red means stop

30 day photography challenge

day #8: a bad habit

it took me all of 3.5 seconds to come up with the guilty confession to share with you, today.

i do not bite my nails, smoke, or procrastinate [i think those three items would make a new year’s resolutions top ten list, don’t you?]!

rather, here is the bad habit that we will discuss today:

this means YOU!!

yes, i choose to cross on red lights if i can do so safely.

i do this because i am impatient, and i intensely dislike waiting for what i consider to be no apparent reason.

there are two main reasons why i want to break this habit. number one is safety: **i want to make it abundantly clear that i am extremely vigilant about looking both ways, double and then triple checking for traffic before i cross on a red.** and there are some intersections (hello, caroline & erb, king & bridgeport) at which i would NEVER go against the red/green signs because i do not feel safe crossing their roads even when i do have the right of way. but, accidents happen, and i need to remain on the sidewalk until it is my turn.

the number two reason is that i need to remember that little pitchers have big ears little ones are very observant – what if there is a child in a car or on the sidewalk who sees me crossing on the DON’T WALK signal and then thinks that it is ok to do so because that lady did it? it’s important to demonstrate the behaviour we want children to practice, and i need to be mindful of being a law-abiding example. [i also have no problem with obeying the red/green lights when i am with little e or cutie cas i have said before, they bring out my patient side!].

so, my goal over the summer is to retrain my brain to STOP when i am told to stop! at the end of the day, so what if i waited a total of an extra three minutes at traffic lights? i will learn to stand still, to take the opportunity to absorb my surroundings, to deep-breathe, and just. wait.

ok, it’s deep confession time – air your bad habit for the world our readers to see! i’m feeling vulnerable! don’t leave me hanging here all alone!

another one of mine : i tend to interrupt people. i am not trying to be rude! usually, i am just animatedly into the conversation! i think i have gotten better on this one since becoming aware of doing this…and working in retail has also helped (listening to the customer is very important!). as a teen, i absentmindedly twirled and finger-combed my hair while reading or watching tv, and i remember my mom repeatedly reminding me, “don’t play with your hair!” knitting helped break that habit!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna G.  On June 8, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Chronic interuptus – guilty as charged! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 9, 2012 at 5:50 am

      “animatedly into the conversation” -> um, our visits are the perfect example!!

  • Stacie  On June 8, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    I do the interrupt thing for the same reason you do. I am trying not to. It’s actually often ok around gals since it’s sometimes the way we interact, everyone doing it to each other since we are excited about the topic. But it drives guys nuts. I also sometimes text or check email in the drivers seat but only at red lights. Even though I’m not actively driving, I should not do this, bad things could still happen. I don’t do this when my kids are in the car though. It’s that setting examples thing!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 8, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      oh, i am glad you can relate, stacie, to both the interrupting and trying to be a good example! i do check my blackberry at red lights, sometimes (oops!)…and yes, with girlfriends -> so much to chat about, never enough time! have a great weekend!

  • Johanna B  On June 8, 2012 at 10:33 am

    At first I thought you crossed on a red when driving and I was aghast but then I realized you meant when walking and how can I judge when I do that too. BTW in New Orleans we called the dont’ walk lights “winkies”. Don’t know why just a bit of southern trivia.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 8, 2012 at 10:38 am

      winkies – that is so cute! i am going to remember that! thanks for sharing that southern expression! it’s new to me! no, i do not go thru red lights when driving…although i have been tempted when i am sitting there with no traffic in sight!…

  • brokencookiesdontcount  On June 8, 2012 at 8:14 am

    I don’t often have occasion to wait to cross at a light because we live in a small town with only 2 lights and I’m usually driving when I’m near them…but I AM impatient. If you believe in reincarnation, they say that every time you come back, you’re working on a different issue. I’m sure I’m working on patience this time! Interupting is also one of my issues. I am getting better at it. Have a great weekend, Cathy!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 8, 2012 at 8:17 am

      haha, i like that reincarnation theory!! patience is my test, too, fran! i did not realize you live in such a small town – neat!

  • strivingcynic  On June 8, 2012 at 8:06 am

    I do the hair and interruption things too…and cross against red depending in where I am (NYC yes…everyone does it. Toronto no).
    Aside from compulsively checking my phone… I tend to not close drawers and cabinets completely and have bruised and banged things as a result!

Leave a Reply

