towering baby food

30 day photography challenge

day #6: from a low angle

as promised in this post, yesterday i completed r.a.o.k #4.

here is what i seriously did: i went to valumart and chose the baby food:

look at all those sale prices!

taking my cue from the story of noah’s ark, i chose my baby food two by two! would you believe i managed to find 21 varieties X 2 jars each for my total of 42 baby foods!

i found a quiet spot on the edge of the frozen boxed meats area. my intention was to set up a pyramid. however, it didn’t take long to realize that a triangular tower was going to be way too precarious! the last thing i wanted was a lake of glass + puréed squash on the valumart floor!

so i set up this configuration, and held my breath:

42 jars of baby food, from a low angle

i literally sat right down onto the ground then snapped my required photograph as quickly as possible. i feared that one small tremor would send jars a-tumbling in all directions!

baby food back safe and sound in the grocery basket – whew!

then, i paid for the baby food, and placed all of the jars into the food bank bin located at the entrance to valumart [i was not about to lug all of those jars home, take my picture, and trot everything back across the street!]. 

my total bill was $27.72. that means $90 [i held onto the spare change] goes to my disney fund! i bet i’ll be able to choose at least a tshirt AND a sweatshirt for that!

got any funny baby food stories to share?? here is one of my mom’s favourites: mom was feeding me baby food peas for lunch one day when i was less than a year old. with no warning, i sneezed a huge sneeze…when my mouth was full. mom, my high chair, my bib, the floor – everything got sprayed in smashed peas!

~*~*~*~*~

it’s going be a lucky day! did you realize the date today? 6/6/12 -> if you can add the day + the month and get the year…that’s gotta be a good karma thing!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On June 6, 2012 at 11:01 am

    That truly is a good effort and a wonderful contribution. You’re such a good person. Lucky no one asked what you were doing!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 6, 2012 at 11:12 am

      thanks, for your kind words, fran. i did have a sentence prepared in case someone did approach. i was just going to brightly reply, “it’s a project!” then go back to my tower building!

  • Stacie  On June 6, 2012 at 9:23 am

    sorry not sure why that posted twice :/

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 6, 2012 at 9:37 am

      no prob, stacie! who knows with technology sometimes! you know, i did not look around to see if the other shoppers were watching or not. i thought that if i just look like i am doing something completely normal, i will not get any comments or questions – it worked! oh, babies can somehow turn a few spoons of food into enough to cover themselves, their highchair, the floor!…

  • Stacie  On June 6, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Wow, what an effort for a picture! Did you get any funny looks in the process? Two kids and I can’t recall any baby food funnies beyond the usual smear-it-all-over-everything stuff. At least they are not quite so messy now.

  • Stacie  On June 6, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Wow, what an effort for a picture! Did you get any funny looks in the process? Two kids and I can’t recall any baby food funnies beyond the usual smear-it-all-over-the-place stuff. But, I’m happy they are a little less messy now.

  • strivingcynic  On June 6, 2012 at 8:02 am

    I like your “good day” reasoning!
    Hmmm. I think that was actually quite an adventure with the baby food! Grat picture and a win win for all involved!
    No baby food stories that I know of…now I am wondering if I ever threw (or sneezed) any!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 6, 2012 at 9:06 am

      i was sure holding my breath until i got that photo, let me tell you! i hope you have a great – lucky?! – day, zo!

  • Stephanie @ Snacking☀nSunshine  On June 6, 2012 at 7:40 am

    Haha, well done!!
    Baby food stories… when I was little, I was obsessed with broccoli (still am!) but to an excessive extent. It was so intense that once my parents tried to give me some ice cream as a treat and I absolutely bawled my eyes out until they brought out those fabulous florets 😉

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 6, 2012 at 9:08 am

      ok, that is a funny story re ice cream vs broccoli, stephanie! glad you still like broc and did not OD on it as a child! broc is my favourite veg, too! but i did not like it as a child, all that much!

  • Johanna G.  On June 6, 2012 at 7:22 am

    -giggle- I’m picturing you doing this too. So glad there wasn’t any sort of disturbance in the force that brought it all down. Good for you for managing to combine sale items AND a r.a.o.k. – I admire both!
    When you mentioned the smashed peas it made me think how even from the time I started feeding Jacob baby food veggies, he hated – absolutely hated – anything green. The trend continues to this day. And in spite of it he grows and grows and grows… (“look up, look waaaaaaaaaay up…”) lol

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 6, 2012 at 9:10 am

      thanks, jo! well, there is still hope that j will grow to enjoy green veg?? what about if you smother brocc, cauliflower, whatever in cheese sauce?? that is what worked for us, as kids! glad j is growing like a (green) weed! 😀

  • The Orchard  On June 6, 2012 at 5:21 am

    Very impressive tower! I wish I had seen you sitting on the floor of the store with a tower of baby food in front of you! I am sure it looked quite cute! And good for you for donating all of that food! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 6, 2012 at 5:49 am

      thanks, tricia! i was fully prepared to explain “i’m doing a project!” if someone had stopped to ask why i was building a tower by the frozen ribs…luckily the store was pretty quiet while i was there!

Leave a Reply

