what’ll it be, what’ll it be…

30 day photography challenge

day #11: something blue

here is the assignment i gave myself for today’s topic: i would head out on an exploratory neighbourhood walk and find my something blue while out and about. i would know *it* when i saw *it.* i was quite excited to see what would happen!

let’s start off with all of the reject photos. none of these pictures were *it:*

the weather was truly spectacular. but, using “blue sky” as photo-of-the-day seemed so predictable, and like taking the easy way out.

i liked the cloud placement in this photo!

i am in love with this super cute t at delirium:

this WOULD have been *the photo* if i had actually purchased the tshirt! **xmas list item, family!**

not going with this small poster – i am soooo not a fan…

i am sorry, but monty python “humour” is completely lost on me

dirty and boring:

although i do like the contrast between the sunshine and the shadow!

oops! this is not blue!

but wouldn’t this be a super fun car to drive around for the summer?!

a temporary measure for this homeowner:

bet they are hoping we don’t get too many storms in the near future!

i would have chosen this window display at words worth books as *the photo*…

…except that the glare from the window is unacceptable!

the beach theme is what grabbed me (i ♥ the beach!) and that little umbrella + chair are so darn cute!

i played glamour magazine’s “do’s and don’t’s” game:

what do you say? thumbs up or thumbs down on this passerby’s ensemble? i covet her jean jacket!

gosh, i was getting a bit worried…maybe i would have to fall back on…

that sky IS the perfect shade of crayola blue…

but then, success!

may i present our official SOMETHING BLUE photo:

it’s always a relief to spot a port-a-potty at just the right moment.

let me explain! 1) this photo makes me laugh because a TOILET is our featured subject (there’s that bathroom humour, again!) 2) i loathe outhouses and since childhood, have absolutely refused to use them. i would rather explode. at running races, i always just go behind a tree (or any out-of-the-way spot i see) 3) look at the way the light is reflecting off the toilet door – how artsy is that?! 4) i centred the porto-let as best i could – i took my time to set up this photo!

whew! i finished my walk with a big smile on my face. mission accomplished.

~*~*~*~*~

a weird computer happening: one morning last week, i came downstairs bright and early, and prepared to start my day as i always do: by drinking water and emailing bff debbie. in the “to” field, i started typing in “deb” which automatically brings up debbie’s email address, but my eyes saw “bed.” whoa, i am tired today, i thought, and started again. nope, again with the “bed.” so, i tried mom and dad’s email…and got the reverse lettering, too. i gulped and tried to quell the panic rising in my throat. visions of a broken laptop danced nightmared before my eyes! so, i did what i always do if the computer acts strange: i shut ‘er down and rebooted. as i took my recycling downstairs (next step in my a.m. routine) i hoped and prayed all would be normal with dear laptop upon my return upstairs. and to cut to the chase – it was! that was so bizarre. quick q – has this ever happened to you?? the computer keyboard was perfectly fine and normal the night before, so i have no clue as to how little techie gremlins invaded my kitchen overnight, and played a not very fun trick! i was just so grateful that everything was a-ok after the reboot!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On June 12, 2012 at 12:02 am

    what a fun little blog to read, today. i love the colour blue so i was totally into your pix! your final pick was a winner, for sure! too funny. i don’t loathe them like you do but agree that i would rather use the great outdoors if i can.
    computer things are so weird. awhile back, i couldn’t get my dad’s email address to “stick” in the “to” address field when i typed his name, etc. the computer would NOT let me send him an email! until i finally erased him entirely from my address book. then it worked and i was able to save him in my address book once again. WHY?!? so frustrating.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 12, 2012 at 5:44 am

      glad you enjoyed “blue,” g!! and i know you have had lots of experience being toilet-free! wow, that IS a weird story about your dad’s email…have not heard of that before. hope it was a one-time thing, too!

  • Stacie@Snaps and Bits  On June 11, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    That is so bizarre about the computer, I’ve never experienced that! And, I hope not to! I like the blue potty. Around here they seem to be green (but I’d not want to use either, really, unless I had no choice!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 11, 2012 at 8:34 pm

      i hope that computer thing was a one time thing! one time i pooched my keyboard by getting water on the keys, but i did not do anything last week! that’s funny that your port-o-lets are green! only blue up here! bet they’re all gross, regardless of colour – haha!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On June 11, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Love the porto-let photo! Love the rejects, too, though…very well thought out post, Cathy! I always have weird computer things happen to me. I think it’s just me sometimes, but that is truly a strange one! Glad it worked out in the end!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 11, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      thanks, fran! it was funny how it all came together…i did not know what would happen when i set out! computer issues are just so frustating, so i am glad it was an easy (if unexplainable) fix! hope you are able to stay glitch-free!

  • strivingcynic  On June 11, 2012 at 8:05 am

    Love the big cat shirt. I think that woman’s skirt/dress is too long and the outfit looks shapeless! The porta-potty is hilarious (will use, but hate!).
    I’ve never had that issue with my computer, but certainly other one-off weirdnesses have happened.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 11, 2012 at 9:19 am

      yea, remember the weird wordpress stats day that you experienced??! the cat shirt would be perfect for you…would be another tshirt/top for summer wear (in reference to your blog post today!).

Leave a Reply

