00 am

    My fave things to wear right now are the three (!) lululemon crops I splurged on, and a pair of hardtail yoga pants that fit me like a glove! I also have a tshirt I bought that says, Get Up Stand Up, and I bought it to support Every Mother Counts. I’m loving that right now too.

    I don’t have anything retro, but I used to wear my mom’s wool plaid bell bottoms whenever I had the chance!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 4, 2012 at 9:05 am

      hardtail is a new brand to me…and i love that you got the get up stand up t to support a worthwhile cause. i think i need a lulu trip at some point this summer!…glad you’ve got three crops to rotate thru!

  • 42kim  On June 4, 2012 at 6:00 am

    My current favourite thing to wear is my purple adidas running shirt. Super comfy and super cute!

Leave a Reply

