you can imagine a waterfall, ok?

30 day photography challenge

day #16: long exposure

i turned to sil ana for guidance in today’s challenge [it is so nice to have a family member to turn to for help with computer, blogging, camera questions – sil ana is my one-stop resource person!].

i kind of understood “long exposure,” (my definition: letting in lots of light through the camera shutter [can i use the term “shutter” with today’s highfalutin cameras??]). sil ana gave me a very clear example: if i was taking a snapshot of a waterfall, a normal photo would show a freeze-frame of the gushing water. a long exposure picture, on the other hand, would show blurry water. that makes sense!

next, sil ana and i spent a few minutes clicking many buttons on my point ‘n’ shoot canon to see if we could change the exposure setting. we could not, we determined (although i did discover many *hidden* features to my dear little camera!).

all right. time to get *creative* again!

my thoughts turned, once more, to fruit!

zero in on the banana peels, ok?

so there is our photo-of-this-saturday: over-ripe bananas! those two pieces of fruit have seen long exposure to room temperature air!

[i totally agree with you that this picture is pretty hurtin,’ as we would have said in high school. so i tried to make the photo’s composition a little more interesting!…note the contrast in shape of the kiwis to the bananas! note the bright children’s book in the background! (i snapped this pic in TO on aunti day). note the unusual angle of the pieces of fruit! ok, we’ll stop there – i am unable to save this whole topic today, and i accept that!].

what food did you turn your nose up at, as a child? i ask this question because i remember flatly refusing to eat apple slices/quarters if they had even the slightest tinge of brown to them, when i was little. they had to be “normal-looking” and fresh!

at what level of ripeness is a banana “perfect?” i am not a banana fan, never have been. if i DO have a banana, it has to be on the greenish side. once brown spots start to appear…too late, too ripe! (i do enjoy banana baked goods and banana-flavoured popsicles, though!).

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On June 18, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    As a child I turned up my nose at most vegetables. The only one I would eat was carrots and they had to be raw. Now I’ll eat most veggies. My bananas have to have lots of brown spots or I’m unhappy with the taste. I used to watch the banana boats unload when I was a kid. You want green. Those were GREEN.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 18, 2012 at 1:21 pm

      banana boats -> that sounds so exotic!! yes, i bet they are wayyy green before arriving in stores! well, at least carrots are super good for you, if you only liked the one veg!! we loved raw carrot sticks as children, too!

  • Zo  On June 17, 2012 at 10:53 am

    We almost always have bananas…so I’ve experienced all conditions. I know now that green to yellow will often lead to too many hard bits…too much brown = mushy. I like them when they’re yellow starting to brown…but I’m willing to throw an over brown banana into a smoothie.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 17, 2012 at 12:09 pm

      bananas can go from green->yellow->brown seemingly in an instant! glad you have many ways to use ’em up, zo!

  • aaaa  On June 16, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On June 16, 2012 at 11:23 am

    You are just too clever with this challenge,Cathy! My bananas always tend to look that way! Ralph likes to cover my fruit basket with other “things” and I forget the fruit is there. I can look quite “intersting” after a while! Have a great Saturday!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 16, 2012 at 11:39 am

      thanks, fran! i am glad i have been able to find these workarounds! too funny about ralph hiding your fruit…i guess that food group is not one of his favourites!

  • Stacie@Snaps and Bits  On June 16, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Another clever work-around! I can’t believe it’s day 16 already! I could not stand mushrooms as a kid (it was a texture thing, they made me gag) but now I love them. I also like bananas but on the greener side. Once the brown spots appear, they get cut up and frozen for banana soft serve (which is awesome, you should try it if you haven’t already).

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 16, 2012 at 8:59 am

      i know, stacie!! this month is flying! i really wish time would slow down a bit – it’s such a perfect time of year, weather and daylight-wise! i have NOT tried banana soft-serve but i am not opposed! thanks for the recommendation. i love mushrooms, too – funny how your tastebuds change over time, eh?!

Leave a Reply

